We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Village Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Village Guesthouse
Ranked #67 of 499 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Meh.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Didnt expect too much out of the hostel in the first place. Stayed three nights in the double room with ensuite and a fan. Bathroom was small, no windows in the room and lock hardly worked! Room can easily get broken into so leave your valuables in the safe. Make sure you book tours for angkor wat and floating village (kampong phluk) with the hostel instead of trying to get a deal with the tuk tuk yourself! Tuk tuk drivers will most likely rip you off! You can also haggle the price with the tour attendee when you book :)

Room Tip: You can have a look at the rooms before confirming your booking on the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melmel93_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    177
    91
    55
    62
See reviews for
13
114
196
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surin, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have no complaints. I would stay here again. I stayed 4 nights in the $1 dorm rooms. It's not really a dorm room as much as beds in a hallway but its by far the cheapest place to stay in siem reap. If you can handle rustic life and are a deep sleeper this is the way to go. The bathroom are a bit dirty but they work. The hotel has a variety of rooms to choose from. And an awesome rooftop bar. There is also computers with free internet available. (2 in the lobby, 2 in the rooftop bar). This hotel is a 4 minute walk from the center of town, pub street and the night markets. Great Location! The staff are super nice and helpful!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a typical budget backpacker spot to pop in for a night or two on your way to Angkor Wat. They have dollar beds and cheap food in their restaurant. My travel buddy and I only stayed 2 nights and paid 6 dollars each. There was loud construction at 6 in the morning outside our room. We didn't find the rooms comfortable enough for the value and left soon after. We found another hostel in town at only a dollar more per person.

Our room only had a bed, slightly smelly towel and blanket that may have been clean. Tons of travelers are in the common spaces to chat with and its a pretty close hop to center. I would not choose this place again but I can see why people head there. I know they have $1 beds in a common space for budget travelers with simple mosquito nets in open air. Pretty good deal if it suites you.

Room Tip: Check the room before you buy. Pay as you go and see how it suites you day by day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

The first room they took me to was nice enough but in the highest floor of the furthest building that was seemingly empty and took forever to get to. I asked to see something closer and they took me to another decent enough room, which I accepted. For once I forgot to check the toilets. Oops.
Since it had been raining you have to trek down a muddy path behind some bungalows to two stalls that im sure have never been cleaned (or even visited by staff) due to the state of disrepair. The sink was broken, the toilets don't flush, the shower heads aren't attached to the wall and the spiders and geckos seemed to have a wonderful hideout in there.

But to be fair I visited a third building on the property where friends were staying and their bathroom was much better.

So perhaps they were just giving me the runaround to accept a not-so-nice rooming situation for the same price everyone else is paying. It worked, but that being said its also likely the cheapest place in Siem Reap, so I can't complain too much.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillTheCannuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleamike
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Garden Village in the 3 dollar fan room and was quite happy with my stay. It's a mattress on the floor and mosquito net. Period. But the room itself was constructed of bamboo and rattan and I found it funky and atmospheric. The room kind of shakes when people walk by but can't have it all. The common bathroom was always pretty clean as were my sheets and towel. Staff and family were always friendly. Met a lot of cool people there. I have no complaints about the place whatsoever and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights as a base for seeing the Angkor temples and it was fun, friendly and good value. There were a lot of young backpackers staying, probably on their gap years, so if this isn't your scene head somewhere else... I was about 10 years too old if I'm honest!
The staff were lovely. We paid $11 p/n for a big twin room (they didn't have any doubles so we pushed the beds together!) with A/C and an en suite bathroom with hot shower and western toilet. Towels and loo-roll provided.
There was no storage in the room, which was a bit annoying as everything just went on the floor. They also didn't come to clean the room during our stay, so it got a bit grubby and one night we had a minor insect infestation.
The guesthouse includes a restaurant and bar with really cheap drinks, free pool table, two computers with free WiFi (there are another three in reception and we even managed to pick up the connection in our room), and a free jukebox with loads of music.
The food was good: breakfasts weren't included in the price of the room but were fine (decent muesli, baguettes and Khmer tea; don't bother with the coffee!); their Khmer and Western food options for lunch and dinner were tasty with big portions.
This is a good place to stay if you just need somewhere half decent and friendly while you're exploring Siem Reap and the temples.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bunnydarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We booked a twin room with a fan and shared bathroom which was $2 each. You certainly get what you pay for...
The room was filthy, had no ceiling on it (only the roof rafters covered in spiders), the sheets has blood on, there was a small drain running through the room from the shared bathroom right next to one of the bed and electricity plugs, the bathroom clearly hadnt been cleaned in days and the bins were overflowing with rubbish.. To top it off, the walls were made from bamboo sheets so combined with having no roof, meant you could hear every little noise being made on your floor.
The grounds of the site were covered in burnt remains and rubble, not sure if they're building anything but it certainly didn't look like it.
They tried making us pay for our room twice so make sure you keep the receipt once you pay!
The only redeeming feature is that the roof top bar is a nice place to meet people, really cheap food and drink.
One our main note, the hotel is down quite a dark alley which is a 5 minute walk from any lit area. The tuktuk drivers all seem to be corrupt... There was 1 who was obviously friendly with the guest house. Without wanting to go into much detail, we had to pay him to leave us alone after the cornered us after dark in the alley and made quite agressive comments.
After a completely sleepless night, we left as soon as possible.
My friend and I have travelled over Asia a lot and have never stayed anywhere as dirty and never been physically scared for our safety until this.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susiemars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.9 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#23 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Van Song  Villa
Van Song Villa
#118 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropical Breeze Guest House
Tropical Breeze Guest House
#106 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
#10 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
#4 of 248 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#9 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Village Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Village Guesthouse

Property: Garden Village Guesthouse
Address: #434, Sok San Street, | Svaydangkum Commune, Stung Thmey Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 499 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Village is THE place to stay in Siem Reap. Set in lush tropical gardens, round the corner from the night market only 500 meters west of the famous backpacker haven that is Pub Street. A great place to meet friends from all over the world. After exploring Angkor temples relax at our rooftop bar with a great view of the city and sunset. Make the most of a FREE pool table, 50 Cent beer a full variety of Western and Khmer food, Movies, great music and soccer pitch downstairs. Garden village is also close to all the local amenities you may need during your stay. With a great range of rooms ranging from simple $1 dormitories through to $18 deluxe air-conditioned rooms with cable TV and hot water, we can easily accommodate every budget. Our friendly staff are more than happy to help you with your travel needs. Such as visiting Angkor Wat, the floating village, and other surrounding attractions. We also rent bicycles for 1$, organise bus and boat travel to your next destination and any visas. Anything you can think of we will do our best to help! Our beautiful panoramic rooftop Sunset Bar and restaurant offers a wide range of local and Western food with 50 cent ice-cold beers served all day long. Free internet and WiFi in your room, Free pool table upstairs, Movies and great Music. A soccer pitch downstairs. Great range of food starting from $1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Garden Village Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Village Guesthouse And Restaurant
Garden Village Guesthouse & Restaurant Hotel Siem Reap
Garden Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing