We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but some major faults”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
Ranked #102 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a top location as it is only about 50m from the old market and pub street where all of the restaurants and cafes are. There are some faults though firstly the air conditioning. As they only give you one room card, throughout the day the room gets too hot and too unbearable to stay in though having said that there is a solution. Stick the hotel business card in the power slot and the room gets very cool throughout the day. Secondly the Internet access is extremely poor as most the time you can't get access to the Internet. The rooms are nice but some minor decoration in the room would be nice as in the room I was staying in had a long trail of damp down the wall. The hotel has a prime hotel but I'm sure there's nicer hotels in the same area to stay in.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 930 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

On arrival we found that half of the hotel (across the road) was being redecorated and we were unable to access the internet - minor detail. There was no external phone service and we had to pay for a call to confirm our airport transfer, made from reception. The staff member who greeted us was helpful and showed us around - sadly we didn't see her again - the rest seemed disinterested. The room was lovely - at the front so we had two balconies - double glazing was great for keeping road noise out. The bathroom was a bit dodgy with a plug mechanism that wasn't properly attached so it didn't work and the hot water was scalding in the shower - with taps going a way we weren't used to that was a burning lesson.
Breakfast was adequate but staff scarce. The pool was in a private location but didn't smell too fresh - kept our heads out!
The location was excellent with a 2 minute walk to the old markets, many restaurants and Pub St - the best feature of this hotel.
Each bed only had one quite flat pillow, we were told we could only have one more (between 2) managed to convince the house keeper to give us another $1 well spent!
Maybe when it's fully operational it may be better but disappointing after every other hotel we stayed in in Vietnam and Cambodia.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Nice hotel, pleasant staff, great location - small supermarket in one direction and Pub Street / cafes / markets in the other.
We had a very early start one morning to visit the temples, and the hotel provided a breakfast box. On the other mornings the breakfast were very good.
Our bath/shower fitting stopped working and they later told us they'd fixed it, but hadn't. They couldn't fail to notice there was no water!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldandrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We arrived and filled in the necessary paperwork only to be told that they could not honour the booking for two rooms and we had to stay elsewhere. The place they offered was less than that was booked and further away. Maybe staying only one night meant we were not valued customers.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank VickiC190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Exactly a year ago, we enjoyed a wonderful honeymoon vacation in Southeast Asia. After visiting friends in Singapore and savoring massages in Bali, we moved on to see the temples of Angkor Wat in Cambodia. There we had a great stay at affordable Steung Siem Reap Hotel quite near the Old Market in Siem Reap. Such genuinely warm and caring service staff in a refurbished classic Khmer French colonial style hotel with a charming refreshing pool, quality breakfast offerings and menu fare! Our visit to experience the temples of Angkor Wat was superbly managed by English-speaking guide Chamnan Chhor (tel. +85512786723, email: chhorchamnan@hotmail.com). There's always more to see. We will definitely come back, stay there and call on him again.

Room Tip: Book early by Internet for great rates. The Colonial suite is unforgettable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricDerrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I found the inability to open our bedroom windows infuriating, but not all rooms are like that. Stayed in a double room and they annoyingly pushed together two beds in the middle of the room making it difficult to navigate, and there is still a large gap between the beds so it is not a double bed. Light switches in inconvenient places etc. The buffet breakfast is easily the worst I've seen around the world. But despite these apparent complaints the room is fine by Cambodian standards. The location is good, there's a pool and nice decor downstairs. They don't speak much English but if you have no major issues you'll barely notice. It's cute and I'd recommend it for anyone who needs somewhere to be personally vouched for.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacMBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at the Steung Siem Reap Hotel for 4 days 3 nights in June. The hotel is in a very convenient location within walking distance of restaurants, pub street, night market, laundry. The room was clean, the sheets & towels were not pristine white but were neat. Free wifi worked fine. Breakfast in the hotel had a good mix of local + western food. Wish they had more local dishes. Service at the hotel doesnt exist. They check you in & the rest is left to you. I had a broken lock on my door & I asked 3 times for it to be replaced but the 'engineer' could not get it repaired. Thankfully there was a latch on the door which worked fine. Staff are friendly. My opinion is great value for money for the independent minded traveller who isnt needy with a lot of requests.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnuJayAdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#74 of 374 in Siem Reap
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#135 of 374 in Siem Reap
566 reviews
0 mi away
1920 Hotel
1920 Hotel
#48 of 374 in Siem Reap
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand River Angkor Hotel
Grand River Angkor Hotel
#90 of 374 in Siem Reap
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheathata Suites Hotel
Cheathata Suites Hotel
#60 of 374 in Siem Reap
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#100 of 374 in Siem Reap
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel

Address: Street 9, Mondul I, Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#67 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#79 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $50 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel is one of the few remaining historical buildings in Siem Reap strongly constructed by the rich heritage of Khmer Culture blended with French Architecture. The Hotel has its own unique theme with Khmer handmade furniture located in the French Colonial block. More importantly, the hotel construction dated back to its origin in 1930s since French colonial era. With its 76 beautiful, elegant and charming rooms decorated and furnished with Khmer Handmade products along with our modern hotel facilities and services, Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel extended our Khmer hospitality to make your stay in Siem Reap enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Steung Siemreap
Steung Siemreap Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing