We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the shadiest temple of all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayon Temple

Bayon Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.25*
and up
Full Day Angkor Wat Tour by Car
Ranked #2 of 181 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Jose, California, USA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“the shadiest temple of all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was our third temple of our tour and frankly, I was getting bored so we told our guide we wanted to skip it. But he insisted we take a peek. Oh man I'm so glad we didn't skip it. It's the tomb raider temple! and it's different because it is covered by trees. Which makes visiting it bareable in the heat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank monsternina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,270
    2,111
    231
    14
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Hard to get a good photo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Of course this is an awesome sight, but photographers should choose their timing carefully as it's standing room only here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amazonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Most interesting site of angkor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Not angkor wat but the bayon was for me the highlight of angkor. All the faces and carvings, just amazing and much more peacefukl then angkor wat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“my favourite temple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

this was my first visit to the temples in Cambodia and for this reason it is my favourite. it seemed less touristy that the other temples with fewer hawkers and more monkeys!! I was able to get a blessing for $1 which was an interesting experience for me.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank vanessa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

With trees all around this is a calm and peaceful place to visit in the afternoon. Coach parties have all gone by then! This is the one with the faces!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayon Temple also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Bayon Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing