We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steung Siemreap Hotel
Ranked #101 of 340 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel dates from the 1930s. It is very nice and well appointed. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. There are two pools – one which is very much in the shade if you want to avoid the sun but it is smaller. Our room opened out onto the terrace of the larger pool which was very convenient for dip in the evening after a long day in the sun. The only real drawback was the toilet – it seems to have been refurbished but the shower area is completely untiled and thus not very inviting. The shower itself was good – good water pressure.
The location was perfect – within walking distance of all the major attractions in the city – the Royal Palace, the cremation site of Prince Sihanouk, the Museum and the water front with all the restaurants. The Hotel also has a good spa where a 30% discount was on offer for visitors on the first hour of any treatment.

I would rate this hotel above average but certainly not very good. Since their is no option between average and very good I am rating it as average.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the property with the swimming pool if enjoy an evening cool down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chitranganie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    398
    107
    26
    13
See reviews for
163
343
103
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is very convenient for all the delights of Siem Reap but managed to provide quiet comfortable and cool rooms when the heat outside gets too much! It is a little bit frayed at the edges but has lovely friendly staff and a good pool to cool off in. The breakfast service was sometimes a bit chaotic, but we never went hungry!

The air con was a bit noisy - but not really a problem especially if you have been enjoying the exceeding cheap drinks available in the nearby bars!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to Siem Reap and we has spotted this Hotel during our 1st trip where it is just located behind the city. This is a nice hotel with big rooms and friendly reception. We booked a deluxe room and we found that the air-cond was not working well. The housekeeping was very attentive and tried hard to remedy the situation but being late in the night (we checked in late), nothing much could be done and without hesitation, they immediately changed us to another room and we found that the new room was actually a suite!! at no extra cost when we checked out. This is excellent service!! I do agree that the restaurant serving breakfast is small and unable to cater for a big crowd but the staff opened up the swimming pool area for us to sit. Another plus point! Of course staying in a suite, the housekeeping is extraordinary. Everything is abundant with clean sheets; towels; blankets;etc..

Room Tip: Requests for rooms facing the swimming pool, then they will not face the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owlyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while seeing the temples. The room was clean and comfortable with a well stocked bathroom and working AC. The pool was really nice too, and not crowded at all. Most importantly, this location was excellent. We walked a few blocks to the pub streets, no rickshaws needed.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I spent two nights at this hotel while visiting Angkor Wat. The room I stayed in was quiet, clean, and comfortable, and the staff was very attentive. The breakfast buffer was plentiful, and the staff prepared a light take out breakfast on request for the day I went to see the sunrise at the temples. The hotel also has a pool, which looked clean and refreshing.
The hotel is located just near the old market and Pub Street, and ideal location for eating out.
I would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mth_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. It was about a 15-minute drive from the airport. We had a room with a balcony in the new building facing the street. The room was big and you wouldn't hear any noise from the street because of the thick walls. Location is excellent. Just turn right and you will see the sign to Pub St. and the Old Market. Lots of good and nice things going on around this hotel.

Staff were very friendly and charming. They all speak good English so communication was not a problem.

The swimming pool was small and I don't know why the water was salty so we didn't stay long.

Breakfast was okay as we were not big eaters.

Would love to stay in this hotel if we go back to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonypet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I were so glad we stayed at the Steung Siemreap Hotel for 4 nights in early January, 2013. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and well-airconditioned and quiet, the breakfast was good, and the hotel location was great--1/2 block from the old market and many restaurants, 1/2 block from the river, next to a Buddhist temple. We liked the little balcony. We didn't use the pool, but it looked great.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor in the front and our room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#105 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#67 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Terrasse des Elephants
Terrasse des Elephants
#179 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#11 of 340 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ta Prohm Hotel
Ta Prohm Hotel
#163 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steung Siemreap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steung Siemreap Hotel

Property: Steung Siemreap Hotel
Address: Street 9, Mondul I, Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#68 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#75 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Steung Siemreap Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steung Siemreap Hotel is one of the few remaining historical buildings in Siem Reap strongly constructed by the rich heritage of Khmer Culture blended with French Architecture. The Hotel has its own unique theme with Khmer handmade furniture located in the French Colonial block. More importantly, the hotel construction dated back to its origin in 1930s since French colonial era. With its 76 beautiful, elegant and charming rooms decorated and furnished with Khmer Handmade products along with our modern hotel facilities and services, Steung Siemreap Hotel extended our Khmer hospitality to make your stay in Siem Reap enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Steung Siemreap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Steung Siemreap
Steung Siemreap Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing