We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
Ranked #96 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I picked the Steung Siem Reap based on reviews on TripAdvisor that raved about the service. I guess times have changed. The promised airport pickup never showed up. The promised adjoining rooms (my parents were traveling with us) weren't available. They wouldn't give us (family of four) a second room key. (I had confirmed the airport pickup and adjoining rooms by email with hotel staff a few days before our stay.) I was also disappointed that even though we booked three months in advance, instead of the rooms overlooking the very nice courtyard pool, we were placed across the street in their second building, with a view of an alley complete with stray cats eating garbage. That also meant crossing a moderately busy street to get to breakfast or the pool.
The driver of the van we hired at the airport to take us into town said all the hotels in town were booked and construction can't keep up, so I guess they have little incentive to try to distinguish themselves with good service. I think it's a crap shoot.
The rooms and breakfast were solid three stars, no more. Clean, adequate, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 920 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

The staff, without exception were fantastic – helpful, friendly and with a great sense of humour. We were put in the older part of the hotel on the opposite side of the road so apart from the dining area for breakfast and the swimming pool, we cannot really comment on. Suffice it to say, the breakfast was traditional Asian/European buffet to a high standard and the omelets cooked by the chef were divine.

Our room was large (204) with a small balcony which, unfortunately, we didn’t make full use of because as soon as we opened the doors in flew the insects and mozzies. But it wasn’t a problem because with the shutters and doors closed it kept the room cool and the lighting was more than adequate, even in the bathroom where lighting is often a problem over the mirror area. The bed was large, firm but comfortable. There was free fast wi-fi, TV with all channels including CNN and BBC world news. Tea making facilities were a welcome bonus. The furniture had plenty of work space if needed and the fridge kept all the water bottles chilled.

There were two downsides – the main one being the water was scaldingly hot and even though we mentioned it to reception by day 3 the water was still exactly the same. The shower was probably one of the best (force wise) showers we have ever encountered but the wall support only has one direction and that is straight towards the opposite wall and door, so we had to shower “by hand”. On one of our attempts to shower we splattered water on the floor which then became very slippery – beware. None of the plugs worked to a satisfactory level and the overall condition of the furniture was tired and in need of updating. A lot of it needed repairing, including the loo flushing system which was half missing. Would we recommend this hotel to other people – a definite yes, it is very convenient to the town centre but quiet enough so that it doesn’t impede on sleep quality and with a little bit of TLC it could be great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CasaSulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Worst hotel we stayed at in three weeks touring S E Asia.
Bathrooms not clean, filthy shower curtain, broken shower holder, sink without plug.
Breakfast room table cloths stained two days running.
Lobby floor could do with a good scrub.
Overall feeling of neglect suggests this place might be for sale?
At $110 for a "deluxe" double you can do much better in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidLennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed 3 nights. The service was excellent. Room were spacious and clean. The room came with breakfast which was great. The hotel staff packed our breakfast the morning of the sunrise at Angkor Wat. Very close to Pub St.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulSan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great rooms and service. We stayed for 4 nights, the food was excellent and so was staff. Our room's AC broke down the first night, and as soon as we mentioned it, they changed our room to one with a working AC. Very happy with them. We went as a group of 7 and enjoyed our stay. Nice and close to the market and pub street.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRBray123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

First, I would just like to thank Yorn, the General Manager, for all his help from the time of booking, to organizing a shuttle to and from the airport, and all other inquires in between.

The hotel is perfect in every way, my only complaint, and it's not the hotels fault, is the noise coming from Pub Street, it goes real late in the morning. Ask for a room facing the pool and the noise may not be an issue for you.

Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in February 2014. A great location, within walking distance of pub street and the night market. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are well appointed but I would highly re come d an upgraded room so that you are looking at a wall or worse. Breakfast was good. Pool area is nice but it need so more lounge chairs.

Highly recommend taking a tuk tuk for the tour tour of Angkor wat, a much better way to see everything and only $15.

Played golf at booyoung it was nice, played at Angkor very nice.

Room Tip: Pick the a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ace0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#71 of 361 in Siem Reap
434 reviews
0.0 mi away
1920 Hotel
1920 Hotel
#63 of 361 in Siem Reap
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#127 of 361 in Siem Reap
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#14 of 361 in Siem Reap
819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#93 of 361 in Siem Reap
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel

Address: Street 9, Mondul I, Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#67 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#72 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $45 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel is one of the few remaining historical buildings in Siem Reap strongly constructed by the rich heritage of Khmer Culture blended with French Architecture. The Hotel has its own unique theme with Khmer handmade furniture located in the French Colonial block. More importantly, the hotel construction dated back to its origin in 1930s since French colonial era. With its 76 beautiful, elegant and charming rooms decorated and furnished with Khmer Handmade products along with our modern hotel facilities and services, Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel extended our Khmer hospitality to make your stay in Siem Reap enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Steung Siemreap
Steung Siemreap Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing