We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence
Ranked #88 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We loved our honeymoon here. The staff are incredible and could not have done more for us. We had a delicious meal in the restaurant too. It's really convenient for a $2 tuk tuk to the busier part of town. We would stay again if we ever return to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanumanAlaya, General Manager at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Ms. Faye,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate your comments and greatly and were delighted that you enjoyed the hotel, our delicious meal and other facilities. Do let me know when you plan to return so that I can personally assist you.

I trust you are well.

Luon Thea
Manager
gm@hanumanalaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 409 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

I travel the world for my work, and have stayed at a lot of hotels. I am a Ambassador Platinum at Intercontinental and a Gold at Marriotts. So, I am saying this with some experience. This is a great hotel. We went on a family vacation. My 10 year old could not get enough of the pool. It is a small pool. But it is a nice pool. The rooms were exceptionally clean. The service was awesome. Because of jet lag, me and my wife would get at 3 am. We would step out of the room, and spend time in the many tables, couches and chairs around the hotel. This place is like your home away from home.

They arranged the guide for us. They arranged cars for us, and so on. Exceptionally good service. There was always tuk tuk's available just outside and for 2 bucks, they took you anywhere in town. The drivers are so nice and honest. A contrast to Phnom Penh or Sihanoukville. Siem Reap is the nicer, gentler and lovelier place among the cities in Cambodia.

I rarely eat at hotel restaurants. But we decided to eat at this hotel restaurant one night. It is about a dollar or 2 more than outside prices. But, boy we were surprised at the quality of food. This is gourmet dining. In our 12 days in Cambodia, Hanumanalaya restaurant (forget the name of their restaurant), was the best. We ordered a banana flower salad, which was perfectly made. I had a fish curry dish, which was fantastic.

If you are staying here, eat at least one meal at their restaurant. To the hotel manager, lower the price, slightly. And do not let go of your chef. Even the morning omelets were done perfectly. My only regret is, wish I had eaten more at this restaurant.

Early morning before sunrise, I did my yoga on the upstairs patio.

This is a cozy, nice, comfortable hotel. Definitely a place I would come and stay anytime I am in Siem Reap. And for the price you are paying, it is a steal.

Favorite coffee shop in Siem Reap - Sister Srey.
If you are looking for tasty, spicy Indian restaurant, then try Dakshin. The owner is very nice to talk to.
Khmer food - Hotel Hanumanalaya

Room Tip: If you do not want to use a guide for the temples, bring your own book on Cambodia. Read up in adva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MalaysianAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanumanAlaya, General Manager at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear MalaysianAmerican,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor and such a favorable one at that! We really appreciated reading this and more so, took delight in knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us while you were here in Siem Reap!!

I note your comment about the price of our great food in Reahoo Restaurant. This point certainly valid and will be addressed.

Let me know when you plan to return so that I can personally look after your accommodation requirements.

I trust you are well and thank you again.

Yours Sincerely,

Luon Thea
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

A great place to stay! Our holiday was 10 days staying at HanumanAlaya and the experience was one of the very best. I travel to Siem Reap regularly and will stya here again. The staff were attentive, friendly, efficient and no problem was to big - they just smiled and got on with it. My travel group all loved the food the rooms the comfort and convenience as well as the boutique look and feel. What a great holiday - we will be back again and again.

HanumanAlay offers a quiet and comfortable stay just out of town and this was a truly blessed location away from the constant noise of the city area close to the river and easy 5 minute ride to the town center.

Travelling to Siem Reap and want a somewhere that reflects and respects the local culture?
You will be hard pressed to find something better in my opinion.
Glen from PaintingHolidays.com.au

Room Tip: The Suites have balconies and wide verandahs. The Deluxe rooms downstairs are spacious and easy acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanumanAlaya, General Manager at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Mr. Glen,

Warm greeting from HanumanAlaya,

Thanks for taking time to share your wonderful experience of your stay with us, we are more than happy to learn that you and your group had a memorable stay with HanumanAlaya and Siem Reap.

Look forward to welcoming you and your two groups in July 2015,

Please feel free to contact me anytime if I can be of any further assistance,

Yours Faithfully,

Luon Thea
gm@hanumanalaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This was the first time I have stayed at HanumanAlaya and loved it.
Great staff, great food, great accommodation and lovely grounds.
Wonderful accommodation for travelers and convenient to all the attractions that Siem Reap
has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanumanAlaya, General Manager at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Warm greeting from HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence and Villa,

Thanks for your time to review us about your great stay with us. We are more than delighted to learn that you enjoyed everything at HanumanAlaya. Your appreciation is vital for you and keep up our service to ensure that all our clients have a wonderful memorable experience with us.

Please feel free to contact us anytime at info@hanumanalaya.com if you would like to plan your trip to visit Siem Reap again,

Yours Sincerely,

Luon Thea
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I paid for a low price for the best service I ever had in hotel service. I only pay USD100 for a good 2 nights stay. Staff is good and environment is the best. You won't believe it until you try it. Best of the best hotel staff, service and environment I ever had.

Room Tip: The room I have is last suite on 1st floor No. 3. it is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jessetan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanumanAlaya, General Manager at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you so much for your time to share your wonderful experience of your stay with HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence. Your appreciation of our service "Best of the Best Service" is vital for you.

Please feel free to contact us any time : info@hanumanalaya.com if you would like to plan your trip to visit Siem Reap again.

Yours Sincerely,

Luon Thea
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Was there for a few days in early July. They have their own drivers that speak English (not well but enough to communicate) to pick us up from the airport and drive us around to all of the temples. Our room was beautiful, and the staff was able to help with anything we needed. About 10 minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the temples. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alorr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanumanAlaya, General Manager at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thanks for spending your time to share your detail experiences of your stay with HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence. Your kind words help us to do our best to improve continuously, day by day to be excellent and it is very clear of how much we do for all our clients staying with us.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you to Alaya again in future.

Yours Sincerely,

Luon Thea
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My family stayed in one of the larger rooms (a "studio suite", with two double beds and a single), and it was a completely delightful experience. The hotel is beautiful and very well maintained - like a peaceful, charming oasis. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom spacious, and the pool was an absolute delight to splash around in after a long day of tramping about the Angkor ruins in the heat. Breakfast is included and delicious (be sure to try the home-made coconut bread they use for toast almost every morning) with muesli, amazing yogurt (so rich it's practically creme fraiche), fresh fruit, good coffee and your choice of hot dish. The hotel's location is a bit out of the way (i.e., it's not near the downtown areas where the market and all the restaurants are), but this is really no problem: the tuk-tuk ride into town is $2 or $3 each way, and there's never a problem getting one - there are literally swarms of them in Siem Reap.

Service by the well-trained staff was uniformly excellent and friendly. The massage I had at the spa was the best I had in Cambodia (and I had quite a few!), but also the most expensive. My wife and daughter weren't terribly impressed with their manicure/pedicure, though.

The only minor irritation is that we asked for matches several times because the room was stocked with candles and a scented oil burner -- but no one could seem to find us any. This was really no big deal, though, and I would love to stay here again some time: certainly with the off-season discounts, it's an excellent value.

In all, we really enjoyed this hotel and we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Someone we met stayed in one of the smaller rooms and said it didn't have a shower. You might wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snic09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanumanAlaya, General Manager at HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thanks for choosing to stay with HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence and your appreciation of our service is vital for us. We are more than happy to learn that you like the small traditional Cambodian hotel, with beautiful furniture and so may artifacts to dress like HanumanAlaya. Sorry for the issue of delivering matches but glad to hear that it does not cause any inconvenience to you. I could guarantee that will be not happen to any other guests who staying with us.

Look forward to welcoming you and your friends to the lovely property again,

Yours Sincerely,

Luon Thea
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0 mi away
HanumanAlaya Villa
HanumanAlaya Villa
#121 of 374 in Siem Reap
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#69 of 374 in Siem Reap
832 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#31 of 374 in Siem Reap
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Natura Resort
Natura Resort
#103 of 374 in Siem Reap
235 reviews
1.4 mi away
Angkor Village Hotel
Angkor Village Hotel
#65 of 374 in Siem Reap
555 reviews
0.5 mi away
The SAMAR Villa & Spa Resort
The SAMAR Villa & Spa Resort
#186 of 374 in Siem Reap
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence

Address: 5 Krom 2 | Phoum Treang, Siem Reap PO2321, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#33 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#71 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $96 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare for divine inspiration! The temples of Angkor, capital of Cambodia's ancient Khmer empire, are the perfect fusion of creative ambition and spiritual devotion. HanumanAlaya, Angkor's very own boutique residence, is just a short distance away from these magnificent temple monuments and is the perfect blend of traditional Khmer design and sophisticated international amenities. Many guests love our idyllic retreat. Our guest book is a eulogy to hospitality: a 'wonderful place', 'excellent service', a 'perfect retreat'. 'Paradise'. Lovingly finished in wood and elegantly decorated in local antiques and handicrafts, the HanumanAlaya is a home more than a hotel and guests find it the perfect place to unwind after an adventurous day exploring Angkor Wat and the many other temples. Surrounded by lush gardens, a swimming pool, tropical plants, and a soothing Spa, it is an idyllic retreat from the bustle of Siem Reap beyond, a stay to be savoured rather than rushed. Angkor is a magical experience, one that will stay with visitors forever. Make it more memorable at HanumanAlaya by immersing yourself in our rooms with a personal touch. We are delighted to invite you to visit our sister property, HanumanAlaya Villa, located just 5mn walk from the main hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanumanalaya Boutique Residence Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing