We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, quiet location but close to town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Villa Siem Reap
Ranked #89 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I really felt at home during my stay at The Villa! Upon landing at Siem Reap Airport my companions and I were surprised that they had already arranged a tuk-tuk driver to pick us up. When we arrived at the hotel, we were welcomed with cold towels and drinks. I was also able to consult with one of the staff regarding our itinerary and he gladly made suggestions and helped us arrange our schedule and transportation for our 4-night stay. They provided us with a tuk-tuk driver, Jeer (?) for our trips to Tonle Sap and around the city ($15/day), and a car ($50 w/ guide---his name was Soo (?)) for our trips to the temples.

However, there was some confusion with our itinerary during our last day: we missed the sunset at Phnom Bakheng on our 2nd day, and one of the staff assured that we could go up the temple at 5 PM for free the next day, knowing that we only availed of a one-day pass. We turned up at the Angkor Wat ticket booth on our last day at 4:30 PM only to find out that we had to wait until 5:30 PM before we were allowed to proceed to Phnom Bakheng. Perhaps we should've verified his claim before actually making plans, but as a staff member we expected him to be sure of his facts. Anyway, I suggest you do your own research before following anybody's advice; I think the language barrier can get in the way!

Despite that misunderstanding, I was really pleased with their service. Though it's a bit more expensive than other hotels in the area, we were able to get our money's worth!

+ The staff were EXTREMELY friendly and accommodating---no question about that. We felt so spoiled.

+ The location is fantastic---it's nestled in a quiet neighborhood, but it's a short walk away from convenience stores and small cafes.

+ It's also easy to walk to some of the city's interesting spots (come on, you need the exercise after binging on Khmer food): it's 700 meters away from Pub Street, where you can find the best restaurants and bars in the city, and about 800 meters away from the Old Market, the Siem Reap Night Art Market (great for souvenirs!) and the Angkor Night Market.

+ We stayed in a triple room on the second floor, which had a shower heater, a vanity table with a big mirror, a small fridge, VERY cozy queen and twin beds, and a split-type air-conditioner. We had no problems with mosquitos. The bathroom was a bit elevated compared to the rest of the room, which was quite odd. We had to place a towel near the door to prevent water from seeping out. It was a minor setback, though.

+ The WiFi wasn't very fast, but it allowed me to do simple tasks, download apps and browse through social media. If you don't have a portable device, they have a PC at the lobby.

+ The breakfast was okay. I tried their beef noodles once, but the meat was quite hard, so I settled for bacon and eggs, which was much better. The lady at the restaurant was very friendly! She was always smiling at the guests, which I really appreciated.

+ I wasn't able to swim in the pool, but I did get to check out the area: the pool is quite small, but the poolside beds looked quaint and cozy, and they had free WiFi in the area.

Will I stay here again? Definitely! Thanks for making our first time in Cambodia absolutely enjoyable, The Villa!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyssp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 876 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was the last stop on our recent trip to Thailand and Cambodia, stopping here during the 2nd week of November. We wanted to stay close enough to downtown that we could walk there, and our daughter had stayed here about 4 years ago and recommended it. The location was excellent, only a 5 minute walk from the night market or Pub Street. The hotel was clean, and the room spacious. As previously mentioned, the bed was firm, but quite comfortable. I slept well all three nights. The staff was warm and very friendly. They were happy to accommodate our requests and helpful when we had questions. The restaurant has a small breakfast menu, and all food is prepared when ordered, it's not a buffet. So it does take 5 - 10 minutes to prepare the food, not unreasonable. Oh, the banana pancake with fresh fruit was outstanding, and the omelet was good too. The pool (a new addition since my daughter's stay) was cool and inviting. It was wonderful on a hot muggy afternoon. We did not take advantage of the hotel's guide service offering as we had arranged a guide service prior to our departure.

Our stay at the Villa Siem Reap was wonderful and rewarding. The experience of exploring Angkor and only some of its many ruins was incredible, and overwhelming. It is an experience not to be missed. The people of Siem Reap and Cambodia could not be friendlier or more welcoming. Staying at the Villa certainly was also an experience I would not want to have missed. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here in the last week of Sept 2013 and found the location very convenient to the center of the tourist part of town. A 5 - 10 min walk to pub street and the markets. the rooms were clean and comfortable and large enough not to feel cramped. beds were firm yest comfortable. The staff were friendly and attentive and always greeted you with a smile. Our breakfast at the hotel was fresh and arrived in about 5 min from ordering. The breakfast menu was a little limited though. We ate out at restaurants in town most nights so cant comment here. the pool was clean and a good size it was a welcom way to finish a day. We did have some noisy neighbours at one stage however after two nights of this management asked them to move on. We were most appreciative. Also the Villa have their own generator so is not affected like other Guest Houses when Siem Reaps power goes out. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: our room was on the shaded side of the building which I think made is slightly more comfortable howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davtha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The rooms are big and nice. It's clean. The pool is pretty nice, it feels good to rest there during the afternoon when it's too hot outside!!

People are kind and help you for anything you ask for. They help you plan your visits and tours.

And by the way, it's a really nice place and not so expensive, so it's really worth it!!

Thank you :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MarieEtDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Visiting again Siem Reap i'ved booked the hotel villa siem reap in the internet.The tuk tuk driver Mr. Veasna i met at the airport bring me to this small boutique hotel near the night market. Very nice, friendly and polite staff were waiting for me and gave me a very proper support by check in and explaining the hotel facilities. The room was big, clean with big bed, safe AC , minibar and next to the beautiful saltwater swimmingpool. The room was cleaned up everyday and the amaneties in the bathroom were filled up everyday and all guests were asked the days of their stay if everything is ok or if they need any support or help.The breakfast was tasty, enough and well decorated. Although the manager Mr. Sochea Pen was around everyday and talking to guests and helping whereever its needed. Bikes and tours are to book easily at the receptiondesk.
All in all i'ved hab a wunderful stay in this little boutique hotel in the middle of crowdy surrounding but really quiet and relaxed inside the restaurant , at the pool and in the room. I would like to recommend it and i will be back as soon as possible.Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank similan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel was great, staff easily set up our tours for us and helped us plan, the rooms were massive and well kept, breakfast was plentiful

No issues

Only thing stopping a 5 star is the pool was not ready when we were there, but looks like that has changed from the pics

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Whenever I look for a place to stay specially outside the country, I usually rely on
recommendation of friends and trip advisor reviews. Yes. Im one of those who researches, asks and nitty on details. Hehe. :)

The Villa was recommended to me, my friend spent their honeymoon w/ them and they said nothing but good things about them. Since Im not going on a honeymoon, opted for the lots of luxury package instead.

From day zero til our last day, I have nothing negative to say to The Villa's team. Phollin, the manager is a good trouble shooter, in short he is a great manager. The staff are knowledgeable, give inputs, available and always SMILING. You need those smiles after a long day w/ the temples. They're also attentive, honest and apologizes if they don't understand something. I value those qualities in a staff. Pholli, Smile and the other girl (sorry I didn't catch your name) are very nice and accommodating. Our dear Pholli who is always present for ideas. Haha. :) Mr. Lang, our tuktuk driver is always on time. Im fond of one staff in their dining area, I'll call her Ate (since I can't say or spell her name correctly) made everyday's morning breakfast worthwhile. Breakfast is YUMMY and servings are just right.

Our room is clean and well kept. Nice white sheets and good smelling bathroom. Hot shower & A/C are working perfectly well.

Too bad I didn't try the pool due to lack of time, but It sure looks nice. They can also arrange tours, bike rental, and bus ticket for you. All you have to do is ask if its possible. Our flight arrived in wee hours of the night, and Pholli was there, accommodated us eagerly. If you want a stress free stay in Siem Reap, stay in The Villa. :)

Their location is walking distance to resto, pharmacy, convenience store, mall, pub street, and the market. Its a bed and breakfast, but their services are almost at par to a big hotel.

អរគុណច្រើន :)

Room Tip: Get the room in the second floor. Near the balcony. :) I like how the sun gets inside the room as na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank online_dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#45 of 365 in Siem Reap
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#96 of 365 in Siem Reap
1,448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#153 of 365 in Siem Reap
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tanei Boutique Villa
Tanei Boutique Villa
#139 of 365 in Siem Reap
589 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#147 of 365 in Siem Reap
515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 20th Street
Hotel 20th Street
#126 of 365 in Siem Reap
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Siem Reap

Address: 153 Ta Phul Rd | Svaydangkum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#41 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $23 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Villa Siem Reap 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Siem Reap offers the best central location, fantastic rooms, and the best service in Siem Reap. Information is available on touring the best of Siem Reaps temples and other attractions. All rooms have AC,HW,Safe,Mini Bar and Satelite TV. The Villa looks forward to welcoming you and being part of your Siem Reap adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Villa Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Siem Reap Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing