We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good indeed....”
Review of Royal Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Crown Hotel
Ranked #117 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good indeed....”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is very good at what it does without being special. If you're looking for good, clean, comfortable accommodation with no frills then this place fits the bill. Excellent location, with just a short walk over the bridge to the Old Market / Pub Street area of Siem Reap. Breakfast choice is excellent and all the staff we encountered were polite, cheerful and friendly. Roof top bar is a nice place to unwind at the end of the day and the two pool areas are really nice, if a little 'compact'.

Siem Reap itself is a great place to stay, with a wide, numerous selection of bars and restaurants. Probably the only down-side of our stay in Siem Reap was the constant haranguing by the tuk tuk drivers - there must be three tuk tuks for every tourist and there are a lot of tourists - which became a little wearing after six days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    243
    67
    11
    11
See reviews for
80
224
50
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked this for 5 nights over the new year period, I paid 80USD a night!!!! What for I ask myself now...I could have paid 35 USD and got better, where do I start...the airconditioning unit was noisy and kept us awake, I complained and nothing happen there....the shower drain would not drain off so it flooded the bathroom, again I complained...guess what nothing happened again,
There are not enough sun beds, one side only has three...so its always full, the pool area is dirty, take a look under the elephants trunk...yukk!!!! and to top it all we booked a taxi for our early morning flight, had booked a take away breakfast of crossants only, had to put up a fight to get those...and the taxi driver dumped us before the ticket barrier as he didnt want to go in, so you had to carry your bags and walk a lonf way in... I would never stay here again...good location but I can stay in another hotel in the area!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tazy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Very cosy hotel less the 1km from Pub Street and the old market. Very nice rooms with a nice pool and breakfast....and all of it for around US$ 40!! Nothing is outstanding but everything is just fine.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xisto65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel provided my extended family an affordable, very comfortable hotel. All amenities including a salt water and a fresh water pool. The restaurant had very affordable and excellent value for money meals. The hotel has an excellent location close to the river and market stalls both day and night. Quiet. Great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmr064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Royal Crown - great value and I would stay here again.Normally I write reviews of all the places I stay in the name of consistency. But this one time, I'm going to break the rules and admit that I am writing this in the hope that the hotel management reads it!

So my only real problem with this hotel, and it's so easily resolvable... is the early morning noise of furniture being dragged around on the floors above when the rooms are being cleaned. This starts extremely early in the morning - like before 5am I think. It's the sound of heavy wooden furniture being pushed across a hard floor. This problem would be instantly solved by sticking soft furniture pads under the legs of chairs, tables beds etc. Now, it didn't wake my wife up, so maybe it won't be everyone's problem.

So what about the good? Excellent buffet breakfast (although it finishes quite early) - way better than many more expensive hotels I've stayed at. Fresh bread, croissaints, bacon, pancakes, salads, fruit, egg station, noodles - you name it.

The pools were lovely - lovely to spend time and relax at, but both of them are adjacent to the parking area at the front, which means fumes from idling tourist pick-up buses can pollute the air somewhat. Again, this will be solved easily. Lovely cheap food and drink available pool-side.

Lovely friendly staff - especially the cleaning staff - so friendly!

Rooms were fine, nice and spacious. They haven't quite pulled-off the 'open bathroom' concept, I would rather a bit more privacy.

Here's a tip - don't ask the hotel to arrange a tuc tuc for you. If you do, all that happens is that they call one over from across the street and charge you extra. You can do this yourself - there are ALWAYS tuc tuc drivers outside the hotel and as anyone will tell you, they are quite safe and reliable, compared with other places. Don't ask the hotel.

But... it's still a great hotel in terms of value. Bright and airy inside, Very attractive, well located, 5 mins walk from Bar street. I will recommend this place... just about!

Room Tip: Top floor room would mean no noise from rooms above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodyodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Spent several days in this hotel some what basic but very comfortable.The service was very good and the staff most helpful.The hotel has an excellent location on a main street and opposit the river
Fantastic views in the evening from the hotel

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the main street and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navyfenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Good things first. Big and clean room with all the comfort you can expect from a 60$ Twin Room in Cambodia: TV, kettle and tea/coffe, bathrobe and slippers, shampoo etc. Breakfast is included, the buffet ist just phantastic. The pool is big enough to really swimm. Because the Royal Crown seems to be a catalogue-tourist-party-hotel, we feared the pool might be crowded (as was the breakfast room at 7am), but we were mostly alone in the afternoon.

Two things we did not like: First, the half open bathroom; we would have prefered more privacy. Second the service when we checked-in. We booked and payed for the big Deluxe Twin, they put us in the smaller and cheaper Superior Twin. When asked to move us to the booked Deluxe Room a stone-faced employee showed us the right room, no apology came from his mouth. We had to move our luggage by ourself. What a lousy service.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Apsara Residence Hotel
Apsara Residence Hotel
#77 of 356 in Siem Reap
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
#100 of 356 in Siem Reap
904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
0.2 mi away
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
0.2 mi away
King Rock Boutique Hotel
King Rock Boutique Hotel
#88 of 356 in Siem Reap
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Crown Hotel

Property: Royal Crown Hotel
Address: 7 Makara Street, Wat Bo Village | Salakamreuk Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Crown Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Spacious and elegant hotel, Royal Crown is conveniently situated just across the Siem Reap River from the bustling French quarter and the Old Market. The Building has retained the true colonial French characteristics.The Hotel is just 10 minutes drive from Siem Reap international airport and while it only 15 minutes to reach the world heritage temple of Angkor. A beautifully warm and harmonious lobby give you the first impressions of the quality and space of the hotel. A very friendly and experienced staff will welcome you with their fine Khmer friendship and hospitality and help you to appreciate the beauties of their country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing