We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Siem Reap Hotel”
Review of City River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City River Hotel
Ranked #92 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful Siem Reap Hotel”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location - on a quiet street, yet a short walk from the markets, Pub Street and restaurants. Rooms are large with comfortable beds and functioning air conditioning (welcome after long hot days of shopping and temple visits). The roof top pool was so refreshing. The staff was friendly and helpful, despite some initial check-in problems with my reservation. The buffet breakfast was excellent with omelettes to order, fresh fruits and noodle soup. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    371
    77
    11
    5
See reviews for
107
340
108
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed 3 nights at the City River hotel in February 2013 in a Deluxe Double room. The check-in process was smooth and we were taken up to our room which was massive! It was also clean, had a balcony and free of insects! The beds are quite hard which didn't bother me personally but may be an issue for others. The restaurant is empty at dinner time but has a decent breakfast buffet selection. The roof-top pool offers a welcome relief from the heat.
The location is really good too. You could walk to Pub st (about 10-15 minutes) or easily catch a $2-$3 tuk tuk ride into town.
Overall this is a 3 star bordering on 4 star hotel. It's great value for money and I will definitely consider staying here if I come back to SR.

Room Tip: Go for Deluxe Double
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amytraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

i love this place for 1) location;3 walking blocks from pub street where all the action, including the market,is. 2) quiet--off the main dusty,noisy,drag where the 4 and 5 star hotels are. you'd need a cab from most of them to get to pub st. 3) lovely rooms,4) great roof-top pool with views, restaurant service and bar!, 5) clean, 6) great staff,7) excellent buffet breakfast gets you ready for the day.8) their green papaya salad was so refreshing and delicious. i had 3 in 3 days. 9) in house massage--pricier than in town but convenience counts after a long hot day at the temples! dont miss angkor thom!!

Room Tip: great views from all directions and all rooms are upstairs. dont think you can miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annecheve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The big plus point for this hotel is its location, close to the very lively heart of Siem Reap but sufficiently far away to provide a quiet retreat when you have had enough of the bars, massages, market stalls and numerous tuk tuk drivers.
The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean, the breakfast good, the staff excellent and the pool and roof bar were good for a sunset swim and "happy hour" cocktail.
We enjoyed our few days here and its early breakfast certainly caters for those needing an early departure for Ankor Wat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthLondonDaveR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After a nightmare situation of having a previous booking be double-booked, I was incredibly grateful to end up here. The rooms are of solid quality - has everything you need. Might be somewhat dated, but you will get a good night's rest and a hot shower.

The location is convenient - just across the river from the main town sites, and the area of damnak itself is quite nice with lots to explore too.

The breakfast buffet is very tasty, with Asian and Western food. The noodle soup is a must!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NY2HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed here for only 1 night on my trip to Siem Reap. I regret I didn't stay longer! The hotel is great. Perfectly located with easy walk to the old market, pub street and many restaurants in the Wat Bo area. The room was neat and the shower had strong water force (which is not a given in many hotels in Siem Reap). The swimming pool looked tempting after a hot day touring Siem Reap, but I didn't get the chance to use it. There were few options for vegetarians at the buffet breakfast, but the staff offered to make vegetarian food for me, which was a nice gesture. Overall, for its price range, City River is a great hotel to stay in Siem Reap. I will definitely consider staying here on my next trip to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Legal_Eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel, really had an enjoyable stay. Hotel staffs are so accomodating especially Mr Paul the Manager. Excellent service, nice room. Really like the adjoining room. My kids loved the pool, we enjoyed the massage. Enjoyed our breakfast and dinner show compliment of the hotel. We will definitely come back. See you soon Mr. Paul, thanks for the gift.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIEMREAPRIVER, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear dan1_10,

Thank you so much for feedback your experience at City River Hotel, Siem Reap, Cambodia.

Our objective is to provide excellent services to guest who selected our hotel as accommodation, our staff are friendly, helpful and smile at all time.

We are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us hope that you will recommend to friends or families for their plan to visit Cambodia.

We’re looking forward to welcome you , friends and families to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Mr.Paul Sokha SRENG
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#121 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
#120 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#68 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#84 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa
Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa
#97 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City River Hotel

Property: City River Hotel
Address: 0511, Achasva Street, Wat Bo, Siem Reap 93 171, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#62 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#67 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City River Hotel is beautifully located on the bank of Siem Reap River. Our superb location offers our guests the unique experience of peacefulness in a lively city. We’re just a walking distance away from the ever popular Pub Street and Night Market.The roof-top swimming pool is the only one of its kind in Siem Reap. Guests will enjoy the spectacular views of the city and sunset while sipping away the delicious cocktails on the poolside bar. This experience can only be found exclusively at City River Hotel.Our Deluxe rooms are beautifully decorated with all standard amenities and a balcony overlooking the city. In addition, guests are able to pamper themselves with the traditional Khmer massage at our Massage Center after spending a long day at the wonderful temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your City River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City River Siem Reap
Hotel City River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing