We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything just a little better than expected and hoped for!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sokha Angkor Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sokha Angkor Resort
Ranked #65 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything just a little better than expected and hoped for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

With an excellent location and all the facilities you would want (and a few more) look no further for a great hotel in Siem Reap!
When you check out of a hotel and realize that you have not had to care about anything during the whole stay, everything has worked as expected, then you know the service is excellent.
Everything from the reservation of the room, check in, excursions, airport transfer etc, worked without a single problem! The staff was always there waiting for you at the right time and place and always with a smile on their face!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MapeApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    446
    86
    18
    7
See reviews for
340
579
97
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Not knowing what to expect in Cambodia, we had booked only one night at the Sohka before we boarded our flight from Malaysia. The reviews are good, but a quality five star hotel for under $100 seemed too good to be true. But it was true! We were graciously greeted at the door and offered a refreshing cool beverage at the desk. It was only 9am so they were mostly checking out guests and we were asked to have a seat in a comfy sofa in the spacious lobby. A gentleman came over and reconfirmed that we were only staying one night. Since we had already got a good feeling about the place, we told him we would likely stay longer but we wanted to see the room first. He told us that once we saw the room, we would stay. He was right. We ended up further extending our stay to be a total of 5 nights. We booked those additional nights directly with the hotel at a price a bit lower than hotels.com.
Even with the largest bed I have ever seen, the room felt as spacious as an apartment. The bathroom alone is the size of most hotel rooms. There is even a full size balcony with a view of the lovely pool. The room was a little stuffy and we asked about the air conditioner. He said the room was large and took a while to cool. He was right. Also, the little frig had been unplugged and it took a visit from the maintenance crew to get it going. The water probably isn’t safe to drink and we didn’t want to take chances. So, it was nice that housekeeping left complimentary, sealed bottled water every day. There is also a tea kettle that we boiled water to brush our teeth.
The gigantic breakfast buffet was sensational. The service was really nice. It is obvious that the staff is trained to provide exceptional service. The nicest thing is that they know nothing about that snooty attitude that often comes with service in fancy hotels back home! They are genuinely friendly and very hardworking. On mornings when the hotel was full of tour groups, the service had to be a little less personalized. But next morning all the waiters apologized that they were so busy yesterday and they were going to do better today.
We don’t usually get room service because it’s usually too expensive and we prefer eating like locals. But after 8 full hours of temple touring, we were exhausted. Once we saw the reasonably priced menu, we decided to stay in, rest and order a couple burgers. Much to our delight, the burgers were delicious and the service prompt and friendly. The hotel has a talented pastry chef and there is a little pastry counter next to the bar. We indulged one evening and were surprised when our check arrived. The pastries are half priced later in the evening. There are a few places to eat at the hotel. We were visiting during the low season, so some were closed or limited hours.
Besides the free wi-fi in the lobby, there’s a handy business center with computers for guests. There’s a nice gift shop that will mail postcards for guests.
The hotel is located on a busy street near a few other hotels. It took us about 15 minutes to walk to the main part of town. But the tuk-tuk drivers are so eager that it seemed silly not to pay a dollar or two and let them drive you. We hired a car from the airport to take us to the hotel for $7. We ended up hiring the same car/driver, Mr. Kim Saban, to drive us to the Floating Village that afternoon and to the temples for the rest of our stay and back to the airport when we left. He was so pleasant and helpful. He was prompt, professional and a safe driver. He also arranged for our guide, Mr. Chhom Samithy. Both are highly recommended. Please contact me if you want their contact information and a reference.
There are a few hotels in Siem Reap that cost more like what you’d expect to pay for a five-star. Those hotels are probably genuine five-star hotels. If you are fussy and expect snooty service, try those. If you just need a comfortable, clean place to stay, where you will be an honored guest, Sokha is perfect. The Sokha is a very, very good value for the price and has better than five-star service. When we return, we will book several nights with confidence.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celusnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

We cannot say enough about the great services we received from every staff member during our 4 day at this hotel. Everyone was ready to help us and smiled when we had a request.The moment we arrived and entered the hotel lobby, we were given a cool drink and refreshment towel. The rooms were sapcious, clean and the pool area was the best we have seen in Siem Reap. The Raffles Angkor did not have enough shade in our opinion and so , we decided on this location.
Walking distance to Royal Garden and Victoria / Raffels Hotel plus 10 mins walk or $2 tuk-tuk ride to pub street.
The bar area was the peferct spot to relax and unwind in the evening or after a dip the pool during the hot afternoons. We were also happy to see such a wide selection for breakfast too. The staff were so pleasant and smiled each time we asked for help and attempted to learn their language.
We will certainly return to this hotel in our future visits to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skelly3055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

If you are in Siem Reap - can afford this budget - but not staying in Sokha Angkor : you don't know what you are missing.
Definitely one of the best hotels I have stayed in so far. Coming from Japan, a country known for it's extremely high standards; I failed to find any major glitch in Sokha's service.

To be a little more specific :

1 ) Value for money : I paid 123 USD per night , which may sound expensive but not if you compare the price for similar standard hotels and the returns. An excellent buffet breakfast , intricately decorated big rooms with jumbo king size beds with big balconies , probably the best and biggest salt water pool in Siem Reap are just the icing on a superb cake!
2) Service : Unparalleled. Very professional - yet with extremely personal touches.
3) Elegance: An artistic eye for detail towards every aspect of hotel decor.
4) Location : Nothing can be better , very quiet yet just 10 mins short walk from Old market - 15 mins from the bustling pub street.

Very difficult to be disappointed , am pretty sure about it.

- Arnash.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

We've been to a lot of 5-star hotels, but this one is way beyond expectations
This is our first time to Cambodia: 3 days trip to visit Angkor Temple.
We chose this hotel because it was the best value and the closest to city center.
We were amazed: Very nice welcome. Totally professional staff. Excellent rooms (bed, linen, bathroom, huge TV). Amazing pool...
To give you an idea about the service quality: We wanted to leave for Angkor Temple at 5.30am, we asked for a "breakfast box": It was ready at 5.15am with hot crescents, cakes...
Believe me, I'm a pain in the bottom kind of costumer, but with this hotel, i'm speechless.
Enjoy your stay.
One more detail that has nothing to do with the hotel: in you take a taxi from the airport, the driver will present himself as a member of the "airport drivers association" and will propose his services to take you to Angkor temple. Keep in mind that those guys are only "licensed drivers", they are not "authorized guides". This means, they will drop you at Angkor's main gate. They are not allowed to guide you through the temple. Get yourself a real tour guide.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerbouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

We came to Siem Reap for a few days to bear the heat and see the sights (well worth bearing the heat for).

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by very courteous staff. Check in was a breeze compared to other hotels. We were able to buy our temple passes right at the hotel which was nice. Rooms were a little small/outdated but nice overall. Good ac.

The pool is amazing with a mini-temple with waterfalls at one end. Really nice at night. That said, two major problems with the pool (hotel):
1) pool is surrounded by bats at night and virtually unuseable
2) during the day the pool 'facilities' are non-existant

The mens' locker rooms was disgusting, lockers were all broken (when you could find someone to get you a key), minimal towels, and no sandals to use the dirty looking showers.

That aside, the main restaurant 'Le Chanthou" was absolutely amazing. The staff were friendly, service was great, food was great, prices were unbelievably reasonable (drinks, wine, appetizer, main course, dessert, apperatif for $50USD including tax and tip), ambience was great.

Business center has a few computer with free high speed internet available at all hours.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

This hotel has a fantastic lobby are, with lot's of comfy sofa's and grand settings.

The room was of an average size, but enough for two people. I have never seen a larger bed that the one in the room. It was approximately twice the width of two Queen sized double beds!! There is no wifi internet access in the room, but there is a business centre and wifi is available in the lobby.

There was a large pool, which was very nice. It was great to be able to go for a refreshing dip after a long days sight seeing. It closes at 6pm, though, which is a bit early, but it gets dark around this time.

Location wise, the hotel is slightly away from the action of Siem Reaps infamous Pub Street - about a 10 minute walk. There is plenty to do on your walk back though if you like massages, and we found a supermarket which was useful. Alternatively a tuk tuk ride is a maximum of $2.

It takes about 20 minutes to get to the main temples by car, but there are plenty of other temples out of the way - approximately an hours drive.

The staff couldn't do enough for you. They were more than happy to exchange larger bank notes for smaller denominations. When we tried to extend our stay by an extra night, they advised us it would be cheaper for us to do it through the internet, which was decent for them to have informed us.

There is a buffet breakfast to suit all tastes.

All in all, an excellent hotel in Siem Reap.

Room Tip: Book through the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LadyLawless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#35 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,613 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#53 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,490 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#90 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
1.1 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Angkor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Angkor Resort

Property: Sokha Angkor Resort
Address: National Road No 6, Sivatha Street Junction | 1km from Old Market and Pub Street, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#41 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Angkor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Angkor offers luxurious resort living in central Siem Reap! Provide instant Temple Passes- Within walking distance to famous Pub Street and Night Market- 15 minutes drive to Airport- 10 minutes drive to Golf Course- 10 minutes drive to Angkor Balloon ( Tethered Balloon )- Located in the heart of Siem Reap- Large salt water swimming pool- Complimentary Unlimited Internet Access- Affiliated with over 500 hotels across the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sokha Angkor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Sokha Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing