We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Shinta Mani Shack

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shinta Mani Shack
Ranked #11 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and we were super happy with our stay.

The room was clean and spacious, the bed was lovely. The only thing to complain about in our room was the towel rack which wasn't mounted properly so some loose parts of it fell down onto the floor a couple of times.

The breakfast was delicious, we enjoyed every one of the dishes we tried there and the service at the breakfast was superb. Almost too good.. it almost felt like the people working there were our slaves when they even folded our napkins and placed them in our laps (so the following days we made sure we did it ourselves before they had the chance to). But really, nothing to complain about there!

The staff was really friendly in general. We didn't really need to interact much with them but whenever you passed by someone they greeted you with a smile. We sort of felt a bit guilty whenever they dropped whatever they were doing in order to run and greet us at the entrance of the hotel and breakfast area.

If you're into hanging out in the "Bar street" in the touristic centre this hotel might be considered to be located a bit off. However, we preferred to visit the non touristic areas when we were not up in the Angkor area, so we didn't really mind.

There's a lot of other good things I could write about, but I think it's time to wrap this one up :)

I would definitely choose this hotel again if I came back to Siem Reap!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aljsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,988 - 1,994 of 2,305 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed for 5 days at the Shinta Mani Resort. The room was comfortable and clean. Fresh fruits, cookies and water were provided daily. Breakfast was in excellent variety. Very good location too, only 5 minutes walk to supermarket and a decent Korean restaurant, 5 mins dukduk ride to the old market and the pub street. We were particularly touched by their heartwarming service. We loved the way how all the staff were trying their best to make us feel at home. Big thank you to Ratanak and Mot for arranging a wonderful room with balcony directly connecting to the pool and recommending and making reservations for spa and dinner, and Dorn for the special cake celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and your warm smile! Highly recommended and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prisca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our family of 4 including 9 and 12 year old boys were all wowed by the Shinta Mani Resort located in the heart of the French Quarter in Siem Reap. From the start we were made to feel right at home by the friendly, attentive and helpful staff. We had two adjoining rooms on the 2nd floor overlooking the beautiful pool. Rooms were well appointed, with water and cookies replenished daily. Breakfast was plentiful with daily variety, the freshest fruit, and strong coffee. We spent most of the days touring around the Angkor temples and were typically tired out so it was always a relief to be greeted on our return with warmth, smiles, refreshing cool towels and 'welcome home.' Late afternoons we could lounge by the pool, relaxing and getting refreshed for the evening. The front of house team sets the tone and everyone at the Shinta Mani resort are super helpful and can assist with suggesting places to eat, bookings, and probably anything else you might need as a traveller. The staff are super friendly and genuinely interested in helping you have a great experience in their country, even teaching a few words in Khmer to us and our kids. We had the chance to dine in the restaurant for lunch and dinner as well and the food was always good with a variety of Khmer and Western dishes on the menu. The painting on the wall may say it all: "Once a year, go someplace you've never been before." Like the Shinta Mani Resort!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BEK1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We came on a family holiday with our 2 daughters aged 10 and 12. We wanted a relaxing holiday with a mixture of cultural activities. Shinta Mani Resort is just beautiful. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly and efficient staff, taken to the lounge and given cool drinks whilst they completed our booking. We had two adjoining rooms overlooking the pool. The rooms are beautifully furnished and cleaned twice a day. Beds and pillows are wonderful, and blackout curtains excellent. You don't notice the regular Cambodian power outages, as they have a generator. Breakfast was provided daily which was varied in choice for both Western and Easter tastes, efficient and polite service. We only needed to eat breakfast, and not again until dinner. The pool is delightful, and cool drinks and other treats are brought around. You can even get a free 10 minute massage. You can also get snacks and drinks at vey good prices. The gift shop were accommodating... They sought out extra items we wanted and got them into stock quickly. All the staff are so friendly and welcoming. There are many smiles and welcomes, with cool hand towels every time you return to the resort, and bottles of water. All staff at front entrance are chatty and welcoming. I was particularly happy with how 2 of the staff, Sophear Mot and Ratinat were personally. Very accommodating, with excellent care and recommendations, with Ratinat even teaching my daughters how to do Apsara dance. Both of them were genuinely concerned that our stay was the best it could be, and it was. Sophear knows all the best places to eat, and will book for you. I fully recommend a stay at Shinta Mani resort for anyone coming to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jocelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed for three nights at the resort, and were impressed by so many aspects of it. We loved the philosophy behind the organisation and the way that all the staff responded. They were the friendliest bunch that we have encountered, and backed it up with wonderful service. Just one example, we returned from a big day touring with dirty shoes which were retrieved from us at the door and returned cleaned and dry a short time later. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was extremely good and not expensive which is unusual for a resort. We had a beautiful Kmer tasting menu for dinner the first night, and it was a wonderful introduction to the food of the region and country. The room was very nicely furnished, with a very comfortable king size bed and lovely quality linen. Pool was terrific, and poolside service typical of the rest of the resort.
In short, the staff are smart, courteous and eager to learn, and with the overall desire of the organisation to provide and train local employment and to plough money back into assisting the Cambodian people, I would have no hesitation in recommending this resort, and we would definitely stay there on any return trip to Siem Reap.
Andrew and Jane

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Good location - nice escape from the hustle of the city. All the staff are extremely friendly and courteous. The rooms are clean and has an certain charm. Would definitely recommend for anyone who visits Siem Reap!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms gives good view of the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZenProsperity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I did a quick trip to Siem Reap a couple of weeks go to visit the Angkor Wat.

We decided to stay in Shinta-Mani Resort based in recommendations in TA. And we are very glad that we did!

To us, the main factor which distinguished Shinta-Mani from the others is the high level of service by its staffs. No request went unnoticed, everyone who works there is always attentive to the needs of their guests. English is spoken by all staffs, to varying degree of proficiency. There were always cold towels and water waiting for us the moment we entered the hotel lobby with the greeting 'welcome home' from the always smiling staffs!

And of course the hotel itself is beautiful. Rooms were nicely decorated and I loved the scent of lotus flower throughout the resort. Location wise, it's only a 15 minute walk to the old market area. Tuk tuk is always available to take us anywhere.

Definitely would recommend anyone to stay in this resort.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Hawa_Wahab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Angkor
Shinta Mani Angkor
#14 of 384 in Siem Reap
3,199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#4 of 384 in Siem Reap
953 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#7 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Shintana Saya Residence
Shintana Saya Residence
#1 of 384 in Siem Reap
464 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jaya House River Park
Jaya House River Park
#2 of 384 in Siem Reap
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinta Mani Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinta Mani Shack

Address: Street No 3 | junction of Oum Khun and 14th Street, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia (Formerly Royal Bay Inn Angkor Resort)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#1 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#11 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $139 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shinta Mani Shack 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shinta Mani Shack is a newly renovated Bensley-designed boutique property centrally located in the leafy French Quarter between The Royal Gardens and the Old Market Area. Each of the courtyard-style resort's 62 rooms & 2 Junior Suite enjoy first floor balcony views or direct access to the stunning swimming pool and flourishing tropical gardens. Public spaces include an all-day dining cafe/restaurant as well as complimentary wifi throughout. The Spa, Bensley's Bar and Kroya Restaurant which are located directly opposite at the Shinta Mani Shack are open to guests for their enjoyment. Shinta Mani strongly supports responsible tourism and community outreach through the Shinta Mani Foundation which is located at the nearby Shinta Mani Shack. The Foundation provides free hospitality training to less fortunate members of the Siem Reap community. A stay at Shinta Mani Shack assists the Shinta Mani Foundation to achieve its goal of creating a bright future for the people of Cambodia. A percentage of all guests daily room rate will be contributed to the Shinta Mani Foundation to support their activities. Guests are welcome to visit The Development Centre at Shinta Mani Shack or speak to staff about how they can make a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shinta Mani Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Bay Inn Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Day Hotel Angkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing