We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm amongst”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence
Ranked #86 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
West Mids
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Calm amongst”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights end of November 2013 halfway through our 3 week honeymoon. The Boutique Hotel was wonderful from the first day of arrival . The staff couldn't have been more accommodating, polite and very efficient.Having arrived from Phenom Phen with its busy bustling street this was a delight.

When we were shown to our room the hotel staff had been informed it ws our honey moon and had beautifully decorated our king size- king size bed with fragrant flowers of 2 hearts entwined , spelt honeymoon in rose petals and laid 2 red roses in the centre. They had filled the sink and bath with water and floated fragrant flowers in the water there was also a bottle of wine for us too
There was a celing fan and air con both of which could have been a little better. there are gaps under doors and around the windows so beware Mosquitoes can still get when asleep.

breakfast was included in our tariff which was a combination of fruits, yoghurts, breads. and cooked food....plentiful ..We ate here in the evenings and found the cost very reasonable
about $ 7 dollars an item...with local cuisine choices too.

It was ideally situated for our visits to Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom, Bayon and Banteay Srei..would definatley recommend it after a hot sticky day out seeing the sites . the Pol are id wonderful with bar service for snacks and drinks

Room Tip: The rooms are certainly not sound proof , we could hear quite clearly the 2 ladies in the room next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraCroftWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    87
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
62
206
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This small hotel is a delight . Very Cambodian in style with beautiful rooms the entire hotel is full of objet's d'art from Cambodia and a shop opposite is a superb source of souvenirs from Cambodia and also Burma.
The staff are delightful the service, is charming and the restaurant is good and the bedrooms have everything you need for a very comfortable stay there is an interesting library of books available to read about the area and its history .
Its a short tuk tuk ride from the city ($1.00 per person per ride ) and very convenient for the wonders of Ankor Wat and the other Temple complexes in the area which are magnificent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giussano, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My stay in this hotel has been wonderful.
The staff is very friendly, services are excellent. My room was lovely, great and very clean.
If one day I'll return to Cambodia I'm sure to make the same choise.
My stay has been a paradise!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susetta81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

If you like small, discrete and tasteful - this ticks all the boxes. Close to where everything is but on a quiet street on the right side of town. If its not too hot its easy to walk in if you don't fancy a tuk tuk ($2). Beautiful decor with a feel of Bali to it - nice touches such as a library of reference books. Upstairs is best but other than the room next to the reception they're all quiet. Only disappointment is breakfast which was poor. They also seemed to charge more for a car out to a far away temple - $34 for AC car plus $35 as a longer trip but others only charge an extra $10 to the same destination.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ifzitzigc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were not staying at the hotel but had an evening meal in the restaurant, everything was excellent. The service and setting were good, and the food was beautifully presented and tasted wonderful, would highly recommend .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located just outside the city centre, which is a benefit for those tourists who, like we did, want to go to see the marvels of Angkor. The best thing about the place is not the pool (although it is nice to relax there after a hot day with temple raiding), but the staff. All of them are very friendly and even though their English may fall short at times, they certainly do their best to help with whatever you need.
The breakfast is, as some other reviews have noted, not great. The selection is ok at best, but many mornings some items (juice, bread or fruits) were finished and not restocked.
The rooms are nice, but cleaning is done according to the principle "cleaning what you can see". Sometimes a good scrub of the parts closer to the ceiling, such as the top of the lamps, could be good.
The thing that disappointed us the most though was the covert commission added to every service. Tuk-tuk, boat tours, bus tickets all included an add-on of a couple of dollars per person. From a four star hotel, I would expect that these services are included in the room fee and not added covertly.
All in all it's a good hotel and with some small alterations they can reach the top.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl-Henrik99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I agree with every word Simon T wrote. This hotel was absolutely wonderful and the staff amazing. Lonely Planet calls it blissful and yes, that's what it is. I too had a massage there (by a blind person) and it was the best I have ever had. If you go into town for massages, they are cheaper, because the massagers don't have to travel to you, but it was a treat to lay by the pool and be pampered - all for $23.

Everywhere you look in the hotel is a feast for the eyes, with the antiques and beautifully laid-out rooms, with everything you could wish for in them, with great attention to detail and both a ceiling fan and efficient and quiet a/c. There are always cleaners around, cleaning the communal areas and the pool.

The staff are really friendly and helpful, and let me use their computer to check in for the flight home online and print off the boarding pass. The waiters and bar staff like to practise their English, and it was a pleasure to talk to them. I don't know where they trained, but they're spot-on in terms of attentiveness and friendliness!

Oh, just writing this makes me want to go back there!!!!

Tuk tuks into town (for the old market, etc) are only about $3, and what you get in this hotel more than makes up for it. The breakfast is lovely - a good Asian and western choice (you can even have bacon and eggs, with a choice of sunny side up or easy over eggs!). Why on earth would you want a room in a faceless chain when there's HanumanAlaya?????

Room Tip: I saw a few of the other rooms and they were as beautiful as mine. I dont think any of them have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cyclo d’Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#63 of 356 in Siem Reap
649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Natura Resort
Natura Resort
#114 of 356 in Siem Reap
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Reveal Courtyard Formerly Angkor Tropic Hotel
0.1 mi away
Regency Angkor Hotel
Regency Angkor Hotel
#135 of 356 in Siem Reap
185 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bunwin Residence
Bunwin Residence
#91 of 356 in Siem Reap
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence

Property: HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence
Address: 5 Krom 2 | Phoum Treang, Siem Reap PO2321, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#36 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#65 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare for divine inspiration! The temples of Angkor, capital of Cambodia's ancient Khmer empire, are the perfect fusion of creative ambition and spiritual devotion. HanumanAlaya, Angkor's very own boutique residence, is just a short distance away from these magnificent temple monuments and is the perfect blend of traditional Khmer design and sophisticated international amenities. Many guests love our idyllic retreat. Our guest book is a eulogy to hospitality: a 'wonderful place', 'excellent service', a 'perfect retreat'. 'Paradise'. Lovingly finished in wood and elegantly decorated in local antiques and handicrafts, the HanumanAlaya is a home more than a hotel and guests find it the perfect place to unwind after an adventurous day exploring Angkor Wat and the many other temples. Surrounded by lush gardens, a swimming pool, tropical plants, and a soothing Spa, it is an idyllic retreat from the bustle of Siem Reap beyond, a stay to be savoured rather than rushed. Angkor is a magical experience, one that will stay with visitors forever. Make it more memorable at HanumanAlaya by immersing yourself in our rooms with a personal touch. We are delighted to invite you to visit our sister property, HanumanAlaya Villa, located just 5mn walk from the main hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanumanalaya Boutique Residence Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing