We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Visiting”
Review of Preah Khan

Preah Khan
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Full Day Preah Khan and Neak Pean Temples Tour
Ranked #10 of 180 things to do in Siem Reap
Attraction details
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth Visiting”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Preah Khan is big and I recommend hiring a guide to understand this beauty.
I found Preah Khan really beautiful and in pretty good shape. There are some big trees that unlike nearby Ta Prohm, have been cut down to save the structure.
We visited in the afternoon and there were very few tourists around. The temple has some really fine and unique carvings and an interesting architecture. It's easy to lose yourself in the atmosphere of Preah Khan.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,165
    432
    61
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Very good”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I walk from the North Gate of Angkor Thom (around 2km), very nice walk. I got there early in the morning so not a lot of people in the temple. In some places I was all alone. Great atmosphere. Great place. Not to be missed!!!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
141 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The round columned 2 story building makes this ruin unique. Nice selection of Asuras on the naga bridges.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshireTopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
230 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
“A must on your sightseeing list”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Extensive, evocative ruins left largely unrestored, with trees and other vegetation growing among the stones. Very atmospheric where one can lose oneself while wandering through.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chelydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“One of Angkor's Must Sees!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The charm of Preah Khan Iies in its slightly ruinous state. A nice balance between safely restored, and naturally crumbling beauty has been reached here. My favourite visit here, found 3 Khmer children skipping through the ruins singing songs, and I managed to get a beautiful photograph of them perched on stone blocks.

My tip, if you like Preah Khan, you'd love Beng Mealea! It's a bit further out of Siem Reap, but it is unrestored and you truly get that Tomb Raider feeling lol. My tuk tuk driver, Navuth from angkordriverprivatetour.com took me there, and it was my favourite part of my visit to Siem Reap.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OTSaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Preah Khan also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Preah Khan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing