We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Baphuon Temple
from $97.48
More Info
from $31.25
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
Reviews (982)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveler rating
277
220
46
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
220
46
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reclining buddha steep climb elevated walkway jigsaw puzzle hindu god shiva angkor thom elephant terrace top level causeway temple restoration century pyramidal ladder structure elephants exercise
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 548 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Opened in 2011 after restoration works spread over 15 years + , this originally Shiva temple later converted to Buddhist temple has some of the steepest climbs amongst the Angkor temples. Built in 3 tiers , this temple requires some time to cover because of the steep climbs- however the views from the top are really good and worth the effort . Do not miss this temple when you are in Angkor Thom .

Thank UNNIMAYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This temple is the great one with 3 floors you can clamp up and extremely the best exercise in the early morning. If we look at the front wow the best view ever and when you walk to the back please look at the big sleeping Buddha statue.

1  Thank hazzuwanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Like the title, it has gorgeous views from top. However the stairs are steep and it can be dangerous. I understand why most people are not keen on going to this temple as it requires a lot of climbing and there's no shade. We went there at 1pm. It was really hot and there's not so much people around, probably less than 15 people. For young people who's not afraid of heights or even the older people with good health, climb those stairs and you will be rewarded by impressive views. However you can skip this if you have bad legs. Just have a look around, the surrounding itself is splendid as well. Personally I like this temple more than Angkor Wat.

Thank 360caribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Approached by a causeway that offers a super photo opportunity, one can climb up several steps to look around the area.
I loved the fact that the temple had been part dismantled in a bid to reinforce and restore it … each block numbered - and to be seen around the outskirts of the temple … but during the civil war, the plans were lost and therefore re-construction of certain areas remains pending!

Thank BlankoMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Be prepared to climb and climb and climb very steep steps to the top of the three-tiered temple. It is well worth the climb though because the views of Angkor Thom are spectacular. I wouldn’t bring children to this temple dedicated to Shiva because the climb would be too dangerous for them. In fact, there are some wats in the archaeological park where there is a height requirement but I’m not sure if there is one here? In any case, come prepared with water here as you will need it to stay hydrated due to the hot and humid conditions and the physical demands of this visit. I do recommend it if you are physically able.

Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Baphuon Temple is in the area of Angkor Thom and its pyramidal shape with various terraces makes it ideal to go up to the top and enjoy incredibles views of the sorroundings.There is also a causeway to enter the temple that makes it quite different to the other temples of the area

Thank javiercard2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

The long steps makes the climbing hard. But when your on top you will see a nice view. Try to go early or sundown

Thank revinravens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

Im not sure but I think its the highest temple among them all. Get ready for a lot of climbing and walking. Parents with small children might face some problems. Yet it is really worth to see

Thank TravElkouteini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We did not go up this one, as it was getting hot towards the end of the day, and just say in the shade on the long walkway for a short bit, It was very pretty, but after seeing half a dozen other temples, we did not want to have to walk up any more stairs. I wish we would have went up it, but we were exhausted after taking stairs in other temples.

Thank Aggiedude82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

If you leave Bayon via the east exit on the way to the terrace of the elephants you shortly come to the entrance to Baphuon Temple on your left,to reach the temple you walk over a 170 metre bridge over a pond,when I was there in April the water was quite low in the pond but I am sure it looks a lot more impressive after heavy rains.There are several levels to this temple and if you want to get the best view from the top be aware that you are going to have to tackle many steep stairs.At the top there is a line of pillars and door frames and they make great photos.As you leave this temple ifyou head to the next temple which is Phimeanakas there are several large interesting trees with big buttress roots.

1  Thank scubacol11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews