We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FCC was great, and got us a fine guide”
Review of FCC Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
FCC Angkor
Ranked #89 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“FCC was great, and got us a fine guide”
Reviewed July 18, 2007

Very nice quiet and stylish hotel/spa/restaurant in the heart of Siem Reap. Unlike other places, I really feel like I am in Siem Reap, and not just in some random hotel.

The value-for-money is great, the spa package was a good idea and the massages are first class.

FCC arranged a great guide, who was separated from his family and sent off to a work brigade by the Khymer Rouge at the age of nine. Eventually he got a degree in History, and it has been great learning about the ancient and recent history of Cambodia from him. I doubt we could have hooked up with this fellow on our own, but FCC seems to be able to tap into the best of Siem Reap.
We had
Mr. Yous Sopanha
[--]

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    298
    65
    20
    11
See reviews for
140
361
77
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

We read the reviews of FCC and thought it sounded great. We spent three nights there and it certainly lived up to our expectations. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the rooms were fantastic, and the pool was great for cooling down at night after being in the heat of the day at the temples. At night the staff light the candles in your room and put flowers on your pillow, I would highly recommend it.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank NewZealanderinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

The FCC Angkor has a cool relaxed atmostphere. The bedrooms have South East Asian minimalist design, with a wonderful bathroom which has a bathtub - just the thing after a day among the archaeological sites.
The staff were polite, helpful, and friendly.
There is a nice pool, perhaps there could be more sun loungers.
The bars were popular, with good music, and wide selection of wines. The ones I tried were excellent.
The bed was very comfortable, which makes a nice change in Cambodia!
Great place. I would happily return.

  • Liked — Style and comfortable bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CheshireCat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Stayed 2 nights at the FCC Angkor in June 2007. Beautiful boutique hotel with many modern amenities, including a rainhead shower, spa-quality bath products and aromatherapy candles. Crisp white sheets, dark wood furnishings in an airy and spacious room with lots of storage space. Interesting room setup, with the bathroom accessible via a floor-to-ceiling sliding wall (ie. no full privacy as the sliding wall is made of wooden slats). Free internet access if you have your own laptop; otherwise a laptop can be rented for $5 per hour. Staff were extremely friendly and responsive. Not located on the main strip, but if your objective in Siem Reap is to see the surrounding temples, then you really don't need to be on the main strip at all.

  • Liked — Everything seems brand new!
  • Disliked — Location is not the most convenient
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank siulongbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2007

We have just spent 3 days at the FFC Angkor and loved it. We chose a Classic Weekender Package which is currently offering an extra night for free. The staff were all so pleasant, organised a guide for our tour to Angkor Wat and just went that little bit extra. The rooms always smelt so nice because there were little oil burners with wonderful smelling essential oils in them. Pool is lovely and the restaurant has a nice outlook. The only thing that was not perfect was the food - the local/asian style food was very good, the western style food was ordinary. Breakfasts were good.

  • Liked — Rooms, gardens
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellersHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Couple stayed in FCC Angkor June 2007, classic weekender package with pool view. We spent a lot (for Cambodia) but overall I think it was worth it. The room was spacious, modern, and comfortable, though as someone previously mentioned, it's hard to keep the mosquitoes out. Be careful opening and closing the sliding door. Pool was beautiful, salt water, refreshing. We had a lot included with the package -- one dinner, two lunches, two breakfasts, 1.5 days of templing plus sunrise at Angkor, and airport transfers. Transport was efficient and great each time. We also added on a guide for the 1.5 days, Rous Ry -- he was great and works quite often with the hotel, so recommended. Guides are extra if you want them, but worth it -- we would not have gotten as much out of the Angkor experience without Ry.

Food was pretty good at the restaurant -- not a lot of Cambodian-only, but Euro and fusion. We were pleased with nearly evertything we got, and the fact that you can order anything on the menu inclusive with the weekender package (rather than ordering off of a set menu) was really good value. The restaurant is not cheap for Siem Reap standards, and I may not have eaten there so frequently if not for the package.

We also got massages at the attached Visaya spa -- very nice, professional, great massages. Again, not cheap by SE Asia standards, but we felt it was worth it (an hour for US$40).

The whole property had a cool vibe to it....chill music, well decorated, lovely. Staff was very, very courteous -- I had exchanged many emails with the tour desk to arrange the various components of our days in SR....very patient, accommodating, etc. Tour desk also pre-booked and -paid for our air tickets from SR to Vietnam upon request, which we paid for when checking out. This was helpful and the tickets did not cost any more than list price, but booking with local airlines can be tricky, so this was one less thing we had to worry about. Service was really great and is what put the FCC up another notch for us.

There are probably cheaper places or better-value-for-money places in SR, but we were really happy with the FCC and would stay again. Nice if you like a modern vibe, and a good place to relax and crash after a long day of templing.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Base79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2007

I will start with the positives. We stayed in a poolside room which is beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. However, I do not think that it is worth the extra $...go with the garden room. Check-in was nice with complimentary iced tea. The location is great. The pool is nice and it is essential to be able to cool off at the end of the day. The shops at the hotel are great. However, overall we were disappointed with our two night stay. The food at the restaurant was terrible. Our bed linens were stained. Dozens of mosquitoes in our bathroom and bedroom. It is extremely slippery around the pool. I just expect complete attention to detail for the amount of money we spent. We had friends that stayed at the Shinta Mani (2 blocks away), and it seemed like they got a better value. Their room was not as nicely decorated, but it was still very nice. Their pool area is gorgeous and the restaurant at the Shinta Mani was amazingly delicious.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank GreenMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#37 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
#84 of 356 in Siem Reap
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Boutique & Resort
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Angkor
Shinta Mani Angkor
#12 of 356 in Siem Reap
2,976 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#8 of 356 in Siem Reap
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FCC Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FCC Angkor

Property: FCC Angkor
Address: Pokambor Avenue, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#65 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#67 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — FCC Angkor 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FCC Angkor sits at the heart of Siem Reap Town, overlooking the Siem Reap River and just minutes away from Cambodia's most alluring attraction, Angkor Wat.Renovated from the old French Governor's mansion, art deco embraces chic hotel, creating an atmosphere of refined luxury and casual elegance. Defined by its lush green gardens and the salt-water swimming pool, the FCC Angkor embodies Cambodia's tranquil pace of life: a casual swim, drinks in the garden, dinner on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your FCC Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fcc Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing