We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and refreshing pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steung Siemreap Hotel
Ranked #101 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent location and refreshing pool”
Reviewed March 26, 2010

I highly recommend this hotel in Siem Reap. It was clean, had good customer service, a very good breakfast (both Western and Asian dishes), and a nice historic feel (and yet the rooms were quite modern and comfortable). This hotel is located just off the main strip of Siem Reap, which means it was quiet but about a two minute walk to the main restaurants and market. A great combination. The pool absolutely saved us from the incredible heat of Cambodia in March. I guess it did have a bit of an odd smell near the drains, but I think that's just what you get with pools. We could not care less. Our daily siestas at the hotel powered our temple tours. Our hotel was included in the price of our tour through Soluy Loeurt ([--]), whom I give the highest possible recommendation. She is incredibly knowledgeable, speaks outstanding English, is super personable and helpful, and has a true passion for the Angkor temples. Plus her tours (and thus the Steung Siem Reap) are very, very affordable.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infiknitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    400
    107
    26
    13
See reviews for
164
343
103
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Initially dismissed this hotel in favour of the bigger ones. However as we didn't want to walk too far or "tuk tuk" into the town centre" every time after a full day's touring our Siem Reap Tour Agent recommended it as the most centrally located hotel in a very quiet side street.
It could not have been a better choice. We had a deluxe double room on the 3rd floor in the main block on the front of the hotel.
For its class, this hotel was excellent in every respect. The staff were so friendly courteous and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and good, and the swimming pool was immaculately clean, tidy and very refreshing.
It met our requirements 100%.
Couldn't fault it, and would stay there again if ever in Siem Reap again.
Would recommend going for a deluxe room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

I have been working in hotels for twenty years now and I would say this hoel took me by surprise.....Great location, ten minutes to the temples by taxi, right within walking distance to the shops, pubs and restaurants. At the same time as it is tucked away on a side street it is quiet. Ask for a deluxe rooms since they have balconies. People make Cambodia worth visiting as well. They have been to hell and back but yet are innocent, hardworking, eager to please, warm friendly and smiling. Service at the hotel is fantastic.
If u require a taxi email Menlihap at [--] He was very good andf helpful. Re the temples battle with sleep to reach Angkor early to see the sunrise and stay back to explore the temples before breakfast as later it gets very hot.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nina827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C., USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

This is a lovely little hotel, in the French colonial tradition, located in the center of town. Not a luxury hotel, but very comfortable with a beautiful pool and generous breakfast. Highly recommended if you are visiting the Angkor Wat sites. We had two rooms overlooking the pool. http://www.steungsiemreaphotel.com/

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in December 2009 and we couldn't be happier with the hotel. The service was fantastic, the breakfast was good and nothing beats the location. Only a few moments walk to the Central market, a few minutes to the night market and to restaurants and bars. We weill definitely stay here again. Only negative was the 'business centre' - the computers were very slow and mostly didn't work at all. We loved Siem Reap and having a great hotel made our experience that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tassiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

The Steung Siem Reap is a great central hotel in Siem Reap. The rooms are well equipped and very clean. The staff are very welcoming. Ideal for Bar Street and restaurants but tucked away so that it is very quiet.

Also had the sevices of a local guide - Sophanna Muon - who was excellent. He can be found at www.explorreangkorwat.com

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violinconcertono3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Our experience with the Steung Siemreap was pretty good overall. Pickup at the airport was quick and easy, though the driver did pitch himself as a guide for the next day and guilted us a bit when we turned him down (we already had another one booked). Arrival and check-in at the hotel was painless if slow, and we were able to grab some cash (US dollars are used) from one of the two ATMS a few minutes walk from the property.

The room itself was clean and comfortable. The A/C worked well, but was noisy at night. The balcony is gorgeous, and the blinds/shutters do a great job of blocking out all the light.

Breakfast was included in our room rate, and was an American-style buffet. Nothing special here, but edible and enough quantity to fuel your days exploring Angkor Wat.

The hotel was helpful in arranging a guide and tuk-tuk driver for a half-day visit - price was negotiable and reasonable from what we saw.

The best thing about the hotel is its location: a one-minute walk to the Old Market, two minutes to Pub Street, a block from a grocery store, and within sight of lots of transportation: you couldn't ask for a more central spot.

In the end, our visit was good and went smoothly, and we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandering_Canadian07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#108 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#68 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Terrasse des Elephants
Terrasse des Elephants
#176 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#10 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ta Prohm Hotel
Ta Prohm Hotel
#163 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steung Siemreap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steung Siemreap Hotel

Property: Steung Siemreap Hotel
Address: Street 9, Mondul I, Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#68 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#74 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Steung Siemreap Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steung Siemreap Hotel is one of the few remaining historical buildings in Siem Reap strongly constructed by the rich heritage of Khmer Culture blended with French Architecture. The Hotel has its own unique theme with Khmer handmade furniture located in the French Colonial block. More importantly, the hotel construction dated back to its origin in 1930s since French colonial era. With its 76 beautiful, elegant and charming rooms decorated and furnished with Khmer Handmade products along with our modern hotel facilities and services, Steung Siemreap Hotel extended our Khmer hospitality to make your stay in Siem Reap enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Steung Siemreap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Steung Siemreap
Steung Siemreap Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing