We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Siem Reap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
Ranked #95 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just finished a wonderful vacation in this hotel. The location couldn't be bettered. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. We were in the Colonnial Suite in the old part of the hotel and it was really spacious and had everything we could possibly have needed. Have read in previous reviews that it was not so good being across the road from the main building but we didn't find this a problem at all. The swimming pool was perfect. Only drawback was sometimes a lack of free loungers. There was space to add a few more and this would be a benefit. All in all a great hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynneMcNab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteungSiemreapHotel, Public Relations Manager at Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Lynne and Gordon Mcnab,

A great day from Siem Reap to you !

We are really glad to hear from you and we believe that you are now happily at home. We would like to thank you for your valuable time to share your wonderful experiences with us this time. Your kind sharing experiences, it could help us to strengthen more of our services being provided in the future. Thank you.

We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back one day at Steung Siemreap Hotel.

Wishes you all the best,

Phoeung C. Mony
Steung Siemreap Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 921 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

I accidentally left my credit cards and ID card at the hotel, which was a huge problem as I needed them to get back into Hong Kong and I was staying on the coast for only 48 hours. Despite being over 500 km apart, in a country where travel can be relatively slow, the hotel got them back to me in just over 24 hours, which was an heroic feat.
As a hotel, it's location can't be beaten, literally yards from the market and Bar Street, so a great option for staying in the thick of things in Siem Reap. The deluxe room we were in was large and spacious, and had everything we needed. A good hotel in a great location, and one I would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarreninHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteungSiemreapHotel, Public Relations Manager at Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Mr. Darren Bolten,

A very warmest greeting from Steung Siemreap Hotel !

Thousand thanks for taking of your valuable time to express your impression over Steung Siemreap Hotel. It is our indeed pleasure to have this great time to welcome and serve you at lovely hotel. Regarding with your case, we are delighted to inform you that we always do our best to respond back to our guests as soon as possible whenever we know where you or they are. We promise with you we will keep this wonderful experience to provide to all our valuable guests. However, your kind expression towards us, it would help us to learn more in order to develop our services in the future. Thank you.

We wish you and your family have a wonderful trip forever and arrive back home safely always.

With best regards,

Phoeung C. Mony, Mr.
Steung Siemreap Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel for five nights. I found the hotel conveniently located next to tourist center of the town. The room was big and clean. The bathroom was also very nice with a bath tub. There was a min-fridge in the room. However, except for two free water bottles, all drinks were overpriced around 2 US dollars. So, I actually bought some coke cans for 40 cents and water for 50 cents in the nearby super market. The hotel pool appeared decent and I found many guests using it. The morning breakfast was pretty good. But, it got boring eating the same stuff for five days.

Overall, my whole family enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TVReddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteungSiemreapHotel, Public Relations Manager at Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Mr. Reddy,

We believe that you and your family is happily at home so far!

First and foremost, we would like to take this great opportunity to express our sincerest appreciation and heartfelt thank you for your kind selected our Steung Siemreap Hotel for your best affordable accommodation during your present here in Siem Reap, Angkor Wat, Cambodia. As per your impression towards your stay, we strongly believe that you were really enjoying so much of your trip this time and indeed our services. We hope that we could have another chance to welcome you again one day at our Lovely Steung Siemreap Hotel.

With many thanks and regards,

Phoeung C. Mony Mr.
Steung Siemreap Hotel - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Siem Reap has a lot of accommodation. From what I could see the unusual/useful thing about this is that it is in the centre of the town (which is quite villagey), unlike lots of others on the fringes. This means you can walk to lots of eating places. People staying in the outskirts will need to get a tuk tuk or cab, as beyond a point there aren't pavements as such. However some may prefer further out, as there are some popular bars near this hotel, so it's not the quietest location. There are two buildings - original and modern. The modern one has been very sympathetically done i.e. is a replica of the old one (across the road). They had automatically allocated us a room in the new building, but we asked for on old one, on the basis of previous reviews saying they had more character. I'm not sue that's true because the old building must have been refitted 10 or so years ago. So what you are getting is slightly tired bathroom, noisy aircon etc. Given the choice again I would try the new building. There is also a swimming pool in the new one which you could walk to from your room in your robe. Breakfast was good for the class of hotel and includes an omelette chef. The staff were nice especially Senat on reception, although the boys were generally slightly clueless/lacking in English. This is perhaps a function of the level of poverty and education in the area. Overall it was a nice base to explore the temples. They also do a free airport drop off (but not pick up).

Room Tip: I think the new building probably has less AC noise and also direct access to the pool
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Iris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteungSiemreapHotel, Public Relations Manager at Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Ms. Iris13,

Warmest greeting from Steung Siemreap Hotel !

First and foremost, we would like to take this great opportunity to express our sincerest appreciation and heartfelt thank you for your kind selected our Steung Siemreap Hotel for your best affordable accommodation during your present here in Siem Reap, Angkor Wat, Cambodia and your time to show your impression over our hotel. Your enthusiastic and interested have demonstrated a very warm welcome and led us paying more attention with our services being provided at the moment in order to provide you a memorable experience one during stay.

We learnt that even you meet up with our little thing inconvenience to you but we strongly believe that you were really enjoying so much with your wonderful trip this time. We promised with you to bring this case up to our management attention in order to improve our services. We look forward to welcoming and serving you again at our Steung Siemreap Hotel (New Wing). Thank you.

With many thanks and regards,

Phoeung C. Mony Mr.
Steung Siemreap Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were warmly welcomed by the reception staff and shown to large comfy rooms. Free fast wifi. The pool is lovely, clean and well serviced by staff. The front desk staff were amazing and very helpful with everything from arranging guides and transport through to great tips on shopping and attractions. The location of this hotel is amazing...central to everything. Breakfast is included in the cost of a room and we found it to be excellent. We wished we had booked to stay longer.

Room Tip: If possible, Get a room in the building where the reception is, and one overlooking the pool and tem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHG_CJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteungSiemreapHotel, Public Relations Manager at Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Valued guests,

A warmest greeting from Steung Siemreap Hotel !

We would like to take this great opportunity to express our sincerest appreciation and heartfelt thank you for your kind selected our Steung Siemreap Hotel for your best affordable accommodation during your present here in Siem Reap, Angkor Wat, Cambodia and your wonderful reviews. We are really more than happy to hear that you have met your expectation during this trip.

We would like wish you a wonderful trip forever. Have a nice journey back home !

Phoeung C. Mony, Mr.
Steung Siemreap Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel was a really good choice as it was in the heart of the city a short stroll down the road to the markets and tuk tuks. We were picked up at the airport by the hotel driver who we then hired for two days for our temple tours. He sourced a guide for us at very short notice as we. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was big with twin big beds and a lot of room to move. Although the room overlooked the monks temple next door this was not an issue. The airconditioning was great as we have had some places where it was not effective in the humidity.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and this was perfect for us. Saw the sunrise but it was not direct into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteungSiemreapHotel, Public Relations Manager at Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Cheryl,

Warmest greeting from Steung Siemreap Hotel!

We would like to take this great opportunity to express our sincerest appreciation and heartfelt thank you for your kind selected our Steung Siemreap Hotel for your best affordable accommodation during your present here in Siem Reap, Angkor Wat, Cambodia. We have learnt that you were really enjoying of your trip so much this time and your wonderful time indeed at our hotel. We wish you have met up with this experiences forever.

Have a wonderful trip back home!

We are looking forward to welcoming and serving you again one day at Steung Siemreap Hotel.

Phoeung C. Mony, Mr.
Steung Siemreap Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel has been wonderful to stay in. The staff are pleasant and friendly, as soon as we arrived we were greeted with welcome drink and they turned the arrival area airconditioning on for us. We were given tour of hotel by host and our bags delivered to rooms. Breakfast is ok, they have a smaller choice selection than what i am used to in other asian countries. The chef cooking madeto order eggs made an omlete for me which is delicious and a must have at breakfast.
Our room is comfortable. Beds were twin configuration (my request) and are quite large, but not as big as a double bed. Hotel is next to where the monks are and some mornibgs were woken by their chanting, but its quite therapeutic.
Short walk to pub street, old market area, and across bridge to new night markets. Tuk tuks stationed outside hotel or just up road near old market (very short walk).
Would stay here again for its great location.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kteish85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteungSiemreapHotel, Public Relations Manager at Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

Warmest greeting from Steung Siemreap Hotel!

We would like to take this great opportunity to express our sincerest appreciation and heartfelt thank you for your time sharing a review and your kind selected our Steung Siemreap Hotel for your best affordable accommodation during your present here in Siem Reap, Angkor Wat, Cambodia.

We strongly believe that you were really enjoying so much with your trip and our services provided. We will look for more ways to improve our services in the future in order to provide you a more than comfortable one. Thank you.

We look forward to welcoming and serving you again one day at Steung Siemreap Hotel.

Phoeung C. Mony, Mr.
Steung Siemreap Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#72 of 361 in Siem Reap
434 reviews
0.0 mi away
1920 Hotel
1920 Hotel
#63 of 361 in Siem Reap
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#127 of 361 in Siem Reap
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#13 of 361 in Siem Reap
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#91 of 361 in Siem Reap
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel

Address: Street 9, Mondul I, Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#67 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#72 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $45 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel is one of the few remaining historical buildings in Siem Reap strongly constructed by the rich heritage of Khmer Culture blended with French Architecture. The Hotel has its own unique theme with Khmer handmade furniture located in the French Colonial block. More importantly, the hotel construction dated back to its origin in 1930s since French colonial era. With its 76 beautiful, elegant and charming rooms decorated and furnished with Khmer Handmade products along with our modern hotel facilities and services, Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel extended our Khmer hospitality to make your stay in Siem Reap enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Steung Siemreap
Steung Siemreap Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing