We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent base to use to explore Angkor Wat.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angkor Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Angkor Village Hotel
Ranked #55 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
253 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Excellent base to use to explore Angkor Wat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

On the advice of architect friends, we booked to stay at the Angkor Village Hotel (not their “Resort” located out of town), and we enjoyed using the hotel as our base to explore Angkor Wat.

The hotel dining room, L’Auberge des Temples, is a charming space that is open to the elements, surrounded by expansive ponds filled with lily pads and other lush tropical plants. We enjoyed the simple yet sophisticated Khmer cuisine served there, breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Especially, the rice noodle soups with pork, chicken red curry, and fresh salad rolls. The food and room service team were all locals, super-friendly and all smiles; they could hardly speak a word of English.

Front desk team commanded better English language skills, and they easily helped us find an excellent official guide, and a driver, to take us each early morning to explore Angkor Wat, before the sun got too high and intense. We recommend this schedule for viewing the ancient city ruins, and then enjoy lunch back at the hotel, or, somewhere else in Siem Reap, return to your room for a siesta, or, go for a swim to cool down, etc. Then, returning to Angkor Wat to see it at sundown, again, avoiding the blistering sun!

On one evening during our stay, we decided to book the hotel’s Aspara Theatre experience, in “the only air conditioned theatre in town...” The Cambodian dancing was unique, and the cuisine served was good enough, to make this worth recommending. (A one-off experience, that’s for sure; once is enough.) We found that there is nothing much else to do in Siem Reap, other than head to the bars late at night in the old French Quarter, or, stay back at the hotel, read and relax.

We also booked a day trip to see the floating villages (Kampong Phluk), and if you have time or the energy outside of visiting Angkor Wat, I do recommend this watery tour.

All in all, the hotel was a very good place to stay, an oasis of luxury in what is still a very provincial town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngkorVillageTeam, Manager at Angkor Village Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment and it always please us to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Angkor Wat.

I will be sure to forward your nice comments to our team and I hope to be able to welcome you again in Siem Reap !

Very Best regards,

Christina Grosse
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    127
    27
    15
    9
See reviews for
74
292
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed first 4 nights in Cambodia 18/4/13-21/4/13. We chose this place because it seemed a bit less "5*-anywhere" (so who wants a shoe shine/shave/massage/room service at 1am anyway?) and more naturally Cambodian. Good central location (as opposed to the ones in the big new 4-star+ stalag out of the centre), lovely welcome, lovely grounds / lotus pond / garden, good food, lovely staff, looked after us when my wife was ill one night. Also excellent pool, shaded by trees. All in all, a perfect intro to Cambodia. Interesting to read review 17/3 - for us management was highly visible and on hand to help. Theatre meal (owned by / across road from hotel) good, but dancing a little disappointing if you are familiar with Thai dancing - probably good for the uninitiated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil_kirkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The service, location, breakfast and overall beauty of this hotel are all outstanding. The staff are extremely helpful. The breakfast is fantastic and in one of the prettiest places you can imagine. (You get to select as much as you want from a list of items, and it's all fresh and good. The homemade yogurt is particularly delicious, and we always got seconds on it.) The pool is lovely and relaxing after temple hiking all day. The room itself was spacious and comfortable and very clean, with doors opening onto a gorgeous lagoon. It's all very romantic.

The location could not be better. It's a 5-7 minute walk to the Siem Reap nightlife, but on a quiet street far enough away that you feel secluded. There are tuktuks near the hotel day and night to take you anywhere. There are even a handful of restaurants very close to the hotel, if you don't want to go to the tourist area of Siem Reap for dinner.

We used one of the tuktuk drivers outside of the hotel to take us around for 2 days, and he was fantastic.

My husband and I stayed 3 nights, and I was truly sad to leave.

Tip: we got a better rate looking at kayak.com than from the hotel website directly. Also, the car and driver we took from the hotel to the Thai border were not very good.

I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johanna-O-Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngkorVillageTeam, Manager at Angkor Village Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Johanna,

Thank you kindly for your feedback on your experience with us at Angkor Village Hotel. My entire team is always happy to hear from our guests, so it gave me great pleasure to read your positive review.

I hope that you can visit us again in the near future !

Kind regards,

Pierre Carron
General Manager
Angkor Village Hotel, Siem Reap, CAMBODIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We did arrive to the hotel in the evening when it was dark and everything in the garden was beautiful iluminated. When we got up in the morning we were not disappointed. We had room 35 upstairs, a nice room in a fantastik hotel. What was best? Absolutely the staff. Friendly serviceminded and allways on their toes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maja63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngkorVillageTeam, Manager at Angkor Village Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Maja,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and we are truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will for sure forward your positive comment to my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Pierre Carron
General Manager
Angkor Village Hotel, Siem Reap, CAMBODIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We recently stayed 5 nights.We wanted somewhere close to town but not right in the action.A 10mn walk or $2 tuk tuk ride for the four of us was spot on.Folks; this place is beautiful.We were in room19 upstairs at the rear looking down on the pond and restaurant.Good size room.Lost water pressure a couple of times but big deal.Breakfast was good { not outstanding but good ] Staff especially in the restaurant were top notch.Pool small but nice.They need to squeeze a few more chairs in the pool area..Mr T [Seng Thy } the tuk tuk driver out the front is excellent. .We ate out every night so cant comment on evening meals.I was probably influenced by so many negative posts on this forum.My friends had a light meal and said it was good.Breakky in the pond surrounds was the best possible way to start a day.Central location good service smaller style resort fantastic surrounds.Id stay here again.

Room Tip: room 19.Gotta walk to the back but its quiet with a great aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glibglib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngkorVillageTeam, Manager at Angkor Village Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent experience with us. It is a great pleasure to read your overall positive review.

I apologize for the water pressure problems you encountered and i'll make sure to forward that information to our maintenance team.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for a stay and a dinner in the near future.

Best regards,
Pierre Carron
General Manager
Angkor Village Hotel, Siem Reap, CAMBODIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife & I recenly stayed here for three nights and we loved it. Great location in a quit neighbourhoud but still in walking distance to the old center. Lovely wooden exteriors in a courtyard setup with large rooms. Central "floating" restaurant surrounded by tropical pools and plants. Wonderfull friendly staff. The swimming pool is a bit on the small side but still a great place to relax and unwind after visiting the Angkor Wat ruins. Extra's (drinks, massages, tour packages, taxis) are a bit overpriced when booked through the hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hans W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The resort consists of picturesque wood bungalows set around a central open-air restaurant, surrounded by a lotus-filled pond. The deluxe bungalows have four-poster beds, large windows, and very nice bathrooms. The service is outstanding. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and included french and Khmer items. The pool is shady and surrounded by lovely gardens. After a long day at the temples or fighting the crowds in the markets, this is a bastion of tranquility. The staff arranged massages for us at the spa at their sister property (Ankor Village Resort), which I would highly recommend. This was our second stay at the propery (we visited previously 10 years before), I can't say enough about how relaxing and charming the property is.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LucyandFrodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.8 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#58 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#11 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#27 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#18 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Residence Hotel
Apsara Residence Hotel
#84 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Village Hotel

Property: Angkor Village Hotel
Address: Wat Bo Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#45 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#60 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angkor Village Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the old colonial area, Angkor Village Hotel blends harmoniously architecture, culture and tropical nature to make it an oasis of greenery and tranquility right in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Angkor Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Angkor Village
Angkor Village Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing