We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RUN FAST in the OPPOSITE DIRECTION” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Angkorland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Angkorland Hotel
Ranked #275 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“RUN FAST in the OPPOSITE DIRECTION”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Where to begin? Think about your worst hotel experience, multiply it by 120 and you have the New Angkorland Hotel. You would be better camping on the streets than staying here.

We travelled to Siem Reap for a weekend with a group of 6 people. The organization we were with rented us 3 rooms for two nights. Upon arriving from the airport the taxi driver informed us that this was not a good hotel to stay in. We didn't think much about it until he left and we checked in. First red-flag: we were required to pay upfront. We were taken to our rooms which were scattered throughout the hotel. One of the rooms had a broken window and no ac. The second room was stuffy with powerful smell of cigarettes and tequila, the sheets were dirty, bugs splattered on the walls and the ac did not work. The third room was dirty but at least the ac worked. The staff was rude and unfriendly and didn't seem to care about our complaints. We were eventually able to get two of the three rooms switched but it was not an easy process. It wasn't until we retired for the night when the roaches and bedbugs started coming out. At this point it was too late to switch hotels though we did consider it. We spent the night and left first thing the next morning. There were no apologies. We had to fight to get our money back for the second night. In addition to all of this the pool was disgusting.

Room Tip: If you want a good room choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n2m2s1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    81
    29
    14
    21
See reviews for
40
57
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
1,022 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,364 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This review is quite late. I previously stayed in this hotel and returned after a year. The hotel website shows an impressive hotel building, spacious rooms and lobby, health club, big outdoor pool, restaurant, and a giftshop. Everything looks elegant and we were not disappointed with what we saw when we arrived the hotel. During our first visit we had a bad experience with the reception staff because we were expecting a friend to join us for dinner and when our friend arrived the receptionist sent him away saying we have not checked in. Later, when we asked the reception about this incident they just pretended not to know anything and no apology was offered. Anyhow, we were happy with the hotel facilities but not the customer service.

We decided to make another trip to Siem Reap, again I booked at the New Angkorland Hotel for one night. This time their customer service has changed from bad to worse. At check in time the receptionist was not aware of our confirmed booking with AGODA so it took some time to sort out this problem; definitely not the best way to welcome returning customers! Again, we were waiting for an important call from a family member and it was not handled properly by both the telephone operator and the receptionist. The caller tried a number of times and spent a lot of money for the call but it was impossible to reach us at the hotel because of the incompentence of the staff.

Our request for late check out was not granted although there was not much guests around at that time. In terms of facilities and room rates, the hotel scores high but the lousy and incompetent staff will definitely spoil your holiday. Such a bad experience never again!

Room Tip: Don't bother to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinoytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
319 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 night as part of a tour. On first view of the hotel I thought it was really nice but I was wrong. On the first night when we got back from dinner we discovered that the air-con wasn't working as it was late at night we decided to tell the about it in the morning and just go to bed. We told them in the morning about the air-con and they said they would send somebody up to look at it. We got back to the hotel after a full day touring the temples, and it still didn't work, they then told us there were no free double bed rooms with working air conditioning and we would have to stay in single beds, thankfully we had our guide with us and after he said he would arrange a new hotel, they managed to magically find another room where again, the air conditioning didn't work, then they finally found one with a working air conditioner, this process took quite a few hours, and I would imagine if we weren't on a pre organised tour with a guide we wouldn't have been given a new room. Breakfast was also really average.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Davisy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Siem Reap hotels

Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

What can I say...it's terrible, rooms were dirty, they were never cleaned while we were there. We had to keep asking for towels every day, breakfast was average and the staff were unfriendly. If I had to rate this based on my hotel experience it would get a 0.

Room Tip: Just because it has a pool it looks good....not sure how this place gets a 4 star trip advisor ratin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

A bit old-fashioned, but clean and comfortable rooms. Safety locker was replaced swiftly. Good hot water. They value electricity, so can be a bit dark, but very very safe. We booked the tour package with a Tavel agent, frankly I was horrified with all the reviews I read, even tried to change the hotel, but couldn't. After we reached, though early at 12noon, hardly took 15 minutes to check in. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 413A_d2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

The location is good, everything you need is very close, the night markets and restaurants are a fifteen minute walk, but why would you when a tuk-tuk ride is $2
Breakfast is buffet style and they make great omelettes to order (included). I don't know how many pools you think you need but they have three, that should cover it.
Interesting note: they have 'Crocodile fish' in a pond at the hotel entry, they look pretty cool but are capable of removing fingers! (so I am told).
The rooms were nice enough, A/C good, but if there is a fire on the third floor or above you're in trouble! You can see from across the building the fire stairs are being used as storage for extra chairs, tables, mattresses etc. And they are piled up, you won't get past them in a hurry.
Cambodia has not been ruined by the tourism industry yet, the people are really nice.
The beds were very hard but I've experienced that in every Asian country I've visited so far.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed there in August 2013 and here are a few "highlights" of my stay..

- Booked a Deluxe Room but was only given Superior Room. Was told that's all that was available and they refused to refund the difference in the cost of the rooms (my stay was for 6 nights as well).
- Stayed in first room for 1 night. On the second night I found the bed to be infested with bed bugs. Complained to front desk and finally someone came up to check the room - they had no idea what I was talking about initially (but they didn't seem too surprised when they actually saw all the evidence of bugs on the bed). Was given a new room but the only one available was on ground floor near massage rooms (apparently every other room was taken).
- Found several cockroaches in the new room over the next few days. I squashed them but every day after house cleaning had been the dead cockroaches weren't taken away.
- Room was on ground floor near the carpark so I was woken at 6am every day due to traffic coming in and out.
- Complained to front desk about all the issues - they were totally disinterested and the only offer of compensation was a free transfer to the airport when I left. I only got to speak to the manager after I mentioned leaving a negative review on Trip Advisor (only spoke to the manager by telephone as he wasn't at the hotel for some reason).

Besides this, security seems totally lacking... you have to leave your room key with the front desk when you leave the hotel but there is no ID check when you pick it up - just give your room number and they give you a key. Food at the restaurant wasn't great either.

There are plenty of other hotels in Siem Reap so I recommend going somewhere else if you're looking for somewhere to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room type you've paid for - they will happily downgrade you and refuse to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nzerdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Neak Pean Hotel
Neak Pean Hotel
#295 of 338 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel
Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel
#142 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#120 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ombra Angkor Hotel
Ombra Angkor Hotel
#116 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.9 mi away
Resort La Villa Loti
Resort La Villa Loti
#22 of 249 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Season Square Villa
The Season Square Villa
#318 of 338 in Siem Reap
2.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Angkorland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Angkorland Hotel

Property: New Angkorland Hotel
Address: Taphul Road, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Angkorland Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Angkorland Hotel is located in the heart of Siem Reap and offers rooms with satellite TV. It has an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi and parking and a restaurant. Rooms at the New Angkorland Hotel features hardwood floors and 24-hour room service. Private bathrooms come with bathtub. DVD players are available upon request.Guests can exercise at the hotel’s fitness room or relax in the jacuzzi. The hotel has a business center and a children’s pool. New Angkorland Hotel is a 15-minute drive from the Siem Reap Angkor International Airport. Free airport pick-up is provided upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your New Angkorland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angkorland Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing