We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in Siem Reap.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Village Guesthouse
Ranked #65 of 489 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Home away from home in Siem Reap.”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

$8USD a night for a ground floor, large, really clean room with fan and own beautiful bathroom. In six weeks I was away this time, this is the best room I had anywhere.
Hot shower, comfy bed, friendly staff, good food, good location.
This place makes THE BEST cheeseburger I have ever tasted, ANYWHERE! They have a great rooftop bar and tour desk and only a couple of minute walk to the main drag, I would be happy to recommend this place to anyone going to Siem Reap. They also have bicycle hire, volleyball courts and more !

Room Tip: I asked for a ground floor single room and got a nice quiet room around the back in the new block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    184
    93
    60
    67
See reviews for
14
123
213
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Coruna, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I don't really know if is the best choice cause I only was in this guest house in Seam Reap, but it's really CHEAP!!! You can book a bed for 1$!!!! A "Khmer style room" for 3'50.... Etc....
Cheapest in town and very good people.
Cheapest beer. Like 50cent an "angkor" draft beer!
You need a mosquito repelent of course... But is a great choice to meet people and de city night life.
In the same street you can find the best and cheapest food too

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Castanooscuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I think looking at other reviews and speaking to people we met there the rooms vary quite a bit in quality it doesn't matter what you pay they will give you whatever. We got the short straw, I have NEVER seen more mosquitos in one room in my life, My girlfriend and i spent 1 hour going rambo, we must have killed 25 mosquitos in this time. This was not all of them.

I complained and showed the extremely rude female staff member, she coughed in our (literally) faces passed us a insect spray and walked off. Terrible. She was wearing a tshirt that said 'send a thief to catch a thief'….found this a tad weird in her line of work.

There is a massive plus of this place though which i wish i could review separately, its there bar and restaurant. Fantastic value food and 50cent drinks, late night bar with free pool table, great backpacker vibe and good meeting place.

Id recommend walking in and going straight for the stairs for a good value night out just don't stop here, unless you see the room before you pay.

Room Tip: Check the room before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Garden Village is one of the best places we stayed in asia.
We had one of the new deluxe rooms with aircon and those rooms are absolutely perfect! They are so beautiful and clean.
But even when you're on a low budget you can get "rooms" for just $1. They have lots of different types in between. Just look up their homepage.
The rooftop bar is really good as well. Draft beer for $0,50 and you can get breakfast for $1 (eggs with toast). This guesthouse has so many different options. There is something for everyone.
The manager and his family are sooo nice and friendly they will help you with everything.
I can recommend to make a booking before as they are always booked out!
Thats our favorite place in south east asia! We really enjoyed staying here and definitely coming back soon!!!
Marcel&Vivian

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank F2i0j1i3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

With beds starting at $1, Garden Village must be the cheapest option in Siem Reap. I got a private fan room for $7, and it was basic but comfortable. There were some mosquitoes in the room, but I amused myself by hunting them down.

What makes Garden Village epic? It's cheap and social, so it's the place to be in Siem Reap. The restaurant/bar upstairs serves surprisingly high-quality food at very low prices. (the cheeseburger for $3.25 is nice. Muesli and yogurt for $2 makes a nice breakfast). At night, the bar is a fun, social place with a free (dilapitated) pool table, cheap drinks (jug of beer, $2), and some decent music.

They've also got a sand volleyball/football court, lots of places to chill, OK wifi, and some computers you can use for free.

The administration is friendly and well-organized. I spent a while here, and I was really able to settle in and feel like I was at home.

The downsides? My room on the first floor was a little loud, and a little stuffy, even with the fan on. Some mosquitoes.

It's a nice location just 10 minutes walking from Pub Street and the Old Market. I recommend a bicycle for exploring Siem Reap (and Angkor Wat!).

If you're on a budget and want a place where you can meet some fellow travelers, Garden Villiage is it.

Room Tip: They are often full. I took a dorm and then changed to a private room when it opened up. The six-per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sozh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We rented a delux room,which was joke(it resembled an old swimming pool changing room!!) the bedding was stained,the walls filthy and the electric hanging off the wall.There were no curtains,just an old stained net curtains,the furniture was one table.The reception looks very nice,and the staff there helpful and happy,but thats where it stops.The bar would not sell anything but beer in cans until 3.30pm.We had been on a long journey and just wanted a drink(i dont like beer).They have an impressive dumb waiter system up to the bar,but the food gets taken off and left on the table for the sparrows to peck at until someone gets round to handing it out(i saw my chips and grabbed them!).If you want to drink alot, meet people and are not fussy what you sleep on then this place is probably ok,if you have standards dont bother,you can get something better for your money nearby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I Got mauled by bed bugs, all the drains were clogged and the room was flooded and the staff was totally useless and incompetent. Avoid this place at all costs. THIS PLACE SUCKS. The only positive thing was cheap drinks at the bar and it was easy to meet people.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Brodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Angkor Pal Boutique Hotel
Angkor Pal Boutique Hotel
#18 of 268 in Siem Reap
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Villa Soksan Square
The Villa Soksan Square
#59 of 489 in Siem Reap
177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#28 of 489 in Siem Reap
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Tigre Hotel
Le Tigre Hotel
#20 of 489 in Siem Reap
389 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#4 of 268 in Siem Reap
1,142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Khmere Maison d'Angkor
Khmere Maison d'Angkor
#44 of 489 in Siem Reap
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Village Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Village Guesthouse

Property: Garden Village Guesthouse
Address: #434, Sok San Street, | Svaydangkum Commune, Stung Thmey Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 489 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Village is THE place to stay in Siem Reap. Set in lush tropical gardens, round the corner from the night market only 500 meters west of the famous backpacker haven that is Pub Street. A great place to meet friends from all over the world. After exploring Angkor temples relax at our rooftop bar with a great view of the city and sunset. Make the most of a FREE pool table, 50 Cent beer a full variety of Western and Khmer food, Movies, great music and soccer pitch downstairs. Garden village is also close to all the local amenities you may need during your stay. With a great range of rooms ranging from simple $1 dormitories through to $18 deluxe air-conditioned rooms with cable TV and hot water, we can easily accommodate every budget. Our friendly staff are more than happy to help you with your travel needs. Such as visiting Angkor Wat, the floating village, and other surrounding attractions. We also rent bicycles for 1$, organise bus and boat travel to your next destination and any visas. Anything you can think of we will do our best to help! Our beautiful panoramic rooftop Sunset Bar and restaurant offers a wide range of local and Western food with 50 cent ice-cold beers served all day long. Free internet and WiFi in your room, Free pool table upstairs, Movies and great Music. A soccer pitch downstairs. Great range of food starting from $1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Garden Village Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Village Guesthouse And Restaurant
Garden Village Guesthouse & Restaurant Hotel Siem Reap
Garden Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing