We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“How can you not be amazed?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayon Temple

Bayon Temple
Book In Advance
$70.00*
and up
Full Day Angkor Wat Tour by Car
Ranked #2 of 180 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“How can you not be amazed?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Bayon Temple was our introduction to the Temples around Siem Reap and we where not disappointed. We entered the Bayon Temple complex through the south gate on the back of an Asian elephant, what a way to start, and never looked back. Traveled with my wife and two young children, all of whom really enjoyed the experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank IainDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,199
    1,928
    204
    12
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Our favourite temple in the Angkor complex!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Whilst nothing can beat the view of Angkor Wat at sunrise, this was our favourite temple visit during our Siem Reap stay. The stone faces in the Bayon are absolutely fascinating and it's fun to get lost in this temple! You should definitely go there first thing in the morning as it does get very, very busy and as it's quite small, it can feel a little cramped and claustrophobic. We went back for a second visit as we enjoyed it so much.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nipon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The faces are everywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you enjoy the temples of Angkor, you will also like this site with its many faces of Buddha...or perhaps the king?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank swrtzmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
155 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“make sure you visit there at early morning or at the evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

lot of tourists. i have visited there 3 times in the past 5 years. now, it is flooded with tourists which you really can't find a good spot for pictures. i enjoyed this place when it is peaceful (5 years ago it was. or make sure you visit there at early morning or at the evening)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
483 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Mona Lisa of SE Asia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Bayon is known for its huge stone faces, with one facing outward and keeping watch at each compass point. The curious smiling image, thought by many to be a portrait of Jayavarman himself, has been dubbed by some the "Mona Lisa of Southeast Asia." There are 51 smaller towers surrounding Bayon, each with four faces of its own. Bayon Temple boasts an extraordinary collection of bas-relief scenes.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spoonball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayon Temple also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Bayon Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing