We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs more customer focus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angkor Holiday Hotel
Ranked #183 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Needs more customer focus”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour so the hotel was selected for us and so can't comment on the price. In principle it should be a good choice, but was let down by a few factors. on the good side, the room was clean and spacious. The location is good - far enough from Pub Street and the Old Market area to be undisturbed by the noise, but quite walkable (or a $1 tuk tuk)
However, the WiFi signal was too weak and variable, and although there were 2 computers in the lobby the cable connection was loose so the Internet connection kept dropping just as i was completing my on-line check-in.
The hotel had also chosen to hold its staff party 10 days ahead of Khmer new year - in the swimming pool area right below my window. This meant that the pool was closed in the afternoon when we returned from walking round the Angkor temples in 40 degrees +, and I was kept awake until almost midnight the day before I had a 24 hour journey home. No problem with treating the staff - but surprised they took over a customer facility to do it. This specific issue is unlikely to re-occur (at least until next year!) - but it indicates a need to understand customer expectations - after all why pay 4 star prices for a noisy hotel with no pool and no WiFi?

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenAnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    281
    104
    32
    17
See reviews for
74
157
51
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

------------------------------------------------------- Very good choice for a hotel in Siem Reap. It is built in colonial style, we stayed all evening after dinner in the nice pool, we had massages, breakfast was served beside the pool, very nice and friendly people work there. We had no problems at all, we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mimosa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a Cambodia short stay, the hotel was lovely and in a great location for exploring Siem Reap and visiting the local restaurants. It felt safe when walking out at night, there was bars and supermarkets close by. Would stay here again if re-visiting this area.

Room Tip: Even the back of the hotel did not have such a bad outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent four nights here. We paid $50.00 per night, on Agoda, which we thought was excellent value.

Yes, there were many tour groups coming and going but they weren't staying in our room!

Breakfast: great selection. Not a lot of western food but you are in ASIA!

Hotel clean, superior room huge, quiet, great airconditioning, safe. Pool clean. Two computers available for guests in the lobby. Free. Wifi was available. No problems there!

What else do you want?

We enjoyed one full day at the Temples. That was sufficient for us. Personally, two full days in Siem Reap would have sufficed. We wished we had spent an extra day in Phnom Penh.

Don't forget to go to the Museum. It's excellent. Good to see this display prior to heading off to the Temples if you aren't sure what Angkor Wat is all about! It opened earlier than the 9am we saw advertised somewhere.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the Superior Room. It's huge!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiwi1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is highly recommended because I got more than what I paid for. Location is right beside the mainstreet but the outisde noise cannot be heard inside the room. My room is huge with a nice view of the city. The breakfast spread is very generous and the staff is very friendly. What more can I ask for? Nothing. I will go back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank kikoiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I do not understand the negative comments regarding the hotel--we have stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and we don't have anything bad to say about it.
- The staff were friendly and helpful.
- Security is also pretty good (compared to one horrible hotel in Kep).
- It is only a few minutes walk to pub street, night market and the Artisan Angkor, and the temples
- Breakfast was okay -- a little crowded before 8:30 am but after that you will have the whole place to yourself as most people would have already left
- the rooms we were in were spacious -- De luxe twin and deluxe king (We didn't realise that we have confirmed a twin bed with our travel agent so the next morning we asked whether we could transfer to a double and we were able to arrange that without trouble)

:)

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FritzieMinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed for three nights in mid Februrary. Good location easy to get anywhere in town with lots of
tuk tuks around and easy walk to most parts of town.

Free wifi is available and it worked pretty well within my room. The room itself was large but the lighting was very poor. We had to keep the clothes in one section since we couldn't see in the others. Bathroom shower is layed out very poorly - no place to hold the soap or shampoo except on the tile floor - pretty wierd.

Breakfast was ok with a variety of choices. But when we were here it was very busy and the staff could not handle the crowds - which resulted in a poor experience. Overall, I would not stay here again and would look for a different spot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Angkor Century Resort & Spa
Angkor Century Resort & Spa
#164 of 356 in Siem Reap
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#95 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mekong Angkor Palace Hotel
Mekong Angkor Palace Hotel
#149 of 356 in Siem Reap
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal Empire Hotel
Royal Empire Hotel
#148 of 356 in Siem Reap
556 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angkor Riviera Hotel
Angkor Riviera Hotel
#241 of 356 in Siem Reap
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel
Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel
#236 of 356 in Siem Reap
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Holiday Hotel

Property: Angkor Holiday Hotel
Address: Corner Of Sivutha Boulevard and the 6th National Road | National Road No. 6, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Angkor Holiday Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angkor Holiday Hotel conveniently situated at the heart of Siem Reap Commercials & Businesses district with fast & easy access to wide and variety of restaurants and the popular Pub Street. Both world famous Angkor Wat & Siem Reap International Airport are only 10 minutes drive and the Royal Palace is 2 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkor Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angkor Holiday Siem Reap
Hotel Angkor Holiday

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing