We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
Ranked #102 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2007

After a month of SE Asia travel, I ended my trip with four nights here. Incredibly comfortable, large clean room, large clean bathroom, TV with several channels to choose from in English (as well as many other languages), coffee/tee and hot water pot, refrigerator, complimentary bottled water each day. Service was terrific - warm, friendly. Breakfast is included and very good, breakfast room very comfortable. Pool is very clean and pretty. Location is just on the edge of the Old Market area, perfect because the just outside the hotel it is very quiet, and you only need to walk 1 block to be in the heart of the Old Market, shops, restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sarebearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 750 of 930 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2007

Eventhough I chose this hotel based on reviews from this TripAdvisor site, I was still abit doubtful when I am going into the hotel. The front entrance of the hotel and lobby was not very grand simply because the size of the hotel was not as great as many other hotels I saw on the way from airport during my arrival. But after checking into the room, I realised the space was rather big and adequate, with all the standard amenities available that you would expect for a 4-5 star hotel. Toilet looked clean and spacious, with no smell (as some older hotels I've been have some musky-smelled toilets even if its 5-star rated). Nice balcony overlooking the street. I think the best compliment this hotel shall get is that the location was perfect! You simply dont really need transport for going out shopping and eating because the popular "European Street" where all the fance restaurants are is just a street away from the hotel. There are also the Old Market where you can purchase souviniers and other goods for your visit just behind the hotel. So simply saying, you really dont need to worry about transportation. The only down side I can say about this hotel is that it is separated into 2 blocks, in which I was staying in the block opposite and have to cross the street every morning for breakfast and when I go swimming as well.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank ah_leng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

When we were forced to move out of the Shinta Mani boutique hotel (due to massive construction and renovation) and find another hotel at the last minute, we wound up at the Steung Siem Reap on the advice of our local guide.

The hotel staff welcomed us with open arms, and we loved every minute we spent at the hotel. The AC was remarkably good, and the rooms were comfortable, large, and chilly. We spend many happy afternoons bobbing around in the gracious saltwater pool, which gave us the perfect break from the mid-summer Cambodian heat.

Breakfast, included with our rooms, was an adequate buffet of eggs, bacon, sausages (cut to look like flowers!), breads, and toast.

Avoid the restaurant for other meals, as the food is usually reheated from frozen materials and can be really horrible. Instead, take best advantage of this hotel's fantastic location and walk to Red Piano or any of several other fantastic restaurants just two blocks away.

You'll love your stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank MadeByMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vyrayuth, General Manager at Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2007

Dear Sir/Madam,

It is with my great pleasure to thank you personaly on your good comment to our Steung Siemreap Hotel.

Your kind feedback is so important to our management team to improve more service and standard at our hotel.

We appreciated and thank you once again for staying with our hotel.

Kind regards
Philip Toh
General Manager
gm@steungsiemreaphotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

I have just returned from Cambodia and was staying in Steung Siem Reap Hotel... I have nothing but praises for the hotel and just have to give the staff credit for our fabulous stay there.

Like some other reviews, Mr Philip and Mr Kyden were excellent in their service and also loved their attitude. They are always so concern about our stay and will always spend a minute or two just to check with us on our stay in Cambodia.

All other hotel staff, from the restaurant, receptionist and housekeeping staff were all very friendly and always wears a smile on their face (Singapore hotels can learn from them)

Rooms are nice and clean, with more than 80 cable channels!(though they can improve by updating the TV menu provided - the menu does not match the channels....)

Location is conveniantly near to pub street, old market place, centre market and night market (what else can we ask for!!!) though near, the surroundings are quiet and peaceful.

Will not stay anywhere else if I were to visit Siem Reap again!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank ywy517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2007

My stay at the Steung Siem Reap Hotel was fabulous. The two day managers, Mr. Philip Toh and Mr. Kyden San did everything they could to make me comfortable and I really appreciated it. Although most of the staff couldn't answer my questions about their native land and attractions, they were really, really lovely gentle, pleasant people. The only person I didn't quite take to was the night manager.

The room had everything I needed and more - in-room safe, free water bottles daily, cable, bathtub. There were some minor bathroom issues, (cleaners should have done a better job, provided new bottles of bath and shampoo liquids rather than used ones, and a squeak in the bathroom fan could have been fixed) but aside from that the rest of the room was well-kept. Double glazed doors kept the noise and mosquitoes out.

The location was absolutely ideal. It truly could not have been any better - I could walk to pub street every evening. In the day I would walk to the old market and even central market. I suspect I could have walked to the night market.

If ever I went back to Siem Reap, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JustRenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2007

My room in the new block was large, clean, new, everything worked, the bed was comfortable, a good sized bathroom, towelling robes. Generous buffet breakfast included, with Western or Asian food. Breakfast room and a nice pool are a few steps across the road in the old block. The hotel is very conveniently located in a quiet street just a minute from many restaurants, shops, and the old market.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank RossE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2007

I stayed at this hotel as part of my honeymoon. We were picked up from the airport and driven straight there. The staff were always friendly and smiling. We stayed in the new building, which is only a few months old. The rooms are in great condition, clean and a good size. All the rooms have a balcony and looks like an old French building. The hotel is in a great location only a couple of minutes walk to Bar Street, the market and all the restaurants. There are not many hotels with this good of a location. There are plenty of tuk-tuk's in the street to take you to the temples. We hired a driver for the day for US$10. I would recommened seeing the temples this way, they are spread out around the park and when you are in the middle of a hot Cambodian day you don't want to be riding a bike or walking around.

We loved our stay at the Steung Siem Reap and would reccomened it to anyone. It is not over priced conpared to some of the other hotels around and it is a great hotel with great service.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank phiphigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#74 of 374 in Siem Reap
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#135 of 374 in Siem Reap
565 reviews
0 mi away
1920 Hotel
1920 Hotel
#48 of 374 in Siem Reap
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand River Angkor Hotel
Grand River Angkor Hotel
#90 of 374 in Siem Reap
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheathata Suites Hotel
Cheathata Suites Hotel
#60 of 374 in Siem Reap
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#100 of 374 in Siem Reap
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel

Address: Street 9, Mondul I, Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#67 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#79 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $50 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel is one of the few remaining historical buildings in Siem Reap strongly constructed by the rich heritage of Khmer Culture blended with French Architecture. The Hotel has its own unique theme with Khmer handmade furniture located in the French Colonial block. More importantly, the hotel construction dated back to its origin in 1930s since French colonial era. With its 76 beautiful, elegant and charming rooms decorated and furnished with Khmer Handmade products along with our modern hotel facilities and services, Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel extended our Khmer hospitality to make your stay in Siem Reap enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Steung Siemreap
Steung Siemreap Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing