We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The enduring charm of nostalgia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Angkor Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #65 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The enduring charm of nostalgia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We selected the Royal Angkor Resort from an online booking site and booked for three nights. The choice was really based on the visual representation which reminded me of a distant, more laid-back, relaxed way of life far away from today high strung pushy world we live in. Lots of wood panelling, space, vista's, a large garden and swimming pool in a 5 hectare compound away from the city center did the trick.

We all know Cambodian people are very courteous throughout but at RAR the staff put an extra layer of friendliness and servitude on top of that. No wish is too much, always a big smile and hands together bow in making sure the customer is king.

We asked for a room change (because there is still a road in front so we preferred a pool side room), no problem, arranged in minutes. The room was large, big bed, nice terrace, well working airco, jacuzzi bad, all necessary luxuries there.

The breakfast is well appointed, great food, freshly cooked eggs in every style possible.

The pool and poolside - together with happy hour cocktails - was also very much enjoyed.

And we took 2 massage breaks in our stride (deep tissue massage recommended) as well as the sauna and hamman.

We liked RAR so much that we tried to stay an extra day.
The hotel staff went out of their way to make it work for us, called the airline and all. Unfortunately the flight for the next day was fully booked so we had no choice but to leave on the planned day.

A real pity, an extra day of relaxation in Siem Reap would have been very welcome after all the temple visiting, walking and climbing.

Royal Angkor Resort, a place we will want to come back to.

Thank you Mr. Bun and team ...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    313
    72
    10
    3
See reviews for
200
433
75
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My friend and i stayed at Royal Angkor Resort & Spa recently and we really enjoyed staying there. One of the staff fetched us from the airport and took us back. Upon reaching, we were greeted by the manager and a welcome drinks and cold towels were given. All smiles and greetings from the staffs made us feel so welcome.Our room is very clean and the view from our room was superb.The manager was very forward in asking us if we were unhappy with the room, he will try his level best to accomodate us.That was a kind gesture from him.
Transport to the old market was provided and its free.During our breakfast, we were greeted by staffs on duty and the food served is up to my expectation.
Thank you very much for making our stay a pleasant one!I will always remember the sourvenr you gave us before we left.I will surely recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Najiah77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We purchased a Groupon Voucher for our stay at Royal Angkor Resort and Spa, booking was easy and all subsequent questions were answered in a timely manner.

We found the resort a real treat, the amenities were first class and the staff were all really helpful and ready with a smile. The breakfast was very good, and they packed us a box breakfast for our sunrise tour of Angkor Wat.

Everything is just as pictured on the website which is quite unusual these days. The only fault we found was the shower arrangement, it allowed water to pool in the bathroom. There is construction next to the hotel but it didn't bother us at all.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the pool in the main wing, its quieter than the rooms at the front of the...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank touringmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

A friend and myself stayed at the Royal Angkor Resort & Spa recently and throughly enjoyed the facilities available. On arriving we were welcome by the manager of the hotel, given drinks and towels for refreshment, and they were most welcome.

Then we were taken to our rooms, very nice rooms indeed. The pool was amazing, and so was the healthy centre (gym) and dining facilities.

The hotel has a bus that runs every hour into Siem Reap, which is free, it does drop off and pick up. The hotel staff are amazing, from the managers to every one that works there, truly friendly and helpful.

We stayed at the hotel twice on our trip, we started and finished our tour of Cambodia here, and so glad we did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed at the RAW hotel in September 2012. After seeing all the pictures and reading the reviews I thought there was no way the hotel could be so good for the price we got. I was wrong. I have never written a review before. For anything. I had to just write to le people know what a beautiful hotel the RAW resort and spa is. The staff are ALWAYS friendly, polite and will go the extra mile to attend to your needs and make sure you are happy. The pool area is amazing. Our room was always clean. If I return to siem reap I know where I will be staying!!! The staff made my time in Siem Reap truely memorable.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room overlooking the pool. looks stunning at night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharlene1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Appreciated the extra mile extended by the hotel to guests ie. free airport shuttle, free transport to the downtown, free neck/shoulder massage for 10 minutes. Doorman and Front desk staff always have a ready smile for guests, My daughter had a blast at the jacuzzi inside our room..Our room is clean. Pool is amazing, Over-all, it was a happy experience staying in Royal Angkor Resort and Spa..Definitely, I will recommend to friends considering a vacation in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana May C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed in Royal Angkor for 6 days and I must say I am very happy with the attitude of the staff at the resort. Because we chose to visit Siem Reap during the rainy season, the manager gave us their biggest room.
When my fiance needed a flat pillow, the staff readily looked for one for us so that she could sleep better. And there was the day when my fiance and I came down to breakfast late but the F&B staff kept the breakfast counters open until we have finished our meal before we headed out for the temples.
The staff are always ready to help and they recommended and brought us to a few restaurants that served genuine Khmer food. Thumbs up!

Special mention must be made about Mr Soo-chiew (Frontdesk Manager) who welcomed us and ensured our experience in the Resort was a great one!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel & Spa
Pacific Hotel & Spa
#71 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
3.3 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#61 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
2.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#35 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Angkor Century Resort & Spa
Angkor Century Resort & Spa
#166 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.2 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#90 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#54 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Angkor Resort & Spa

Property: Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Address: Road No.6 Phum Kasekam, Siem Reap 93279, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#40 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Angkor Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Angkor Resort and Spa is conveniently perched along the gateway of some of the most significant archeological sites in SE-Asia, creating the ideal location to explore Cambodia's rich cultural inheritance. Tucked away from the hustle and noise of the city, Royal Angkor Resort is only minutes away from these iconic landmarks, providing unprecedented access to the legendary Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Bayon temples as well as the charming and historic town of Siem Reap. Stretching over two and a half hectares, this iconic Siem Reap hotel is jeweled with a beautiful tropical landscape and decorated with the most remarkable architecture, reminiscent of the early 20th century. From fine dining to traditional rooms and suites, Royal Angkor Resort & Spa combines ancient charm with modern-day leisure, creating the ultimate space to unwind and embrace the magical spirit of Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Royal Angkor Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing