We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel
Ranked #276 of 372 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Excellent property with great service and lovely swimming pool. Breakfast was great and a tuk tuk was USD2.00 (or USD1.00 per passenger) into the heart of Siem Reap. Would stay here again, we could not fault anything. A little disappointed with massage, it was just OK. Dale, Andy and Liz.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 352 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

For our tour of the Angkor Wat temples and the evening delights of Siem Reap this was a great base.
Clean, comfortable rooms with no street noise meant we could recover and relax after temple days and market nights.
Good breakfast and friendly staff.
Good value too!
Only question was the pool. It appeared clean but had a funny smell. As a result, while we used it to cool off we didn't put our heads under the water.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel has definitively improved under the present French manager. The staff was well trained, helpful, keen to do their job and spoke good English. Excellent wifi and perfect shower. Good breakfast buffet with both Asian and Western fare. Much better than six years ago. Spacious room, but the bathroom should be fitted with new tiles. Lighting in the room is a bit dim. Broken lamp was immediately replaced. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nico_Jong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stay 4 nights on this hotel and we really appreciate our holidays.
The location is just perfect, close from the center but also in a calm area what is nice.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, they are really doing their best to make your trip comfortable.
The hotel need a quick refreshment but anyway it's a very good place to stay to enjoy siem reap life.
Breakfast buffet is really good

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Extremely friendly staff, always willing to help and with a smile....Staffing around pool is very unpredictable as it opens at 8a per sign but no one staffing bar. Pool equipment very old , worn and dirty looking with holes in the umbrellas....I ordered a meat dish with noodles for lunch and found a green worm in the garnishment which was replaced immediately with many appologies. The room is nice but the sheets have not been changed in 5 days...it seems that something has happened in the management since previous reviews were glowing...hopefully they can get back on track as this property has a great location and loads of charm.

Room Tip: Get the balcony for sure..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrance2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

after having a bad experience on the first two nights in Siem Reap my husband and I were so happy to move to Casa Angkor -a little oasis in the bustle of the city and the Tuk Tuk drivers knew where it was!!. The Manager Marjeleine (sp?) was friendly and went out of her way to make guests welcome. I am a lousy sleeper but bed was comfy and the room was quiet despite facing the street -the balcony was massive. Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Pros:
Location- it's within walking distance of lots of places
Pool- It's nice and cold after a long hot day at the temples
Room was free of bugs

Cons:
This is a very old hotel. The rooms need updating, everything is drab, the carpets are stained, there are cracks and breaks in the tiles, the headboards are gross. The staff leave the cleaning carts in the hallways at all times. In addition, the guy who worked at the pool overcharged AND shortchanged me on my dinner and drinks one night. The power went out three times in one night and there was no reason why. All and all I don't think it was worth the price I payed.

I might stay here again if the room rate was cheaper, for $50+ dollars a night, it's definitely not worth it. You can stay elsewhere for that price and be in a MUCH nicer place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cait G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Rose Royal Boutique Hotel
Rose Royal Boutique Hotel
#142 of 372 in Siem Reap
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sokha Roth Hotel
Sokha Roth Hotel
#103 of 372 in Siem Reap
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Da Kiri Boutique Hotel
La Da Kiri Boutique Hotel
#153 of 372 in Siem Reap
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#97 of 372 in Siem Reap
874 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#73 of 372 in Siem Reap
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Reveal Angkor Boutique Hotel
Reveal Angkor Boutique Hotel
#115 of 372 in Siem Reap
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel

Address: Oum Chhay Street | City Center, Siem Reap 12206, Cambodia (Formerly Casa Angkor Hotel)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#139 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#175 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $38 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Siem Reap Old French Quarter, Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel is a 2-minute tuk-tuk ride from busy Pub Street & Night Market. It is only a 15-minute drive to the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat Temple and Siem Reap International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Angkor Siem Reap
Hotel Casa Angkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing