We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing - not sure who had the bigger smiles, the Bayon or me!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayon Temple

Bayon Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.25*
and up
Full Day Angkor Wat Tour by Car
Ranked #2 of 181 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
england
Level Contributor
214 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Amazing - not sure who had the bigger smiles, the Bayon or me!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Visited in Nov 2009. Part of the huge Angkor Archaeological Park, the Bayon temple from a distance seems like a jumble of huge rocks, but as you get closer you begin to make out the huge, peaceful faces looking to all four directions.
There are 37 standing towers, most but not all sporting four serene carved faces.
This temple, for me, was even better than Angkor Wat, it is incredible. As with all the sites, it gets very busy.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank collymarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,270
    2,111
    231
    14
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ultimate beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

An excellent exemple of beauty and high culture. In times when the Western world lived in the Middle Ages.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gmjngrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
222 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Mysterious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This temple is unique . We walked around the quiet ruins marveling at the huge four headed faces and tiny passages. I've been to many temples but have not seen this type of architecture anywhere else.

We visited at twilight and the surrounding greenery and bird sounds added to the serene scene.

Definitely a must see. There are several temples, and "templing" can get tiring in Cambodia. Bayon should not be missed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Been2Bagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
1 review
“new years day 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

visited on new years day 2012 after a night of drinking and was very impressed with this temple of the many visited that day.

Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Too many tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Not that I am complaining but I think Bayon, and the other Wats could really use some more planning in terms of the volume of visitors entering the premises. Bayon is way much better a few years ago when I visited the place since many of the structures have already gone down but reconstruction is also underway in the place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mowma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayon Temple also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Bayon Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing