We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap
Ranked #121 of 345 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed at the Golden Banana for 3 nights.Great location - a 5 minute walk to the Old Market and Pub St/Alley. The staff is fantastic; extremely helpful and organized a guide on 2 days, as well as a car and tuk tuk during the trip. On arrival, there was no running water in the bathroom sink but it was resolved in 5 minutes by the staff. Room was spacious, split into two levels, well kept and had a patio overlooking the pool. After a long day of walking around temples, it was wonderful to come back to a cool, quiet place. The complimentary breakfast was the perfect start to each morning. Overall, great value for money. I would highly recommend the GB Hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mh_ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    141
    30
    8
    8
See reviews for
44
213
75
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This is the third time I have stayed at the Boutique Hotel. I have found it a very comfortable hotel with a lovely pool "just outside" the door. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast is sufficient to start the day and complimentary wifi is a great addition. The staff are always welcoming and go out of their way to make you feel "part of the family". In very humid/hot conditions the aircon is sufficient for the sleeping area.
The Golden Banana offers four different accommodation options, ranging from B&B [no pool], The Superior, The Boutique Hotel and The Resort.
Easy walking distance to the Old Market and Pub Street [restaurants etc]. Tuk-Tuks and taxis are easy to find and can be ordered through the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stretch7250_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Even tho we had to wade thru flooded streets to get here - and survive a motto crash in the flood - I'd do it all again to get here!!! An oasis on the 'other' side of the river in SR..... the rooms are incredible and the swimming pools, divine. The buildings, rooms, and common areas ooze charm and the GLBT friendly music makes it all the better!!!!

This is one of the most wonderful places I've stayed - and extremely good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the superior building, via email.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovebarbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This boutique hotel provided a comfortable little oasis, and was located within walking distance to the main market in Siem Reap and tourist restaurant area. The rooms are spacious and decorated well. It appeared that every room, or nearly every room, had a deck overlooking the pool area. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was a pretty good selection. What we perhaps liked best was the hotel's excellent referrals to tour guides and tuk tuk drivers in the area. We used the same driver and guide for our two days at the temples, and had a very good experience. This hotel was overall pretty delightful, particularly considering the price--and as we continued on our travels we recommended it to those we encountered heading to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k5358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Charming boutique hotel in a quiet and nice neighborhood the very centre of Siem Reap, next to the market and restaurant area. Very good quality / price relation. Air conditioning doesn't deserve such a name. It is closer to a fresh fan. Also, the oversized staff is nice (who isn't in Asia) but not professional. Checking in was a big mess since they have 4 small hotels with different prices. Watch the tuk-tuks proposed by the staff! They are more expensive than normal ones and not more reliable. You are basically paying more for nothing.
I would definetely go back but I hope they train a bit more the staff and improve the air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juanjosebellod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldtraveller062, General Manager at Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Juanjosebellod,

We appreciate you took the time to write this comment as it help us to improve our service where needed.
Although we from our side would like to clarify some issues following up your review.
Regarding the air-con problem; we have checked the room where you stayed and there was no problem with the machine, but it happened already more than once that the settings on the remote control where not placed in the right position so it doesn’t cool at all and indeed just works only as a fan.
We truly regret we where not informed about this issue so we couldn’t take any actions to resolve the problem.

As a reaction on the comment about our “not so professional” staff we would like to explain something very important. Our staff is carefully selected to assist you and make your stay a good and pleasant as possible. We have local well-trained managers who can take care of all your questions and assist you in your stay. If there are things that don’t go as smoothly as you expect, please tell the staff, general manager or owner.

We do make mistakes sometimes. Unfortunately, even the GM can make mistakes. Please do remember that the staff is trying to help you at their best. In Asian culture it is sometimes difficult to say that you cannot do something for a guests or that you do not understand him or her. Almost all staff goes to school every day to learn better English, but even then sometimes language and cultural barriers have to be overcome. We have around 45 people working in the Hotel and Resort and another 45 drivers and guides, and their extended families, are depending on you. They are fantastic people and we love them but they are from impoverished families and get with us the opportunity to learn and improve their skills at GB.

Al our fees for trips for tours in and around Siem Reap are fixed and transparent prices. It can indeed happen that you get a better rate from other Tuk Tuk driver from outside the hotel.
In that case we are not aware of the quality and knowledge of them, it can happen easily that you end up in some ‘special’ trips where you didn’t asked for and at the end spend much more on buying ‘nice’ souvenirs or paying for other unexpected services.
Off course all our guests are free to chose their own transport from outside the
Hotel.

Again we very regret you didn’t fully liked your stay at Golden Banana Boutique Hotel, we hope to see you again to experience the improvement of our staff.
And we would like to offer you a free night during your next stay to make up for the inconveniences.

With warm greetings,
Tommy
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

My family and I sponsor a school in Siem Reap so we visit the city at least once a year. We always stay at the Golden Banana. The staff treat us all like family and are always very eager to see us and to help us out. The Golden banana has three different areas according to budget; the resort, the boutique hoten and the backpackers villa. No matter which of these your room is in, you can use the facilities (pool, bar, restaurant) from any other area. It's one big Golen Banana family.
The rooms are very spacious, normally two floors with their own balcony, minibar, television and fully equiped bathroom, they are very clean and very well priced.
Make sure you visit the bar in the boutique resrort as for the most part the staff are very laidback and warm; they aways put their jobs first, but love to socialize and make friends with their guests, which was not unappreciated on my first visit... now I look forward to seeing my friends every year :)
New years eve here is apparently amazing as there is always a big party with dacing and entertainment.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z0E_B0W1E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The staff of the hotel were absolutely very helpful. Whenever we asked for help, they tried their best to help us as soon as they can. The hotel is located at good location and we enjoyed our stay because it is really comfortable!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skylover2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
King Rock Boutique Hotel
King Rock Boutique Hotel
#86 of 345 in Siem Reap
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayon Boutique
Bayon Boutique
#98 of 345 in Siem Reap
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#112 of 345 in Siem Reap
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
0.0 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
#36 of 345 in Siem Reap
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap

Property: Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap
Address: Phum Wat Damnak, Kum Sala Komreuk | Krom 10, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Hotel)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#61 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel by Rambutan. Villas built in traditional pagoda style in garden setting -5 minutes walking distance to the old centre of Siem Reap -Located in a quiet residential area - Swimming pool with fountain and cocktail bar -Gay friendly. Visiting the temples of Angkor Wat is an experience you will never forget. Staying in our lovely Hotel makes that experience even better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Banana Boutique
Golden Banana Boutique Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing