We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angkor Holiday Hotel
Ranked #183 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Malang, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great value, great location, great food”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Came to Siem Reap for conference, I stayed in Angkor Holiday for 4 nights in Superior room. This hotel was beyond my expectations, according to the room rates. The location is in the centre of the city, can walk to the Old Market, Night Market, Pub Street, and famous Artisan Angkor in about 10 min. The room is big and clean, and so does the bathroom. The breakfast buffet was good, they served lots of fresh fruits. For Muslims, better to make sure whether the dishes were halal or not. The hotel staffs were very nice and helpful, but except the receptionist, most of them cant speak English. You will find lots of tuk tuk drivers around the hotel, but do not take tuk tuk that parking on left side of the hotel, they will charge you much higher.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ovi_Sofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    281
    104
    32
    17
See reviews for
74
157
51
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was in Siem Reap from the 9th till 13th Jan, and the one good thing I can comment is that the location is good. It is in the heart of the city, and everything is within walking distance so you do not need to ride a tuk tuk within town. There is an abundance of tuk tuk drivers at your disposal outside of the hotel.

The hotel provides free wifi to its guests, but within my room, the wifi signal is weak and constantly disconnects. There was a period of time where the Internet was down as well, which was frustrating as I needed to do some browsing to find places in Siem Reap.

Breakfast was good, with a wide variety of choice between western and local cuisine. There were few days where I had to go out early about 5am to see the sunrise, so it was possible to pre-arrange packed boxes for breakfast on the night before.

Room facilities were average, but since you would typically spend the whole day out, amenities like the TV were hardly used. The air conditioning was sufficient. Beds were comfortable. Plumbing was terrible, during my stay, we have had inconsistent water heating, one day it was cold water all the way, other days it would be alternating between cold and suddenly boiling hot.. it was quite frustrating. Toiletries could be improved on, toothpaste was not effective.

I would recommend looking for another hotel within the same price range, but if you are not so picky on the items I listed above, it is still a good location to stay at, simply for its convenience to get around Siem Reap town.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericlbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stopped here for a couple of nights at the end of an Exodus trip to Vietnam and Cambodia so we had no choice of hotel. Tuk Tuk rides into town are just a quid for 4, but you can walk it in 15 minutes.

Rooms are clean and well appointed with a comfortable bed and decent shower. What else do you really need after a hard day in the temples?

Breakfast was the usual Vietnamese/Cambodian continental affair with an omlet chef and some hot food but nothing to get excited about.

Staff were good but not too excitable, apart from the door men who scurry to open the front doors before you can get to them, I challenge you to beat them.

Pool was good, clean with towels provided and a nice seating area next to the snooker table. Pool bar was a bit thin, if you order drinks, they have to come from the kitchen and take ages. Paying is worse, they have no change and if you sign, they have to fetch a waiter to do it.

The restraunt does evening meals but we didn't eat there. Other people on our tour did and said it was OK.

The real down side of this place is that there is no bar area. There is a coffee corner in the lobby, but if you order a beer or other drink, it again has to come from the kitchen and takes ages. The seating is very uncomfortable and there is not much of it. You are better off leaving the hotel and finding a comfortable bar down the road or on Pub Street, beer is cheaper here too.

Whilst we were there, I did see the most enormous rat round the corner from the pool bar. It was so big I thought it was a dog at first. it was sniffing round a pile of building material left in a passage way. this was not actually inside the hotel building, just on the grounds but it could access the pool area. I suppose these things are common here but worth keeping your eye on if you have small children. Lots of hand washing is probably a good idea, but you should be doing that anyway in a country like Cambodia.

All in all not a bad hotel but I suspect that there are better in the area, bet they all have rats though?

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor overlooking the pool and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark&Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Following our experience, there are a few things to note that might help other travellers.

Location: It's in the business district which is great because it's about a 10 minute walk away from the backpacker and market hustle and bustle of Pub Street. We liked to walk down there for meals, but appreciated the atmosphere of a more sophisticated hotel.

Fitness Centre: This was a major drawcard for us, but only one of the 5 cardio machines worked and staff could not assist. The pool is lovely though.

Internet: It sells itself as having free wi-fi, but when you get there, hotel info tells you that you must pay. However, I just went up to the front desk and asked for the log in details and they happily gave it to me, no questions asked.

Air-con: The aircon in the room was so loud that it woke me up with a jolt one night. It sounded like a generator starting or something.

Overall, it was a lovely stay. The rooms are clean, large and comfortable and the breakfast was lovely.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 4th floor have a lovely balcony overlooking the pool, but the lift only goes to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel overall is great the staff are friendly. Most parts of the hotel smell like smoke so bringing children here isn't ideal. We accidentally left an ipod touch in the safe and called up but they told us they couldn't find it, although it was expected the hotel didn't make an effort to help trace it. So if u leave belongings behind don't expect to get it back. The location of this hotel is very good, close to markets and pub street.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meld888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and loved most of our time here. The room had a separate lounge room with the most uncomfortable wooden chairs in front of the television but the bed in the separate bedroom was lovely but there was quite a bit of street noise early in the morning being on the main street. The massages at the spa are amazing, open until 10pm every night and extemeley affordable at about US$7 for an hour. Had a foot massage each evening after long days exploring the markets and a couple of full body massages which were the best on our trip through Cambodia & Vietnam. Short and interesting 15 minute walk to the markets & night markets & and only a couple of US dollars for a tuk-tuk if you're too tired to walk back. Tuk-tuks available right outside hotel door. Convienence store across the road with an interesting array of products as well as the basics. The staff were friendly and efficient and the pool area with bar and billiard table was great for relaxing in the afternoons. Included breakfast was ok but not great and had dinner in the restaurant one night which was adequete but not impressive but there are are amazing restaurants with meals for under US$10 within a 10 minute walk or US$2 tuk-tuk ride so not really a problem.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the main street- I would ask for one towards the back of the hotel to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed her in October 2012 for 4 nights and found this a good hotel due especially to its location. 20 minute walk to market area; day and night markets, 1 minute walk to small convenience store and 3 minute walk to a shopping mall/centre with great supermarket in it.
Excellent breakfasts.
Unfortunately this was the only hotel in Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia that we stayed in that did not have free WIFI :-( and to pay for WIFI was expensive.
Price for beer on restaurant menu list does NOT include 15% tax or about 5% service chargs; again the only hotel or restaurant on our whole tour that charged these extras :-(
No lift to 4th floor?!?!?!? but rooms, especially the corner ones were very good. All rooms on 4th floor appear to have balconies but the corner ones are shared with room next door.
Generally a good hotel though and friendly staff although not many understand english.

Tuk Tuk drivers outside hotel excellent, friendly and good value.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have balcony and appear better rooms, but no lift to 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyUK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Angkor Century Resort & Spa
Angkor Century Resort & Spa
#164 of 356 in Siem Reap
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#95 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mekong Angkor Palace Hotel
Mekong Angkor Palace Hotel
#149 of 356 in Siem Reap
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal Empire Hotel
Royal Empire Hotel
#148 of 356 in Siem Reap
556 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angkor Riviera Hotel
Angkor Riviera Hotel
#241 of 356 in Siem Reap
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel
Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel
#236 of 356 in Siem Reap
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Holiday Hotel

Property: Angkor Holiday Hotel
Address: Corner Of Sivutha Boulevard and the 6th National Road | National Road No. 6, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Angkor Holiday Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angkor Holiday Hotel conveniently situated at the heart of Siem Reap Commercials & Businesses district with fast & easy access to wide and variety of restaurants and the popular Pub Street. Both world famous Angkor Wat & Siem Reap International Airport are only 10 minutes drive and the Royal Palace is 2 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkor Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angkor Holiday Siem Reap
Hotel Angkor Holiday

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing