We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet location but please get shower curtain!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freedom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Freedom Hotel
Ranked #311 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Vancouver
Level Contributor
146 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Quiet location but please get shower curtain!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Lovely balcony though too many bugs & too hot to really sit outside, was 40 degrees in May. Please get shower curtain! Bathroom got completely soaked when shower used. Across river from town so had to pay $4 each time we wanted a tuk-tuk to town. Siem Reap is a blast, lots of markets, bars, coffee houses (Blue Pumpkin rocks ice cream!), very interesting & cheap happy hours, friendly helpful people.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liltravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    70
    56
    18
    23
See reviews for
10
59
24
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alberta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed 3 nights, rooms and entire hotel very dated. WiFi worked quite well in our room on 3rd floor but very poorly for the other 10 in our group. The toilet did not work very well, had to report this two times. Water is complimentary however it was hardly ever left in room, I had to go and ask the front desk. Laundry service is reasonably priced, however clothing was missing, however a very nice lady at the desk waived the cost of the service because of it.
Encountered a rather rude middle aged man at the front desk not sure if he is the manager, my husband had to intervene and confront him, then his attitude changed a little. Would not stay here again. Pool is nice, in this very hot humid climate in May. Having stayed here with Intrepid tour, I can't figure out why they continue to use this facility as there must be better choices.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is such a thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crossdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights.
On arriving our toilet was not working, we had to call staff to come and fix it.
The wifi on arriving was only letting a few people per floor use it and when you tried to logging in it would come up with access denied or allocation exhausted - very frustrating when you are told free in room wifi. The hotel did fix the issue the next day.
We had breakfast included, nothing special at all!! Only a few things to choose from. My boyfriend bit into his pancake and there were ants feasting in there!! Disgusting!
The hotel addressed the issue by cooking fresh pancakes.
The pool was good and refreshing after a long day at Angkor.
Location - slightly out if the way but you can get a tuk tuk to pub street or night market for $3usd one way.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ambowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Clean and safe air conditioned hotel. Excellent free wi-fi. USD accepted throughout Siem Reap, as is Thai Baht and pounds.. ATMs provide local currency from UK bank debit cards. Good base for adventures. Tuk-Tuks widely available for quick, cheap but unsafe looking transport. Suitable for singles, couples and friends. It didn't seem to attract families.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here for several nights as part of an Intrepid Tour. I'd have to presume they survive off this guaranteed patronage as they make very little effort to try and maintain a reasonable standard.

The hotel and rooms are tired - certainly seen better days. The air-con in our room seemed to maintain a balmy 30 degrees despite setting it as low as possible. The bathroom is interesting - a huge tub set out from the wall to ensure a wet inaccessible area that can't possibly be cleaned. The whole bathroom smelt like urine and wasn't particularly clean - our toilet didn't appear to have been done before we moved in. The towels smelt and the bed linen was stained.

The restaurant for breakfast was okay - nothing special.

On the positive side, the staff were friendly and helpful. Washing was done for a very reasonable USD$2/kg by the hotel.

The location is a short tuk tuk ride out of the centre of Siem Reap - probably a plus as we got to see a different side of it. There is a local market a short walk away which is worth a look - but beware pick pockets.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston_BrisVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Siem Reap hotels

Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I ask you, is there anything more important than clean bed sheets and a working shower for a hotel room? These, in my opinion, are a priority...or should be for ANY hotel! We checked in late in the day and when we inspected our room, found the bedsheets to appear unclean - hair, stains, wrinkled. They were unable to change them that night and did not have another room available until the next day so the front desk supplied clean sheets to place on top and we slept that way. Now the shower- there was no warm/hot water and the shower/tub did not drain. The air-con was very weak. So, the next day we asked for another room. The front desk staff showed us 2-3 more rooms- all with dirty sheets- some more obvious than others (hair, dried liquid on them, stains, etc) and acknowledged that they were unacceptable. The last room had a working shower and air-con so they had housekeeping come and put clean bedding on while we were there. We stayed here as part of an Intrepid tour and the the guide told us that this happens at this hotel sometimes...what?! And they are still using this property???

Negative Things:
1. DIRTY SHEETS - beware, they may not have changed them from the last occupant!
2. Check shower and air conditioning- neither may work (others had to change rooms also)
3. Laundry when returned is kept on the chairs in the lobby where anyone could walk off with them.
4. Staff seemed rather sour about our complaints.
5. Hotel is NOT within walking distance of the town, undesirable location - must take a taxi or tuk tuk
6. May be noisy at night

Positive Things:
1) The adjoining restaurant was quite good - both food and service
2) Nice pool area

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Location: The hotel is located approximately 6km from the centre of town and the infamous 'Pub Street'. I think this is a good thing because it means there's no noise to wake you up at night. In saying this, it only costs $3USD to get a tuk tuk into town and if you share it with others it works out to be $1USD and less than 10 minutes ride.

Rooms: The room was decent and relatively clean featuring two double beds, a great working bar fridge (which is important when it's over 40 degrees outside), a relatively clean bathroom and free drinking water each day. The room itself serves only as a place to sleep so effort is not put into decor or ambience. What you'll get is a clean white bed, good airconditioning in an average sized room. While we were here we stayed on the 4th floor which seems to be the best floor reserved for foreign visitors. While I was in the lift one time there was a stop made on the lower floors and from a brief glimpse it looked a lot more delapidated and had more locals wandering around.

Price: This hotel was booked as part of a group tour so I can't comment on the value or the price of the hotel.

Things to consider: The hotel has a pool in the back which is handy to deal with the heat. When we were there it was quiet and not many people were using it but it did have lounges and umbrellas that you can relax by which is nice. Breakfast was generally good which included eggs, asian noodles, rice, toast, bacon and pancakes. The hotel doesn't like to cook too much so on several occasions they ran out of food. The breakfast location serves as a restaurant during the day in which you can purchase lunch and dinner from with a reasonable price.

Overall, Freedom Hotel was a decent stay. There is not much within walking distance but tuk tuks are so cheap and breezy to ride that it didn't cause a problem for us. There was always a tuk tuk or taxi waiting outside the front of the hotel so you won't have a problem finding a ride. The Old Market was also located within 10 minutes of the hotel by tuk tuk as well where you can find souvenirs and gifts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor, it seems to be where the best rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnhNguyen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.1 mi away
Neak Pean Hotel
Neak Pean Hotel
#297 of 339 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.0 mi away
Monoreach Angkor Hotel
Monoreach Angkor Hotel
#308 of 339 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
#122 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ta Prohm Hotel
Ta Prohm Hotel
#155 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Empire Hotel
Royal Empire Hotel
#134 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lucky Angkor Hotel
Lucky Angkor Hotel
#194 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Hotel

Property: Freedom Hotel
Address: National Road No.6 | Banteay Chas, Salakamroeurk, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Freedom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Freedom Hotel is dedicated to making your stay an experience to remember and cherish. At Freedom Hotel our goal is to offer warm and friendly hospitality, as you will find when you stay with us! We are friendly, informal and flexible.We are the perfect hotel for singles, couples and families to feel at home. We combine the values of a luxurious bygone era with modern amenities and facilities to ensure your stay is peaceful, relaxing and memorable.We offer helpful advice on what to see and do, and assist you with flight confirmations and arrangements for onward travel. The hotel is located in the center of Siem Reap, allowing easy access to the Grand Temples of Angkor and other magnificent sightseeing pleasures in this land of wonders. Banks, shops and postal services are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Freedom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing