We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous haven in Siem Reap” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heritage Suites Hotel
Ranked #27 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fabulous haven in Siem Reap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel has a unique atmosphere which makes it something special and a delight to come home to. No, it does not have all the glitz of a swanky five star hotel - which I must say I also enjoy - but its intimacy and the staff, make it a very special experience. We loved happy hour every night, we loved the breakfast, and the other meals either by the pool or in the restaurant, and were delightfully surprised every night with the small gifts on our bed. We also got a kick out of the airport transfers in the old Mercedes. All this combined to add to our Siem Reap experience. When you are going to somewhere as special as Angkor, it is great to have the whole package. We stayed in the Red Poppy suite which was huge, but suited us nicely..... and was blissfully quiet. We even used the steam room! The one suggestion I would make is to provide better toiletries - with the Relais & Chateaux brand, I would have loved to have been spoilt with luxurious soaps and some body cream please! Although I didn't see the standard room I would definitely recommed taking a suite. We used the Heritage Tour services which were great, and the shop was also a little treasure trove. I look forward to returning to Siem Reap and to the Heritage Suites!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxevalueseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    149
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
176
749
101
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scot in the MIdlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I am a regular Relais & Chateaux customer, so this hotel was a natural choice for my trip to Angkor Wat earlier in July. I was met at the airport with cold towels and a cold drink by their exceptionally friendly driver, who gave me some excellent tips for my stay.

In the other Relais and Chateaux Hotels I have stayed in, one of the real joys has been the feeling that the senior staff (hotel proprietor, maitre'D) were around and attentive, taking a personal interest in your stay. There is no such feeling at this hotel. I didn't meet the proprietor at any time, nor did I see them around the hotel.

I decided to treat myself to a bungalow suite (Ylang-Ylang) and was impressed by the space it provided: really open and an exceptional haven in the humidity of rainy-season Cambodia. While the layout was somewhat non-traditional (toilet, shower & sink facilities quite a distance apart) I didn't find this to be a problem. You have total privacy in the room and although the garden is too small to use as such, it was a pleasant space to look on. The turn down gifts were certainly a nice touch.

I came to the conclusion that aside of the space, the Bungalow wasn't the best use of my money. There is an unusable sofa, made so by two things. Firstly, it has an absurd wooden frame which mean that you cannot lie down. Secondly, no thought has been given to the ergonomics since it is massively uncomfortable to sit on.

Most annoyingly, the same is true of the bed, which is without doubt the hardest hotel bed I have ever slept on: so hard, that I had back pain on the last day of being there. I think this is the room's most serious weakness.

The breakfast was really good: it was a la carte, but you could order as much as you liked. I loved the eggs benedict and the coffee was seriously tasty and is highly recommended. I also tried some of the cocktails and recommend those too.

The hotel tried to sell me a tour of the temples but you should be aware that there is a huge premium and you would probably do better to look on trip advisor for some of the many highly regarded tour guides in Siem Reap.

Overall, this was a nice hotel but certainly not worth

Room Tip: Avoid paying for a bungalow - not really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

At its core, a hotel is to be used for a comfortable night's sleep. Unfortunately, this is where Heritage falls short. My understanding is that Asian beds are a bit more hard than normal although after traveling for a couple of weeks in Vietnam and Cambodia my wife and I have been more than comfortable...until we hopped in the bed at Heritage. It is basically a box spring with no padding and it squeaked anytime you moved. At first I thought maybe this was an error, but the hotel staff said all the beds were the same. One night stay of no sleep and we moved to a much more comfortable setting at La Residence d'Angkor. The hotel attempted to charge us for another night's stay because we did not cancel with a couple days notice, but after meeting with the general manager (an amicable fellow) we agreed to disagree over the bed comfort but he conceded that the squeaking isn't appealing.

Other than the bed, the hotel is located about a block off a main road in a Cambodian neighborhood that isn't all that appealing. I saw others complain about the children's school next door and while you certainly could hear them it was better than other noises. The property is nicely kept and our room (Bungalow Suite) was a little oddly laid out but spacious and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Went to enjoy happy hour at the bar and was very pleased when we arrived at the place. It is immaculately designed with the garden well-tended. Handsome bar served up pretty 2 for 1 cocktail drinks, not to be shared. We were pretty buzzed after 2 drinks! Peanuts were so good, so were the beef carpaccio and goat cheese bruschettas!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sayana24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in Siem Reap for two nights. Our checkin was ok. We were initially given two rooms in the main building. The rooms were not bad, but the AC was very weak so the rooms were extremely hot. We complained and the technicians measured the temperatures in the room with a special tool and verified that it was way hotter than it should. As a result, we were given an upgrade to a bungalow suite. So this review is for that type of room. It was Significantly better than the normal room. The suite was spacious, unique design and even had a steam room. Our stay in the suite was enjoyable. However, it would have been unbearable in the normal room. The breakfast was good and the hotel staff was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Only suites. Not regular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prozach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Not only was the room gorgeous, but the service was great. Everyone was really friendly and helped us book tours and guides. It felt like a home from home. Restaurant is lovely, with delicious food. The menu is perhaps a bit limited, but no real complaint.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

honestly, for a bit of a petrol head - this hotel is worth the visit if JUST for the vintage merc collection; but finding one of these magnificent old ladies waiting to pick me up at the airport was the exact perfect start to my trip.

Very biased in favour of this property not least for it's support of Sala Bai, an NGO that trains underprivileged kids to join the catering and hospitality industry - much needed in Cambodia.

I stayed in the Magnolia Suite - gorgeous.

Room Tip: Ask to be collected!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamessta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.5 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#4 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#18 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#3 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.7 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#2 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Suites Hotel

Property: Heritage Suites Hotel
Address: Wat Polanka, Slokram Village, Siem Reap 93101, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#24 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#24 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#24 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Suites Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and Charming Boutique Hotel|20 Suites & 6 Classic Guestrooms | Sophisticated - but not trendy | Luxurious - but not ostentatious | Timeless - yet recognizably of its time | Genuine hospitality | One block away from the Siem Reap river |Twenty minutes from the Angkor temples|Five minutes to downtown Old Market| Saltwater pool, Spa, fine dining Restaurant & Zinc Bar | Regular Happy Hours from 5pm to 7pm at the Cocktail Bar | EVERY TUESDAY - ROYAL APSARA DANCE from 7.30Pm - 8.30Pm | EVERY THURSDAY - JAZZ IN THE CITY from 7pm to 10pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Heritage Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Suites Hotel Relais And Chateaux
Heritage Hotel Siem Reap
Heritage Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing