We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Colonial with a modern twist”
Review of FCC Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
FCC Angkor
Ranked #80 of 373 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2006

It's the morning after the flight back fr SReap. Spent 3 nights (Fri, Sat & Sun) in FCC Angkor. Read about the very decent reviews and decided to take the plunge. We (2 couples) booked 2 King Pool view rooms from the FCC website at US110/night with b/fast. Transfer was included, but note that it's one way only. Only found out when we were about to check out (wanted to kick up a fuss, but it was US7 and split amongst 2 couples it was decent).

What's striking about the FCC is its size. Although it was at full occupancy (very impressive as it was low season), you don't feel the crowd. Partly because there are only 29 rooms and also because the guests are usually traipising the ruins all day. The airport pick up was fuss free and the trip from the airport to the hotel took no more than 20minutes. Check in was a breeze in this boutique hotel with a very small reception area.

We were led to our room which was designed in what I would call a "modern asian" style. Dark brown parquet floor hemmed at the borders with yellowish granite (sorry, not too good with these descriptions), king sized bed and a study table- TV-console cantilever along the full length glass sliding door that doubles up as the wall that faces the pool (Note to hotel : yes I know budget for a real flat screen TV is not approved, but am sure you can do better than a 17inch monitor). The clean lines and colour scheme are carried through to the toilets with decent amenities. But what was puzzling, and got a little annoying is the absence of matches to light the incense sticks which they left in the room. Just outside the sliding full length glass door entrance to the room are three flat large leather cushions which are perfect for an afternoon read with the fan running full blast above.

I would classify service at this hotel as decent. The lack of more than basic English would sometimes make instructions at the cafe a little tiresome, but we always got what we wanted, except for our couple friend who did not get the 430am breakfast and wake up call on the morning of our sunrise visit to the temples. Aside from the blip, the entire stay was very pleasant. The food was decent, rooms were great and the service unobtrusive.

Won't go into the colonial history of the hotel, but we liked the very neat and cohesive juxtaposition of the old world charm of the colonial setting of the main building with the modern rooms.

If there was one thing the hotel could improve, it would have to be the spa. Perception certainly did not match reality. The rooms and toilets were great, but the massages were at best average. The therapists didnt seem to have their heart into the session and mine disappeared several times for at least a minute during a 60min session. My wife had a manicure and pedicure done in what was an almost sauna-like setting with the airconditioner blowing into the other side of the room and her sitting on a wooden bench with a towel as a cushion. We had much much better sessions at the newly opened Bodytune near the Old Market.

We would stay at the FCC again, but only if there was something other than the temples to visit. All in all an enjoyable trip and stay.

3  Thank Scouser4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 879 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2006

... to make the ambience of this unique hotel perfect !

My friend and I, when we arrived at the bar of FCC after a quick check in, were amazed by the so particular ambience of this hotel. Chic and calm, with a touch of "obsolete" time. You have to know that the first FCC was in Phnom Pehn, and housed most of journalists and CIA people during the war of Vietnam ( FCC: foreign correspondants club ) ... This one in Siem Reap opened a few years ago, and use to house in he fifties the vacacion of the french governer ... I must say that the renovation of this kind of historical building has been so beautifully done that it was almost like we were in a movie ... YES, Humphrey was missing to do the perfect picture.

If the american actor was missing, all the staff of the FCC were wery, very, very smilling, willing to help you, ans also ... very cute, wich is a plus of course.

BOOKING: we booked a "Classic weekender" from the website. Due to low season period, we had the third night free. They Answered very kindly and quickly to all our emails ...

CHECK IN/ARRIVAL: nothing to say, quick and helpfull

ROOM: we had a pool view room for 3 nights... The design of the room is excellent, especially the bathroom. AC and fan, very effiicient. Being next the pool is really convenient as you don't ask yourself if you go to swim or not, you swim, that's all ... However, if you want some privacy, it's not the best choice, as we had to close the curtain at least half the window all the time, except in the early morning, when we had breakfast served, on our private terrace, and there was nobody out there. If you want privacy, ask for a gardenview, upstairs ...

We had so many little attentions ... encent in the room, bathroom and on the terrace ( wich revealed to be citronnelle to keep the mosquito away, but still smells great )... Also massage oil from the spa complimentary in the bathroom ... Great rainshower, herbal steambath in the spa, as well as the jacuzzi, next to the pool ...

THE POOL: black tiled pool are the best ! with salted water ! Waouh ! long enough to have a good swim ... great moments ...

BREAKFAST: just great food, with great products. Either delivered to your room ( from 4.30 am ! ), or at the so beautiful restaurant ( until 2.00 pm ! ).

RESTAURANT: like I said, great ambiance also at night ( you also can eat at any time by the pool ). Sandwiches are HUGE, and the food at night is very fine. Also excellent service. Good wine choice ... Is the chef french ?

SEEING THE TEMPLES: as we booked a package, we had a very friendly driver who drove us everywhere we wanted, even to Banteay Srei ( with extra charge ).

LOCATION: next to the siem reap river and to the royal residence, close enough to center... When you are at the restaurant, you see all the activity along the river, quite beautiful ... When in the pool / room, you are so quiet ....

GOOD ASPECTS: Everything

BAS ASPECTS: Nothing, all was perfect and unforgetable.

Conclusion: book in advance to be part of the "FCC movie"

Ben from Lille / France

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Tadzio76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2006

The FCC is a very nice hotel. I syated there for a few days in July.

The rooms are cool and spacious with excellent bathrooms.

It's got an impressive salt-water swimming pool in a relaxed, treed setting (in the centre of the hotel courtyard).

The service was flawless. They organise decent tours of the temples, too.

You can walk to anywhere you want to go to in Siem Reap.

The only negative note is that there were too many kids there when I stayed.

2  Thank HK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2006

´We´ve stayed at the FCC March 05, and this is the perfect and best place to stay in siem reap if you like private, quiet, luxurius, clean Hotel!!!!

We were really impressed by the workers always cleaning everthing, even the plants!!!!
They take their shoes off, when entering your room - just an example!

We are used to stay at 5 star hotels, but not crowded with people and children!
This is your perfect stay there - staying five days at FCC we never eat out! The food was great an we would not try to eat out! - be carefull, because they don´t have good sanitary conditions and regarding the diseases going on....

We look around the other hotels, and no one look like this. they maybe more popular or expensive, but since many of them have wood halls, regarding the quantity of insects and other animals around, the humidity, and the cleaning factir, we recomend you the solid, and fabulous FCC!

Great endless pool, great spa, fantastic massage, colonial/modern style - perfect for traveleres - not turists, if you know what i mean.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ClaudiaCardoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2006

Just loved the place! Our room, the pool, the dining area were all great! The staff were really nice and friendly, very willing to help. The location is great too, just beside the Royal Residence and Royal Gardens, lots of trees around, quiet and serene. It is really value for money, at $181/pax for a triple sharing room for 4days and 3 nights. We took their weekender package, includes airport-hotel-airport transfers, 3 breakfasts, 1 dinner, 2 lunches, 3 day temple pass, 2 days free transportation to the temples (tuktuk on day1 , and a car on day2), and service with a smile! I would definetely recommend this place, and would return again when I get the chance =)

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dpwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2006

Enjoyed our stay here. Restaurant excllent, rooms really nice, service good. We also did one of the FCC's packages (room, dinner, transport for temples, pickups etc all included) and also recommend this for a couple of day's stay to visit Angkor. Only gripe is that the LCD TV's in the room aren't up to much, but that's a pretty problem I'd say! I don't think Angkor warrants another visit, but if it did I'd certainly stay here. Also recommend going for a pool room and paying a little extra.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank m_james_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2006

We really enjoyed our stay at the FCC. We did not encounter any of the problems mentioned in previous reviews (e.g., the water was fine, and the service was good). The room was stylish and my wife found it very nice (and she is very picky about style etc). It was roomy, nicely laid out, and very comfortable. The bathroom may be one of the best I have seen (beyond some luxury place) – very nicely lit, roomy (2 people can move about without any problem), and perhaps one of the best showers I have used (roomy, great lighting, and the 1st partially-open shower that does not splash water all over the floor). The bed was comfortable - - dangerous as we were lulled into a deep nap after showering post-templing. The FCC has one of the best locations in town - - it is an easy walk to several places of interest for spending the nights. The only two criticisms would be (1) it would be nice to have a larger TV screen – a computer LCD screen – convenient and space-saving but can be bigger and (2) the lever for turning the shower on was a bit tough to “activate.” I am of the opinion that in Siem Reap you can easily get by a basic room - - as the real attractions are outside and all you need is a room to crash in. However, if you want a bit of extra comfort, then FCC is an excellent choice and significantly less expensive than a lot of other “high-end” places.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BanaPona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#44 of 373 in Siem Reap
1,356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#10 of 373 in Siem Reap
2,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Boutique & Resort
0.2 mi away
Riversoul Residence
Riversoul Residence
#12 of 373 in Siem Reap
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FCC Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FCC Angkor

Address: Pokambor Avenue, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#65 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $100 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — FCC Angkor 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FCC Angkor sits at the heart of Siem Reap Town, overlooking the Siem Reap River and just minutes away from Cambodia's most alluring attraction, Angkor Wat.Renovated from the old French Governor's mansion, art deco embraces chic hotel, creating an atmosphere of refined luxury and casual elegance. Defined by its lush green gardens and the salt-water swimming pool, the FCC Angkor embodies Cambodia's tranquil pace of life: a casual swim, drinks in the garden, dinner on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your FCC Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fcc Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing