We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Pleasant Stay! :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Crown Hotel
Ranked #110 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Stay! :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

+ Spacious Deluxe room on the 4th floor with a king size bed and a spacious bathroom with all the necessary amenities that´s usually included in 4* hotels. We also had access to a balcony with a cosy view of the city.
+ They have two swimming pools (with bars adjacent to them); a salt-water-swimming pool and another one that is not. We only tried the one with salt water. A tiny nice detail is that the lighting around the pool area gets really cosy and romantic after sunset.
+ In-house entertainment; traditional Khmer dance show (diner incl) at the outdoor restaurant on their roof top.
+ Guides available (need to reserve in advance) for day tours to Angkor Wat and its surroundings. We wanted a French speaking guide but none was available so we had a guide who speaks English and Thai which was a really nice surprise because I am able to speak Thai as well. 28$ for the guide and 18$ for the Tuk-Tuk with driver (who stayed with us the whole day).
+ Walking distance to the markets

- Walls don´t seem to be isolated because we could hear loud and yelling children in the room next to ours.

Would definitely be our first choice whenever we would head back to Siem Reap again! :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LK-DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    236
    66
    11
    10
See reviews for
75
219
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a great stay, the staff were very friendly and the room was a good size. the bath room was huge. We had trouble with the air con in our room and the reception staff moved us to another room straight away. The buffet breakfast was as good as any i have had with all the usual varieties and changed slightly from day to day.
In all a Good location close to town shops and restaurants with good size rooms at a good price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the royal crown hotel for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon and it was fantastic. The rooftop bar is a must, perfect at sunset and the cocktails are to die for. Their two pools were great - one is salt water and includes a bar for drinking and snacking the afternoon away. The other is fresh water and at times you will have it all to yourself. The staff are courteous and always looking to help you. Breakfast was a good selection of Asian, bacon, fruit, salad, cold meats, pancakes and chef made egg station - lots of options. Dinner Food was okay-standard. Lastly cannot beat the location 2min walk from pub street!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megantownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here. When we arrived in our room it was 2 twin beds instead of a king , this was fixed right away and were taken to another room. The room was clean and spacious. Only issue is with the bathroom with no door- not much privacy. The shower area seems to be an after thought , a shower in the tub with a curtain would be better. They must leave the balcony doors open when they clean as we had to go on a mosquito killing mission everytime we returned to the room .The breakfast was good - all the usual fruit, pancakes , egg station. Never tried the restaurant or the bar on top so i can not comment on that.The location of the hotel is really great - close to pub street for good eats and close to the market. Tuk tuks everywhere if you need one but you are close to everything. The staff was friendly and helpful- especially Mr. Tohear. He booked a tuk tuk driver for us for 3 days - Ra(?sorry on spelling) who was very friendly and went wherever we asked and kept us cooled with unlimited cold water while seeing the temples. Mr.Tohear went out of his way to recommend places to visit, called and made reservations for us to resturants, knew us by our first names and always had a smile. My husband was not well for a few days and Mr.Tohear always asked how he was and if we needed anything. Never tried the pool but it looked very nice. We were picked up at airport and dropped off with out any issues. Check in / out was fast . Good value for our money - about $60 (CAN)a night . We would stay here again no problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLa0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
1,013 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This seems to be a new hotel with two swimming pools, restaurant and bars. It is located close to the markets and the famous pub street. The hotel seem to cater primarily to French tour groupes who arrive by the bus loads.

The rooms are large with modest decorations. My room has a flat screen tv and the line-up of channels are extensive. There is a safe in the room. The safe is the biggest I have seen during my travels in Cambodia. It is big enough to hold an iPad or two, plus cameras, passports etc.

There is generous sized bath room with a separate shower to the one in the bath tub.

Closet space is rather limited.

I have not tried the restaurants or the bars. Looking at the menu, you would pay an up charge compared to what you can find in the pub street area.

The staff is very nice and greet you with a smile.

The breakfast buffee is ok. You can order eggs but there is no bacon. A salty piece of pork in the morning would be welcome, prior to seeing the temples in the April heat.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reslimpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongguan, China
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel is absolutely perfect in every way. The service is impeccable, breakfast is delicious, the pools are super refreshing, and the staff go above and beyond to make your stay wonderful. The hotel is just a 5 minute walk from all of the restaurants and markets, so you rarely need tuk tuks to take you anywhere. The rooms are clean, modern, and super comfortable.... however, the bathrooms don't officially have doors on them.... so make sure you're comfortable with whoever it is you're staying with, otherwise it can be an awkward experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megan-woodruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

It is a budget hotel with ok rooms. The staff seems to be not very well trained , hence usually struggle with any kind of request. The place is buzzing with tourist buses, which have been booked by the travel agents.
So, do not expect a quieter place, as the low prices gets loads of tourist flocking in there.
The room from the picture looks big, but is actually a standard size. Bathrooms are ok .
Accidentally, I took the water bottle, which was part of mini bar against the complementary bottle I did stick in the refrigerator to make it cool and landed up paying $1 for a 10 cent water bottle.
In a city like Siem Reap, where temperatures are so high, the least the hotel should is to provide enough water bottles in the room or even if it chooses to sell, atleast at reasonable prices.
Breakfast is ok. Nothing special.
Location of the hotel is close to the old market and hence the vicinity provides a strategic location.
Overall ok cheap hotel.

Room Tip: Facing the Hostel are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seawaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
#87 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Apsara Residence Hotel
Apsara Residence Hotel
#91 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#106 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#14 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Steung Siemreap Hotel
Steung Siemreap Hotel
#102 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Crown Hotel

Property: Royal Crown Hotel
Address: 7 Makara Street, Wat Bo Village | Salakamreuk Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Spacious and elegant hotel, Royal Crown is conveniently situated just across the Siem Reap River from the bustling French quarter and the Old Market. The Building has retained the true colonial French characteristics.The Hotel is just 10 minutes drive from Siem Reap international airport and while it only 15 minutes to reach the world heritage temple of Angkor. A beautifully warm and harmonious lobby give you the first impressions of the quality and space of the hotel. A very friendly and experienced staff will welcome you with their fine Khmer friendship and hospitality and help you to appreciate the beauties of their country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing