We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely helpful manager” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden TaKeo Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden TaKeo Guesthouse
Ranked #66 of 499 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely helpful manager”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Takeo for seven nights.

The room was big enough and clean. The shower was good and the A/C worked properly. TV was a little small, but that was the only gripe, and a small one at that. The price was good and it included breakfast. The breakfast was good; I quite liked the banana pancakes. Also there is a fish-massage bath which you can use anytime you like for free; it gives you really soft feet.

What was especially great about the Golden Takeo was the helpful staff of which the manager was a shining example. Whatever you asked for, he arranged it. You want your breakfast ready and packed at 4 A.M.? No problem! Need a trustworthy tuktuk-driver which will drive you around all day without any scams, he'll fix it. Need advice on anything? Of course!

Also the people working for him (two girls doing the cleaning and cooking) were very nice and very helpful. I mean, they were also prepared to get up at 4 a.m. or even earlier to cook breakfast.

So all this service and a good room for just 15$ /night. I can really recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quinten V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    38
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
83
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trat, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

we loved everything about the place
how attentive the host was, called us a few times to make sure they can meet us at the bus station for the promised free pick-up
he was available 24hours, helped us to book the best bus tickets.. during our stay we felt super comfortable and cared about
the room was perfectly clean, we got two wide beds for a twinbed room (which we got instead of a double and did not feel any discomfort), nice aircon, good wi-fi, Golden Takeo got a very sweet roof terrace (with a small fishtank with Dr Fishes ready to work on your feet -)), a map and a whole bunch of good advice from the host, we used their bikes a few times (bikes pretty ancient, but again, free) and the host kindly let us keep our trank the whole day after our check out till the night bus..
we're perfectly happy with the place
also the location is reasonably away from insane PUB street and a little closer to Angor than 'central hotels' but in Siem Reap one doesn't really need to be close to where the sound is the loudest and tuk tuks - the most obtrusive. in my humble opinion -)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suraasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

If you are in Siem Reap on a budget, Golden Takeo is perfect. The service is impeccable, and everyone who works there is outstanding. Prom, the manager, is very down to earth and super helpful in answering any questions you might have. He will not hesitate to go out of his way to help you.

The food is excellent and cheap, and the girls who work in the kitchen are amazing. They will wake up at 4:30am to cook you your FREE breakfast (I ordered take-away to catch the sunrise at Angkor Wat) and they really make you feel like a guest in their home! We liked the food and their rooftop patio so much we ate there everyday!

Hom, their tuk tuk driver, was also really friendly and fun. His service was also impeccable, and his rates are very fair.

Rooms are well-maintained; we had no problems with the hot water, and everything was spotless. You will have a great time staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

According to my traveling experience through different countries, obviously this is the friendliest accommodation I've ever stayed. Cute guest house, cute people, tasty meals, cheap drinks, situated at a tranquill area at Wat Bo road, only 10 minutes to the market. Clean and well maintained guesthouse added with cute pets, roof top bar for a perfect lazy day where you can have a fish spa, order meals and drinks (very tasty), read books they provide and swing yourself with a hammock. But what we really appreciated was the hospitality of the three girl workers (Rosa, Sevan, Kristina), as they would love to please and fulfill all of our needs with smile. Stay here only people when you plan to visit Siem Reap!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novotnyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in a double room and loved it! We arrived one day later than we actually planned since we missed our train and even though we gave them very short notice, they gave us a discount for the night we didn't stay there. Breakfast is included and you can also get very tasty and cheap lunch & dinner here. The owner Mr. Prom was very nice and very concerned about our security when travelling to the temples. He also arranged a cheap taxi to take us back to the border when we left. The room was very clean, the bed comfy, towels are provided and you can get free fish massages on the roof top terrace. There's no safe in the room, but you can leave your valuables and they'll lock them up for you. At the end of our stay we took our room key with us when we left. We had left it at the reception before and once when we came back, our key was just lying on the counter, so anyone could have gotten into our room (we didn't have any valuables in there, so we didn't really care, but I guess it's better to just take your key). We would definitely come back, thanks again for a great stay!

Room Tip: We had a room downstairs & it was really cold there all the time, so that was a plus! Get an AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frangipani2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Thank you again to the owner Prom for making our stay in Siem Reap unforgettable!! This guesthouse really has it all: free airport pick-up, tasty (and cheap) food, rich breakfast included in the price (and when you leave at 5am to see the sun rise on Angkor Wat, they will prepare you a breakfast bag, that's amazing service!), free fish foot massage, all the staff is really friendly and knowledgeable, happy to share on the Khmer culture, history, etc. The hotel book bus tickets for hardly any commission and organised a cheap and very friendly tuk-tuk for the Angkor Wat visit over 2 days. Our room was very nice, large, with air con, very clean. Computers are available to access the internet, and the wifi signal is very good. Meals are served on the terrace, which is an oasis of peace and quiet, with numerous books available if you feel like reading... And the street is quiet and only a 10-15min walk to the buzzy city centre. We felt so well and relaxed there, we did not want to leave! By far the best quality/price we found in Cambodia and Vietnam!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I just like to express my thanks to Mr Prom his family n staffs for making our stay there memorable and fun.

I went with my family and relatives to Siem Reap recently and i choose to return and stay at Golden Takeo Guesthouse for 5 days.

I'm glad that it has changed for better. One thing did not change are the staffs and owner Mr Prom warm and friendly smile.

These are one of the main reasons I choose to return to Siem Reap 2nd time (1st time in 2010) bringing my family to experience and meet the wondrous people there.

We had a lovely time discovering Angkor temple ruins, magical sunrise and sunset experience. Not forgetting shopping and massage everyday.

Thank you all for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ylwoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
#10 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Krorma Yamato Guest House
Krorma Yamato Guest House
#254 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#23 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#9 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#8 of 499 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizons Cambodia
Horizons Cambodia
#35 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden TaKeo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden TaKeo Guesthouse

Property: Golden TaKeo Guesthouse
Address: #123, Wat Bo Road, Wat Bo Village | Sankat salakamreuk, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 499 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and welcome to your budget Siem Reap Guest House, only 10 minutes from the Angkor Wat Temples. You can have spacious clean rooms from 7$ for a single room with attached bathroom and 8$ for double room with attached bathroom to 17$ for an air-con twin beds room with attached hot-water bathroom. See more details about the rooms of the Golden TaKeo GuestHouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Golden TaKeo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Takeo Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing