We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location and tucked away”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Crown Hotel
Ranked #108 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ideal location and tucked away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here for 5 days with a friend. Location was perfect! Across the bridge and 3 minutes later, you were partying on Pub Street. There is a Costa Coffee a few yards from the hotel and a laundry place right next door. The breakfast and room service at the hotel was really good with great selection. The rooftop bar also offered a great happy hour from 630-9pm (buy 2 get 1 free) and was very accommodating. The noise from the street wasn't very audible so a good night's rest was achievable.
Overall, it was a great hotel with friendly staff and good location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    235
    66
    11
    10
See reviews for
75
219
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Well, I'll give Royal Crown Hotel an average by comparison with other hotels on my 3 week vacation across Asia, all in the same price/star range, but I suppose it's an Average+ or a Very Good-. The location is nice, a short 5 minute walk from pub street which means you can sleep peacefully at night, but you also have to walk through some pretty dark streets to get to the hotel. Never felt insecure, though. Rooms nice and big, cleanliness OK, good breakfast and the best was the pool, great for relaxing after a loooong day around the Angkor temples.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfslg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Clean, comfortable. Ideally located within 5 minutes walk from Old market & Pub street. Friendly staff. Very good breakfast. Nice pool: optimum utilisation of space giving a good sized pool rather than a postage stamp one. Very clean water. However, They did not have the Free map-guide of Siem Reap available, which should be there in all hotels, and only gave a photocopy taken from a book. The wifi was slow and needed repeated re-login. The en suite bathroom was not closed airtight from the bedroom area,: the top part was open. So the odours from the toilet carry into the room and one has to be careful, and flush repeatedly. They were a bit inefficient: the plug on the kettle was faulty and took some time to replace. They promised to join the twin beds for us two times, but no-one came to do it.They mentioned city view while booking, but the window only looked onto the opp0site wall. Overall, fairly comfortable and well located

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajitman121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Good hotel and great staff worthy of a 4 Star Rate. They are very helpful in getting you around the city and Angkor Wat. Room is neat and clean, bathroom is ordinary. Wifi works great too. Breakfast is better than other places I have had and the dinners are almost direct from the Culinary Institute in NAPA Valley.

Location is great and quiet but also walking distance to the night market and pub street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drobbinsjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Hotel is clean and bathroom is big and spacious.

we had a triple room, so, the room was spacious. Beds were very comfortable and clean.

Service was excellent ( we used lot of room service). People were friendly and kind.

Best part of this hotel was its location. Its a hop away from the city center. Cant go wrong choosing this.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anu99Raj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We booked the room through agoda, and got it cheap. But when you pay less, you get rooms in the hotel's older wing, which is sold as Royal Crown Hotel. The newer wing is sold online under the name "royal crown hotel and spa". So my impression of the hotel is from the older and cheaper side. The room we got initially had an old and stained toilet seat, but the staff changed the room the moment we complained. We got a very clean room on the same floor. It was just perfect. The wi-fi worked too.

But please be warned, the lift does not go to the fifth floor, so you have to take the stairs from the fourth.
The breakfast spread was excellent with a live egg station. Had a good selection of tropical fruits too to choose from.

The best part was the location. It was just a 5 minute walk to pub street and all the markets. And the hotel will arrange tuktuks taxis etc for your tours to the temples etc. But it is cheaper if you just go and get a tuktuk from the street

I recommend the royal crown hotel for a value for money experience in siem reap

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurienabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

we have been there for 2 nights and nothing really to complain about. room has been clean and aircon was working great. Breakfast was good too. Ok if you expect a full blown european breakfast buffet than you should be staying in europe and not here in asia. It was good each morning. The staff of the hotel was always friendly and helpful except the staff of the rooftop bar tried to trick us a bit.
Nevertheless in summary the hotel was worth the money. Cant really complain and it is convienently located in walking distance to the bars and restaurants downtown. Therefore thumbs up and check it out for yourself.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
#85 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Apsara Residence Hotel
Apsara Residence Hotel
#93 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#106 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#15 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Steung Siemreap Hotel
Steung Siemreap Hotel
#99 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Crown Hotel

Property: Royal Crown Hotel
Address: 7 Makara Street, Wat Bo Village | Salakamreuk Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Spacious and elegant hotel, Royal Crown is conveniently situated just across the Siem Reap River from the bustling French quarter and the Old Market. The Building has retained the true colonial French characteristics.The Hotel is just 10 minutes drive from Siem Reap international airport and while it only 15 minutes to reach the world heritage temple of Angkor. A beautifully warm and harmonious lobby give you the first impressions of the quality and space of the hotel. A very friendly and experienced staff will welcome you with their fine Khmer friendship and hospitality and help you to appreciate the beauties of their country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing