We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City River Hotel
Ranked #89 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Northants
1 review
“A great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very pleasantly surprised to find it was far better than the web site had suggested (visually). The staff were very friendly, couldn't do enough for you, great little rooftop pool with free WiFi, free internet in the lobby, good size clean rooms and quite a good little restaurant. There were limitations here and there, English could be tricky with some staff but there is always someone at hand to help. The location is excellent, only 5 minute walk into centre of town. We really enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithHampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    365
    76
    11
    5
See reviews for
106
336
107
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

We had 2 nights, 3 days here and were delighted with what had been just a default choice on our itinerary. Brilliant rooftop pool, a short stroll from the tourist centre, good room, a couple of computers to use (I got all our photos backed up onto memory pens) and the Butterfly Garden restaurant is just round the corner for a pleasant lunch. Very friendly staff too. It's hard to beat Ta Prohm at dawn then a good lunch round the corner folowed by a lazy afternoon round the pool.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 941 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

Pros:
location, location, location!- 5-10 minute walk to Pub street, 5 minutes to a good shopping center (with a Swenson's Ice Cream store & a supermarket) but across the river in a quieter section of town

small safe & refrigerator in room

good bathroom- shower does NOT get floor all wet (they have a bathtub & shower curtain), good counter space

nice table & chairs plus desk in room

internet in room (inconvenient plug location) but not wi-fi

nice rooftop pool- small but perfectly fine, I liked that they asked guests to shower before they used the pool - good hygiene.

all staff extremely nice, maid went running when I asked for more towels- I asked her to slow down- it's too hot to run! She was very sweet also.

we had a dinner of burgers & fries that was good- not excellent but more than adequate & service was good

staff went out of their way to ask how we were enjoying their staff- their service was very good

Cons:
breakfast just fair - eggs were greasy, could use more choices at breakfast- OJ was "tang" & horrible, only cereal was cornflakes & they weren't so great. breakfast needs a big improvement.

AC turned off during the day (when you leave & take the key out) so when you come back to the room it's hot & takes a few hours to cool down. We think guests should be allowed to leave the AC on when they leave. We did not like coming back to a hot room after being at the temples the whole day.

AC does not go below a certain level down- it's OK but I would have liked it a little colder

No AC in the restaurant so it was hot- the fans didn't seem to cool the large room down.

Credit card charged for entire stay upon arrival. I did NOT like this as NO other hotel I have been to all over the world does this & it is NOT good customer service. Every other hotel in the world just takes a credit card imprint upon arrival & I would have no problem doing this. ALL the cheaper hotels we stayed at in SE Asia that did not take credit cards, let us pay upon leaving the hotel- none asked for the money upfront. We think this policy needs to be changed.

For the price we paid, we thought the hotel was very good value & would definitely recommend it. It had all the things we were looking for in a hotel in SR - pool, walking distance to downtown, free internet, AC, breakfast, good security, in room safe,& separate shower that does not get the room all wet. For the amount of time we actually spent in the room, we felt the price was very good & we were happy we chose it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIEMREAPRIVER, Hotel Management at City River Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2010
Thank you for the feedback, Our location central of Siem Reap city easy to reach Old market, Pub street and Night market etc…

Our objective is to provide unforgettable stay to all of our clients and we are always sad when we fail to do so.

In room safe is provided complimentary for all our guest, it a bit small but it very importance to have in room.

Our breakfast is variety choice for all our guest around world who stay with us. We're trying our best to improve this service on the daily basis.

We use key card to control the power in room, when our guest take out the key the power is off except mini bar . If our guest would like to keep our air condition on 24h please dot not take out the key.

Our hotel policy is require all customer to pay room cost upon check in hotel, if customer not confident our service or change travel plan could be pay one night first or two according to the customer request.

Our Palm-Tree was designed like open air restaurant with fan installed for all the guest.

Once again we apology for the inconveniences cause and wish to have the pleasure to welcoming you again in order to erase your unfortunate experience.


Sincerely,


Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

We spent three nights at this hotel and booked it primarily because of the roof top pool. It is very hot in Siem Reap in Feb. and it was great to come back at the end of a day to cool off and have a view over the city. The location is very central with easy walking distance to restaurants and markets.

As far as the room goes it was OK but we had some issues with the in room safe. The buffet breakfast was poorly operated, fruit was not being replenished, staff were less than friendly which is rare in Cambodia! If we had to pay separately for this we would have complained.

Front desk staff were helpful but failed to tell us that our bus they booked for us from Siem Reap to Phnom Penh included a pick up and we had arranged for a tuk-tuk driver to come pick us up. We were very sorry that the tuk-tuk driver was there bright and early without a need for him so we paid him anyway for his trouble.

We were very pleased with the free high speed internet that hotel offered even if some hotel guests misused it by letting their kids play games on it while others waited!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIEMREAPRIVER, Hotel Management at City River Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2010
Thank you for selecting the City River Hotel for your hospitality needs in Siem Reap, because of our roof top swimming pool located on 6th floor and central of Siem Reap city easy to reach Old market, Pub street and Night market etc…

We are very sorry to hear that you have not fully enjoyed your stay with us. Our objective is to provide unforgettable stay to all of our clients and we are always sad when we fail to do so.

In room safe is provided complimentary for all our guest, any issue like forgot password or error could contact our Hotel Supervisor or Hotel manager assist all client with compliment.

Buffet breakfast is variety choice for all our guest around world who stay with us. We're trying our best to improve this service on the daily basis.

Our front desk staff is the person who arrange the transportation to temple, tour guide, bus boat ticket, others information etc… Mr. Sambath sole you two bus ticket on 18 Feb, 2010 wrote down on Voucher as follow Bus ticket SR-PP on 20 Feb, 10 at 08.30am pick up from hotel at 07.30am.

Once again we apology for the inconveniences cause and wish to have the pleasure to welcoming you again in order to erase your unfortunate experience.


Sincerely,


Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

We stayed here for five days in February and loved every minute ,it's so close to Town just a short walk, the roof top pool is great after a hot day there's a Taxi Service right behind the Hotel that's cheap and dependable, and it's only $50.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inaspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

City River Hotel is a great value for your money. It's very clean, the staff is very friendly, the restaurant was good, and the pool was wonderful. We were pleasantly surprised by the placard cards at the airport held by driver's to the hotel which we didn't realize was arranged. The conceirge was very helpful in arranging driver's and tour guides for our excursions, all of whom were very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauranimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

Gd location, walking distance to Old Market & Pub Street. There is a supermart midway between hotel & Old Market, convenient to stock up our water supplies. We took up a package plan for 4D3N (deluxe twin room) for USD$259 (inclusive of transport to/fro airport & within Siem Reap for all 4 days). We were surprised & delighted that the hotel actually arranged for the same car throughout our stay in Siem Reap. We thought only car was provided for airport transfer while within Siem Reap, it will be tuk-tuk. Perhaps it was not the busy season, that's why we were lucky to have a car, we are not sure. Anyway, given the heat, I would recommend the use of car, esp if travelling to faraway sites like Banteay Srei. The room was very clean & room amenities were good. Hotel staff were friendly & polite. The breakfast spread was ok.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldchua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#120 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
#115 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#68 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#78 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa
Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa
#94 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City River Hotel

Property: City River Hotel
Address: 0511, Achasva Street, Wat Bo, Siem Reap 93 171, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#62 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#67 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City River Hotel is beautifully located on the bank of Siem Reap River. Our superb location offers our guests the unique experience of peacefulness in a lively city. We’re just a walking distance away from the ever popular Pub Street and Night Market.The roof-top swimming pool is the only one of its kind in Siem Reap. Guests will enjoy the spectacular views of the city and sunset while sipping away the delicious cocktails on the poolside bar. This experience can only be found exclusively at City River Hotel.Our Deluxe rooms are beautifully decorated with all standard amenities and a balcony overlooking the city. In addition, guests are able to pamper themselves with the traditional Khmer massage at our Massage Center after spending a long day at the wonderful temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your City River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City River Siem Reap
Hotel City River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing