We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrace of Victory”

Terrace of the Elephants
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.25*
and up
Full Day Angkor Wat Tour by Car
Ranked #30 of 180 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Olongapo, Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Terrace of Victory”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Standing on the central platform between the garuda and a lion, I imagine myself as a king waiting for the return of my victorious army. This place could have been full of life, with a powerful king tall on its throne and an army roaring like thunder as they celebrate victory.

This long platform or terrace was said to have been lined with pavillions, perhaps for the important guests of the king. I wish I have time machine so I can travel back in time. This terrace is so enchanting. And these elephants carved on the base prove how their role used to be important.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    486
    197
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We visited the terrace in Angkor Thom at the end of our days exploring the Angkor complex. It is still magnificent structure with amazing architecture. You are able to walk along it's full length. It is worth a 10 minute visit and photo opportunity.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyk
Level Contributor
403 reviews
279 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 874 helpful votes
“good sculptures”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

the sculptures are amazing .... its a good visit ! during the main temple visit and wud not take much of your time as well.....
if you are with a tour guide , you will be well guided to the place/the information ...........

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank nyk1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2,500 reviews
1,723 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 833 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is a platform which starts from Phimeanakas to the Terrace of the Leper Kings. Enjoy the walk here and ensure you have adequate sunscreen as there is no shelter. Elephants, nagas and garudas carvings are clearly visible on the walls. We did not stay long as it was too hot.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank nellielim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice elephants sculptures”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

It's a fun walk with my tour guide and he told us a token of history about the elephants terrace.
Very nice elephants sculptures good for taking photos too!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cinta_alamaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrace of the Elephants also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Terrace of the Elephants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing