We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cambodia is the new tourist destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #72 of 344 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
SGP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cambodia is the new tourist destination”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed at Royal Angkor Resort from 5-9 Sep. The hotel was really fabulous in terms of bringing the serenity of the place despite being near the busy main road. Amenities are modern and location is great. The resort boasts a huge swimming pool not seen in most hotels in Siem Reap. Staff were helpful and patient when explaining the attractions within and around Angkor Wat. The beds were really comfortable. The breakfast spread was really nice, though I wished more could be done about the flies. On the whole it was a lovely hotel that's really near the airport and main lively spots. Not to mention the free wifi is simply fast speed !

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    316
    73
    11
    3
See reviews for
201
444
76
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The people at Royal Angkor are doing what the Thais have unfortunately forgotten. They treat every customer like a VIP with hospitality of the upmost standards. The propery is elegant. The interior is luxurious with eqsquisite decoration and art. They are currently completing an addition to their main lobby which looks to be fantastic. The swimming pool is beyond belief for a hotel. Nearly Olympic sized in dimensions. The spa is lovely with skilled masseuses. The rooms are comfortable with cozy beds and great balconies overlooking the pool if you request it. The only thing that could use some improving is the dating of the rooms; carpeting, utilities, tv, and furniture could be modernized a bit. The staff went beyond expectations to make sure I was comfortable and well accommodated. The manager even arranged some of my travel for me by helping with bus and plane scheduling. The hotel has a free shuttle from the airport and from the hotel to the entertainment area in town. Highly recommend.
Joel, USA

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohiojoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seoul
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

It was 4nights stay on sep in Royal Angkor Resort & Spa with mom. hotel facilities-spacious room, wide pool, great restaurat are wonderful and the staff are find&well-organized people. especially jaquzzi was wonderful!!! Very boutique decorations surrounded the hotel was gorgeous and lovely@@!! I know it is quite reasonable regarding with 5stars hotel service but i hope to recommend this hotel for family travelers. And,,,, just for your information, i guess major nationality of the hotel would be korea, china, and japan...if u dont to avoid from much asian area, plz find out other one^^

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noisyjessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel. Staff are always courteous & helpful, especially Mr Sochea, the front office manager, who is always seeking feedback if our stay is comfortable. Very thoughful gesture, such as, cookies for supper nightly and bananas as our departure gift just before check out. Hotel is a little far from town, but the free shuttle bus, comes in very handy. Breakfast variety could be improved though. It was indeed a very pleasant stay at this wonderful hotel. We would strongly recommend this hotel to those who travel to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalAngkor, General Manager at Royal Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

I was really pleased to read your review. I was delighted that you enjoyed all of the service and facilities the hotel has to offer. I have past on your kind words to my team here especially Mr. Sokchea our front office manager. He was very happy to hear your comment, and he look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Angkor Resort& Spa in the near future.

Kind regards and many thanks!

General Manager
Royal Angkor Resort& Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Our stay at the Royal Angkor Resort was too short - we only got to spend 2 nights there as we had to return to Singapore to work. Our 3d2n sojourn to Siem Reap and stay at RAR provided a wonderful introduction to Cambodia. With the only exception of surly airport immigrations staff, everyone else we met at Siem reap was friendly and helpful.
Our stay at RAR was perfect due to the following: the staff were wonderful, the breakfast was superb, the pool was large and inviting, the room was clean and comfortable, the jacuzzi bathtub was fun, the air-conditioning was just right, the variety of television channels was good, the faint fragrance of jasmine and soft, lilting traditional Cambodian tunes in the hallways, etc. Everything at the hotel met/exceeded our expectations.
Some suggestions are as follows: Perhaps instant coffee could be provided in addition to the tea sachets, more Cambodian fare could be included in the buffet breakfast, the contact person picking travellers up at the airport could be given proper credentials, and the van used for airport transfers could be emblazoned with the hotel's logo as it can be quite unnerving for first-time travellers to hop onto an unmarked van.
All in all, RAR provided us with a wonderful, recuperative environment which allowed us to rest well and to thoroughly enjoy our visits to the Angkor Wat, Ta Prom, markets, Tonle Sap, etc. Siem reap is lovely and Cambodians are a friendly and genuine people. Thank you for your hospitality. We have great memories and we will be back soon, hopefully :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellersan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

More than the hotel, the staffs are great. The amenities within the hotel is great as well . I would say they should improve the room in particular the smell. Just because the rooms are not airy, when you open the room after spending the whole day out, you get the damp smell. This can be easily fixed. SPA is good. Food is ok. It seems at a time, this hotel is mainly catering to Chinese traveler. But overall, with good staff it is great. I would recommend not to book the tour guides through the hotel as I feel they up price it. Even though in $ terms, it is just $15 more may be, it doesn't seem right. Note that this hotel is away from town which is good for my taste but may not be a preference for others. If you need local info, ask the hotel driver called Mr.Smile. He must the one who would have picked you up from airport. Great guy and lot of information with local food and local people if you are interested to mix .

Room Tip: Get the Pool facing room. They have some great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrlandoAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalAngkor, General Manager at Royal Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

My sincerest thanks for your glowing review of The Royal Angkor Resort& Spa; I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects for your stay especially the service you received from our staffs. They are a true asset to our Resort; and I have passed your kind feedback on to them. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

At Royal Angkor Resort & Spa in Siem Reap, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Your feedback about the room smell, the over price of tour guide service, we will look into it and improving accordingly. We apologize for this inconvenience cause you during your stay with us.

I sincerely hope that I have the pleasure to personally welcome you again at Royal Angkor Resort& Spa on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We spend three nights in this hotel, the rooms where quite large, very clean, with wooden floors and heavy wooden forniture.
The staff was extremely friendly, this can be a problem because sometimes they do not speak almost English but act like they understand everything.
So maybe you have booked a guide and a private car and appears a tuctuc with no guide.
It is one of the hotels that is further from the city,so it is necessary to provide extra transport to go to town for dinner and |or come back, the free bus shutell is only available each 2 hours and ends at 8.00 PM

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#71 of 344 in Siem Reap
1,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel & Spa
Pacific Hotel & Spa
#83 of 344 in Siem Reap
518 reviews
2.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#39 of 344 in Siem Reap
4,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
#146 of 344 in Siem Reap
407 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
2.1 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#73 of 344 in Siem Reap
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Angkor Resort & Spa

Property: Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Address: Road No.6 Phum Kasekam, Siem Reap 93279, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#40 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#58 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#59 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Angkor Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Angkor Resort and Spa is conveniently perched along the gateway of some of the most significant archeological sites in SE-Asia, creating the ideal location to explore Cambodia's rich cultural inheritance. Tucked away from the hustle and noise of the city, Royal Angkor Resort is only minutes away from these iconic landmarks, providing unprecedented access to the legendary Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Bayon temples as well as the charming and historic town of Siem Reap. Stretching over two and a half hectares, this iconic Siem Reap hotel is jeweled with a beautiful tropical landscape and decorated with the most remarkable architecture, reminiscent of the early 20th century. From fine dining to traditional rooms and suites, Royal Angkor Resort & Spa combines ancient charm with modern-day leisure, creating the ultimate space to unwind and embrace the magical spirit of Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Royal Angkor Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing