We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upper 3 star/Mid-lower 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #149 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Alberta
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Upper 3 star/Mid-lower 4 star”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I personally found this hotel was starting to look a bit dated, especially in comparison with some of the nicer newer hotels nearby. They advertise themselves as a 4 star, but like my title says, I'd probably classify it as an upper 3 star, to a lower-mid range 4 star hotel.

There is nothing to do within walking distance of this hotel. You can hire a tuktuk to get you to the Old Market for about $7 USD (round trip for 3 people), which takes about 10 minutes to get there. (3km walking, according to the concierge, which I definitely would not recommend in the heat). There are some overpriced massage spas about a 5 min drive away, but there are some grocery stores within a short drive away that you can get cheap snacks and drinks. (the cheapest place I have seen Fanta, at 40 cents a can)

The hotel showcases a lot of wood. In their brochure, they state the wood makes it more warm and welcoming, which I can kind of understand. I personally prefer a more modern look. The hotel offers a small pool (which looks pretty nice and well maintained) and a gym. I am a big gym goer, so I went to go check it out and was very disappointed. The equipment is terribly outdated, and when the gym isn't in use, staff sit there in the dark texting on their phones. There are also a couple of bars/lounges, and a restaurant. Most visitors there will most likely be having their buffet breakfast in the main restaurant. A word of advice: get there early, if you go close to the 930am closing time, selection is very limited, or if you go after the wake up call for most of the tour groups, it'll be hard to find a table. The variety of food was mediocre, nothing really stood out as fantastic. I had cereal on my first day there; the milk was not cold. Not sure if this is normal way of serving milk in Cambodia or not, but I did not find it very appealing, and didn't want to risk any stomach troubles on my trip. Check out the coconut milk pudding in the pastry area. I discovered this on my last day there, and loved it! Staff are pretty friendly and helpful. Housekeeping did a great job.

Rooms are air-conditioned. There is a water kettle and a mini fridge. Load of channels to choose from ranging from Japanese to CNN. I was lucky to have a balcony with my room, which overlooked onto the pool area. Bed was pretty comfortable, pillows were too soft.

Bonus points for free wi-fi! (although signal is very spotty)

You can send your postcard from the front desk for $1 USD to anywhere in the world.

Toiletries available: shampoo, shower gel, toothbrush, toothpaste, razor, comb.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GroovieGurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    156
    66
    17
    10
See reviews for
101
121
29
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I think the hotel is preety awesome...The rooms are clean and bathrooms was okay...Despite the fact that the location is kind off far from town,but its quiet which what i actually wanted...The breakfast was okay ( buffet style) but they serve the same variety of food everyday which I was bored of eating...The staff are friendly but just that some of them do not understand english so communication was a slight problem here...This hotel is to be credited for the main lobby where its full of wood carvings which gives a traditional feel plus at night they will be traditional music played using a traditional instrument and the entrance to the hotel is way beyond my expactations...very very traditional...A must stay hotel in Siem Reap....

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the swimming pool...Its much quiter and triple sharing rooms comes with a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrGajain_NR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had the privilege to stay at Empress Angkor Hotel from 01-Nov-05 Nov. The hotel was beautiful with a wooden staircase and floors. The pool was enjoyable in the afternoons after a HOT day touring the temples. The property was very clean. The air conditioner took a while to cool down. We contacted maintenance and after promptly coming to our room they reassured us that it would cool down shortly, and it did. It had all of the amenities to make us comfortable during our stay. Breakfast , which was included, exceeded our expectations. It was delicious with several choices.

What stood out the most at the hotel was the great service received from the employees. They were always ready to answer our questions, call a tuk tuk or assist us in some way with a smile. Our first night, we decided to have a light dinner and drinks in the lounge. Channa was our server and he provided us with EXCELLENT service. It was because of him, that we choose to stop into the lounge for drinks every night. We enjoyed talking with him about Cambodia, Angkor Wat, The King. He taught us a great deal!

It was a ways away from pub street ( which I prefer) but just a few dollars by tuk tuk. Close to the airport which was convenient. Empress Angkor comes with my highest recommendation. This was our first trip to Siem Reap but will not be our last!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeMorrisonPuou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you like wood, you'll love this hotel....clearly one can see that Cambodia still has a lot of wood. In this hotel everything is in wood in the room, floor, some parts in bathroom....all.
It's a very nice hotel with very good service and great brekafast. Stayed there 2 nights and would definitely recommend it. Staff also very friendly

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

lovely..... Only had one night sadly so we could be near to the airport. So we didnt get to make the most of all it has to offer, Did look though. Huge bed choice of soft or firm pillows.Great hot water toiletries, white towels kettle and hairdryer, Lovely room. The hotel is all polished wood and opulent furniture, stunning. A gift shop , bar, gym, pool, gardens, spa breakfast great choice. Lovely helpful staff in that charming Cambodian way. Looked after luggage after we checked out. Out of the centre but would be 5 mins in a tuk tuk

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chitchat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were picked up from the airport by complimentary shuttle and headed straight for the hotel. There we were given a cold towel and a drink while the front desk checked us in. There are a couple of ladies playing music in the hall and an impressive chandelier which created a great ambience in the lobby.

The whole hotel had wood carvings and beautiful paintings of Apsara dancers. There weren’t a lot of natural light in and I can understand why some might think this hotel is dark and in need of a refurbishment (wood here, wood there and everywhere!). However, these are the features that the hotel is going for so I appreciated the architecture.

We realized that learning a few Cambodian words did help us tremendously – we greeted/thanked the staff in their local language and they responded well to our requests. Their grasp of English is moderate but they are trying as hard as they can to assist you in anything. We were staying there for 5 days and they greeted us every morning when we came down for breakfast. They also went out of their way to ensure all our tours were correctly timed and pointed out where locals shop so the bargains we got were fantastic (they even name drop so you strike up an instant friendship with the retailers).

Breakfast was superb with a great selection of spreads, from omelets, to the local cuisine (to kimchi?!) to cereal and WEETBIX!

The rooms were big and spacious and had all the channels you require. Bed was firm and the bathroom had all the basic necessities (including a hair dryer!) We had robes and slippers too. We had a good selection in our minibar which we bought with us during our daily excursion. We weren’t in the rooms most of the time as we were out “temple-hunting” so the room served its purpose.

The weather was hot and humid when we went in August so do pack light materials (cottons, linen) and bring a hat/glasses (sunscreen!) As you are heading out to the temples, be sure to cover your shoulders and legs as a sign of respect.

As the hotel is located a fair bit away from town, the hotel has a complimentary shuttle bus in the evening to and fro town (6pm to 9pm) However, you can get tuk tuks easily outside of the hotel for USD3 one way to town, or USD15 for the whole day.

We found the hotel excellent for our stay and at a great price point. It is away from the hustle and bustle from town (for a decent nights’ sleep) but we had a tuk tuk at our disposal which made it very convenient.

Room Tip: All the rooms have independent balconies; great to enjoy the night breeze. Choose a room that overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our 4 nights stay at Empress Angkor Hotel was great. We got free pick up from the airport and complimentary drinks at the reception. The receptionist greet us and brief us on the hotel facilities and the breakfast time. They provide free shuttle to the town every night. She even asked us for our flight itinerary back Malaysia as they will provide free transport back to the airport as well. Our luggages were brought to the room by the bell boy.

The pool was nice enough and the gym was okay. But the best was their spacious room and great international breakfast. You can find bacon, kimchi, noodles, scrambled/cook/half-cook egg, assorted vege for salad and assorted bread and pastries as well. We couldn't have ask for more.

Our deluxe room was spacious and came with a bath tub. The only problem is they don't have a segregated section for shower as we have to stand in the tub while showering. The TV they have is old model of TV, but with a wide selection of channels. They have chinese, korean, english, cambodian and thai channels. Some of the english channels they have is discovery, Star World, Fox Movie, EuroSports, HBO......

Although the hotel location is about 4km away from the town, we can catch the free shuttle van every night. Or alternatively, we can easily catch many tuk tuk that are park next to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Empress Residence Resort & Spa
Empress Residence Resort & Spa
#286 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Hotel & Spa
Pacific Hotel & Spa
#75 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#70 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
City Angkor Hotel
City Angkor Hotel
#252 of 342 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
#71 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ree Hotel
Ree Hotel
#180 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Angkor Resort & Spa

Property: Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
Address: #888, Across Cambodia Cultural Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#93 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#106 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Empress Angkor Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning a trip, anniversary or romantic holiday? Our Hotel offers you a chance to take a step back in time, where life moves at a much slower pace and the atmosphere is one of calm and peace. Relax and enjoy a getaway with each other in Siem Reap, the ancient City of Cambodia and the Angkor Wat Temples the most subdued and magical CityEmpress Angkor Hotel is a luxurious hotel offering 208 lavishly furnished rooms and wide range of facilities such as in-house spa, gym, outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi etc.Furthermore, each room is elegantly appointed rooms and suites are complemented by the finest personalities to make this one of Empress Angkor Hotel'best accommodation experiences. Air-Conditioning, bathropes, slippers and full list of in-room features one comes to expect of a true convenient hotel. Our premium floor offer stunning view across the city and tropical landscape view.The in-house restaurants serve a wide selection of Khmer and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empress Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Angkor Siem Reap
Hotel Empress Angkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing