We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faded elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #98 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
317 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Faded elegance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were very impressed by the sumptuous reception & pool area but the rooms definitely needed a re-furb. Overall though, we were very pleased with our choice of hotel as it was only 10 minutes (or $1 motodop) to buzzy Pub Street and it was nice to have a pool to flop into after an exhausting day temple hopping! The staff were all friendly & helpful & the room was well serviced.

Room Tip: pool view rooms are preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bella c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somadevi Angkor H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greeting from HOTEL SOMADEVI ANGKOR RESORT & SPA!
We are on behalf of SOMADEVI team would like to say thank very much for stay and using our service during your trip in Siem Reap Cambodia. We are deeply apologized any inconvenience and we will improved our service and property. we are sure that will not happen again in future. We really appreciate for what you have wrote on and your feedback our service. we are hoping, you will come to stay with us again in the nearest future.

Regards,
Phirom Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    591
    165
    24
    19
See reviews for
229
498
123
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you ignore the 4 star claims and just judge this place by the pretty decent price, it's about what it should be. Highlights are a great pool and nice balconies on every room. The rooms themselves were probably top notch in their day but furnishings are aging and comforter sheets in both rooms we have show minor but noticeable old coffee stains and pen marks. Front desk service is fine but not the level of helpfulness you'd expect from a 4 star hotel. Breakfast buffet has a huge array of mediocre offerings--stick to eggs or noodle soup to order and surprisingly good croissants. The bar is unfortunately priced like a 4 star, otherwise the pool terrace would be a great place to hang out after a day of templing. Overall, it's fine, safe, and western-friendly, but better deals probably exist.

Room Tip: IMPORTANT: the back side of the hotel suffers from poor wifi reception and loud construction (as of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somadevi Angkor H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greeting from HOTEL SOMADEVI ANGKOR RESORT & SPA!
We are on behalf of SOMADEVI team would like to say thank very much for stay and using our service during your trip in Siem Reap Cambodia. We are deeply apologized any inconvenience and we will improved our service and property. we are sure that will not happen again in future. We really appreciate for what you have wrote on and your feedback our service. we are hoping, you will come to stay with us again in the nearest future.

Regards,
Phirom Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed three nights in this hotel with wife in May 2013. We booked the room online at a decent rate but didn't expect too much from the place. But the overall experience turned to be quite fabulous. 1.) The check-in process was smooth. 2.) We got there very early in the day and although check-in time is only after noon, we were given our rooms immediately. 3.) We payed a little extra for the room in Indradevi Angor, which is a new block within the hotel next to pool and separate from the main Somadevi block. The rooms are huge, with a large bath and shower. 4.) the bed was very comfortable and was decorated with flowers when checked in. 5.) There is a large sit-out with a view (of the pool). 6.) the pool itself is good with bar stools in it. 7.) there is a spa and I think there is a gym too although we never got to see/use it. 8. The location is brilliant with just a 10 minute walk to the pub street (we walked back quite late in the night and it appeared safe). 9. there is a free breakfast although it was quite average. Would definitely recommend the place.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in Indradevi block though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_Bharath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettalong Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

My room was large and very clean.The bathroom was fantastic,large bath and rain shower. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. It is only a ten minute walk to pub street or a $1 motodup ride. My only complaint was that the breakfast was of a poor quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, null, Brunei
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

make sure to bring as many small bill dollar as possible... every price here is qouted with dollar.. but khmer people speak english well .. friendly too..

Famous for their jewels of precious stone and cheap too... can bargain too,

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Juzailah Bay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somadevi Angkor H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greeting from HOTEL SOMADEVI ANGKOR RESORT & SPA!
We are on behalf of SOMADEVI team would like to say thank very much for stay and using our service during your trip in Siem Reap Cambodia. We are deeply apologized any inconvenience and we will improved our service and property. we are sure that will not happen again in future. We really appreciate for what you have wrote on and your feedback our service. we are hoping, you will come to stay with us again in the nearest future.

Regards,
Phirom Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just finished off a trip to Viet Nam with a brief three night stopover in Siam Reap, and were lucky enough to have been booked into this wonderful hotel. The foyer is amazing, the rooms are large and well appointed, ours looked out directly over the most beautiful pool setting, the food and service was excellent. Overall a top place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 59TRISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a really classy 5 star joint. I don't usually stay in such places as I'm more of a budget traveler, but at $40 a night it's fantastic value. I understand this is a rainy season special, which I picked up on the internet through one of the booking sites. Sorry I can't remember which site.

The hotel has all the 5 star stuff, plus a couple of nice touches. There's a lady who plays traditional Cambodian music in the foyer of an evening. Adds atmosphere to the place. They have a nice big pool with some underwater seats if you feel like a beer when your in the water. It's located in town not far from Pub Street, which has a wide selection of eating & drinking options.

Room Tip: I think they would all be pretty OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducati_Davo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
28.2 mi away
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Boutique & Resort
28.1 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#91 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
28.1 mi away
Angkor Paradise Hotel
Angkor Paradise Hotel
#100 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 mi away
Tara Angkor Hotel
Tara Angkor Hotel
#81 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,960 reviews
27.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#38 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,701 reviews
27.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#68 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa
Address: Sivatha Blvd, Mondul II Village, Sangkat Svaydangkum | Central City, Pub Street, Old Market, Night Market, Lucky Mall, Siem Reap River., Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#55 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#55 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#70 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#73 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL SOMADEVI ANGKOR RESORT & SPA is indeed a Resort of Class and Character in which you should not miss while you are visiting the mystical land - Siem Reap Angkor. The Resort has been designed to guarantee you a most pleasant and memorable stay as we aim to deliver products and services that consistently meet and exceed your travel's needs and wants. HOTEL SOMADEVI ANGKOR RESORT & SPA is quite centrally situated handy for Top Business, Restaurant, Shopping, Museum, Bank, and Entertainment Centers. It is just fifteen (15) minutes drive from Siem Reap International Airport and ten (10) minutes to the world-renowned Angkor Watt Temple. Truly, HOTEL SOMADEVI ANGKOR RESORT & SPA is a convenient address to business and leisure travelers. SOMADEVI was originally the name of the Cambodian Queen who led Cambodia in the first century during the Khmer Empire Period. Based on her successful merits in making Cambodia the most well-known country in South East Asia in terms of society and infrastructure, her name continues to rise in the mind of today's Cambodian people. Therefore, we have taken her extinct name as our business brand name with the sole purpose of respect and worship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somadevi Angkor Siem Reap
Hotel Somadevi Angkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing