We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the time”

War Museum Cambodia
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.00*
and up
Private Tour: Siem Reap City Tour Full Day
Ranked #22 of 179 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The War Museum Cambodia in Siem Reap is the only war museum in Cambodia. The museum has a unique collection, you can take a free guide (a war veteran) and you can hold small arms.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Well worth the time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We visited this museum yesterday. An eye opening and confronting experience brought to life by our guide who was a child soldier and a land mine victim. I highly recommend taking up the offer of a guide as the descriptions and explanations provided really added to the experience for us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    389
    162
    37
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rusty old display”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I enjoyed this display, but I think they could spend a few dollars putting wheels and tracks back on the armoured vehicles and paint them up. Overall a good experience. Well worth the trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Me_clarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A humble, eye opening experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

A museum run by war veterans. $5 p/p and a free tour guide who spoke excellent English. Our tour guide Tom showed us around and spoke about the history of the war and did so in a very humbling way. A donation is requested at the end and so it should be as they do a wonderful job there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank erica1189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eye opening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Despite the trek out of town and therefore a (comparatively) more expensive tuk-tuk ride, the war museum was worth the visit. Our guide was something else, full of charisma and charm, and with a remarkable and saddening story to tell. Despite all the hardship, cruelty and misfortune he and other victims of the war and its aftermath had been through he was inspiring in his forgiveness, positivity and good humour. The museum is made up of huts with displays and outdoor exhibits of tanks and other machines of war. There is a helicopter and plane also. A pretend minefield with tripwires makes for another interesting and nerve-wracking experience. Well worth a visit, mostly for the first hand accounts of the guide.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stackapopalypse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

As we walked in, we were greeted by a tour guide (entry is $5p/p, guide is free of charge, but tips at the end are appreciated), you can choose to walk around without the guide, but I recomend you do.
Its interesting to see and have a feel of the very weapons used in the war. It was a little bit hard to understand our guide, but he took his time to tell his story (he lost his leg on a landmine) and answer all of our questions

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noworriesdimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed War Museum Cambodia also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to War Museum Cambodia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing