We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real refuge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angkor Village Hotel
Ranked #65 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Such a beautiful hotel in a gorgeous garden setting. Rooms were lovely and spacious, but the beds were hard. We received wonderful, warm service from all the staff. Beautiful pool area was a real godsend given the high heat.An easy walk into the night market and pub street. My favorite place on our travels.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aktraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 555 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

Any review needs to take into account the price and the star rating. Given this here are my comments.

On the bright side:

The location is good (although on a dirt road) and just a 5-10 minute walk across the river to the pub street area where all of the foreigners congregate and where there are many cheap and good restaurants, bars, massage, markets, etc.

The rooms are quite large with a separate desk and chair, sitting area, big bed, separate entrance area, and quite large toilet/shower room. There is a safe, coffee/tea, good a/c and plenty of power points.

All fittings are made from wood including a high raked ceiling, wooden floors and furniture. There is a nice outlook over the water feature/garden or pool from the first floor, although privacy issues would prevent the gound floor units from appreciating this.

The Cambodian people are lovely and the staff here embody this.

There is a nice pool area although we were not informed about it when we arrived and we only discovered it on the last day!

Not so good:

The WIFI varies from slow to unusable. Probably OK if you are just checking email but not much good for anything else. However, there are 2 PCs next to reception that seem to be work a little better.

The prices for any extras are riduculously expensive. Eat outside, get your clothes washed down the road ($1=1kg & support a local business), go to any of the thousands of massage places up the road and save your money.

Breakfast was a buffet but very basic and the same stuff every day. Adequate but definititely not upto 4*. I accidently booked the room for one person instead of two (which is very easy to do on Agoda) and had to pay $14 for the extra breakfast. You can get a good breakfast down the road for $3-4. I checked on Agoda and if I had made the correct booking it would have only cost an extra $6.

The bed is quite hard. Not an issue for us but some would find it unsuitable.

If you are booked here already you won't be disappointed and I know I am being super critical but for $125 and 41/2* I think you can do better in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ozitravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We had such a nice stay there.

The hotel setting is so tranquil, with flowers, plants, open air restaurant and smiling faces everywhere.

The room was beautiful, and the restaurant in the middle of the pond, with all the flowers was just amazing for its atmosphere.

The food was good, and especially the breakfast was delicious. The French style pancakes and the Banana & Dragon Fruit Marmelade deserve a mention - yummy!

The hotel is western owned, and they also have a theatre with traditional dances, as well as running the elephant trips inside the Temple area. They also operate Angkor Village Resort, a bit out of town.

The guide from the hotel, BoBo, was just great. We travelled 2 adults and a 2½ year old boy, and BoBo took the role of guide and nanny, entertaining our little boy while mum and dad looked at all the stunning views in the temple ruins.

We would definitely recommend others to stay here, and if we go back, we will stay again.

The positive:
- Beautiful room
- Beautiful hotel
- Smiling and friendly staff
- Great location, in the town

The negative:
- Internet connection is slow
- Shower is running low on hot water and water pressure is low
- Because of the pond and all the plants and flowers, there are a fair few mosquitos

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPR1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Hotel is gorgeous;a lush garden, picture perfect lily ponds and a lovely, south-east Asian tropical ambiance. The staff is exceptionally polite and efficient :-)
The rooms are gorgeous too, large and with lovely views over the ponds and gardens...Large glass panes and curtains allowing for privacy without challenging the view....wonderful.
The pool is beautiful but rather smallish and its shape is interesting but not perfect for laps :-(
The restaurant is wonderful; but am talking only about the setting and ambiance, because the food is rather forgettable. Breakfast is decent but I wouldn't go back just for this.

During our stay there were two main issues;
The water at the shower was so over-chlorinated that was irritating to the eyes
The compulsory NY Eve's Gala at the Angkor Village Resort was deadly boring; mediocre food, slow service, unacceptable deserts, mediocre cultural show etc....A poor elephant was welcoming the guests; this last one was annoying!
Advise: Escape the mediocre deserts and run to the Bar Street where the party is; definitely the most fun count-down party in the country!
(We have been expats in Cambodia for 5 years :-)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petrosisaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I spent 4 nights at the Angkor Village Hotel, departing on Christmas Day 2011. Everything was fabulous. The grounds are gorgeous, the room and bathroom are well appointed, the location is close to town, and it all could not have been more perfect. At first I was disappointed when checking in, thinking I'd reserved a room at the Angkor Village Resort, but after spending time there at the spa, I think I preferred the hotel where I ended up. The resort is far out of town, while the hotel feels like it's quite a distance from everything in terms of its quiet location, it's just about a 10 minute walk into downtown Siem Reap. Breakfast was delicious and there was a good bit of variety. I only had one other meal there, the afternoon I arrived and it was just OK. And since you are close to town and all it's restaurants, there's really no reason to eat at the hotel. The spa at the resort was very nice and I enjoyed my traditional massage there (the hotel arranged for a tuk-tuk to take me back and forth). The hotel also made arrangements for my Angkor guide and driver. They were great and worked very hard for the two days I was with them, taking me all over to visit the temples. Overall I would say the Angkor Village hotel is a great value and should I ever return to Siem Reap, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy19087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Situated on a quiet street about 10 minutes walk away from the centre Siem Reap, this was a charming and quiet oasis. The delightful rooms are in khmer style wooden pavillions, overlooking a lagoon filled with water lillies and lotuses. Our deluxe room was large, decorated in a loosely khmer style, with a pleasing view of the lagoon. Staff were friendly and helpful, and organised a car and driver for us to tour around Angkor and khmer style picnic lunch hampers. The hotel never felt crowded or busy despite it being peak season, which made it a very pleasant retreat after a hot day seeing temples. Some niggles: the wifi while free was patchy; our shower had problems draining on the first day which slightly flooded the bathroom, though staff quickly fixed it. Overall a very pleasant and relaxing place to stay.



  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLP74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We stayed 4 nights, excellent room, very friendly and helpful staff. This Hotel is not to be mistaken for The Angkor Village Resort and Spa, although it is owned by the same people.
This hotel was a paradise of calm in a bustling dusty Siem Reap, very handy for the town and all it's amenities i.e markets and of course Pub Street. Tuk Tuk's outside for a pleasant ride to Angkor temples. The grounds of the hotel were very peaceful a great place to relax after a dusty ride to and busy days around the temples. food was good and reasonable priced as were the drinks. One downside you need plenty of insect repellent. A small price to pay for such a pleasant watering hole.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonmar127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.8 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#69 of 374 in Siem Reap
832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
0.1 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#23 of 374 in Siem Reap
3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#31 of 374 in Siem Reap
885 reviews
2 mi away
Nita by Vo Luxury Hotel
Nita by Vo Luxury Hotel
#22 of 374 in Siem Reap
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Village Hotel

Address: Wat Bo Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#55 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $107 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angkor Village Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the old colonial area, Angkor Village Hotel blends harmoniously architecture, culture and tropical nature to make it an oasis of greenery and tranquility right in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Angkor Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Angkor Village
Angkor Village Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing