We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Temple for me ...Too Crowded” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayon Temple

Bayon Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.25*
and up
Full Day Angkor Wat Tour by Car
Ranked #2 of 181 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
339 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Best Temple for me ...Too Crowded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was definitely the best temple for me, I just loved it, a little too crowded with tourists taking pictures everywhere so It's a little bit difficult to walk around and take pictures but definitely worth it. Cambodia is really hot and you will sweat a lot so be prepared but it's worth a visit, The must see temples, Bayon, Ta Prohm and Angkor Wat, the other ones you can skip, explore these 3 temples in the morning, less crowded and you still have your energy, if you finish and have more time go and visit the other smaller temples. Do Hire a tuk tuk for the day so he can take you to all the temples and just drop you off at the entrance, our driver also carried cold water so it was pretty convenient. Beautiful Temple !!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travellistics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,307
    2,118
    230
    14
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I visited in early morning & late afternoon to try to avoid the crowds...kind of worked too!Although the July heat & humidity is stifling it is well worth the sweat for the experience and photos!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndyM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,740 reviews
1,446 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,455 helpful votes
“My fav site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Tip: 3 days pass is very convenient. It's impossible to visit it in just 1 day. And there is no 2 days pass. $20/ day.
Tip2: keep your ticket easy to reach. you will have to show it several times during the visit. I saw that tours provide a waterproof multi purpose pouch. Maybe you can get one on Target or Amazon.com. They are cheap.

This is my fav site in AW. The enigmatic smile of Avalokiteshvara makes it a magical place. And it's even more incredible when you see it from the road. One of the sides has a small lake. It's gorgeous!
Always crowded.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Highlight of Khmer Architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We visited Bayon very early in the morning before the crowd stampede and managed to get some spectacular shots of this magnificent temple. We also had a guide with us who can help telling the history of Khmer culture and architecture. We spent about 3 hours exploring the temple until it's very crowded with tourist. Definitely the highlight of our one week trip to Siem Reap.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jigrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malacca City, Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“just amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

you will not regret. the intricacy of the temple layout and the multiple figures of heads that represent the merging of buddha and one of the khmer kings features is just amazing! i loved it and couldnt help snap away at my camera at every turn. Just to think these temples are a couple of hundred years old, almost reaching a 1000 just takes your breath away! do not forget to take a picture at the entrace of the inner gallery, where the four-faced head figure greets you

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank roshwini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayon Temple also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Bayon Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing