We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Choice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel
Ranked #236 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Last Choice Hotel”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I was off loaded by Apsara and given this hotel as alternative. Firstly, i find it a bit far from all the activities as compared to Apsara Centerpole. Secondly, the hotel is old and needs refurbishment. The good thing i enjoyed was the breakfast spread but the service is average. They don't replenish the buffet spread and you need to ask for it.
My room was average and the sink was dirty, towels were stained, water flow was slow and hot water does not work properly. I did not find the hotel up to my expectations and was disappointed by Apsara Centerpole for putting me up here.
I will not recommend this hotel for consideration

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    162
    77
    30
    7
See reviews for
40
114
38
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent 5 nights in this hotel and found it to be on a par for a 3 star place. The aircon was reliable and efficient and the room cleaned, beds made and towels changed daily. The shower curtain arrangement results in the floor getting wet - so watch your step. We found that the power points can be temperamental but an electrician was to hand and remedied the situation promptly.
The pool was well tended, cool and clean and is a welcome respite at the end of a days Temple tramping.
The staff were generally friendly and helpful, and speak passable English. There are a couple of antiquated computers in a side room off the lobby that do a reasonable job of loading pictures from a camera to a thumb drive and checking emails.
The breakfasts are varied and good fare. The hotels location is excellent, close enough to walk to markets and restaurants, with a good laundry around the corner, while being out of the hustle and bustle.
Overall We found it good value for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

On the surface, the hotel looks excellent as a 3 star hotel, but I have stayed for 3 nights and can tell you that what lies beneath wasn't as glorious.

1) the towels have stains on them, sometimes it's yellow, sometimes brownish... I am too scared to even think what it is
2) the toilets are often blocked
3) electricity always go on and off
4) the water in the shower is lukewarm at best
5) the gym equipment is old and mostly broken
6) mysterious stains in bathroom

Positive side of things is that the staff were generally friendly and efficient and the breakfast is good and varied

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigout_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Pros: Great location - walking distance to the main markets and a short drive to the Temples, friendly staff, decent breakfast, nice spacious room.

Con: The water does not get that warm in the shower (seems to be a repeated complaint), the Wifi typically only works in the lobby (and even then it can be a challenge). The to-go breakfast for the early Angkor tour consisted of bread, lots of bread.

Overall, this was a nice hotel with decent rates. We would return .... with the understanding of what were getting ourselves into.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony, not a big difference but it was nice to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This place looks nice on the outside but inside the rooms are dark, old, and seem dirty. The beds seemed like they were old mattresses. The power even went out. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is very beautiful hotel on a good walking distance from the city center. The staff was very friendly and they allowed us to take a shower in the middle of the afternoon on the day of our check out as we had to catch a flight back to to Europe after spending the whole day visiting the temples. There was a complimentary 15 minutes massage included on our stay. The breakfast was very good, with plenty of asian and western food available.
The bath tube curtain is not good enough to prevent the water from leaking to the bathroom floor.
There was wifi on the hotel but we could not get any signal from our room which was on the ground floor...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilinepinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Very good location. Rooms are little bit too old fashioned, strange smell in the room. Very small pool area. Not good to take sun, as there are many trees around. Poor choice in the pool bar and also in breakfast. Everything needs renovation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirts P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Rose Royal Boutique Hotel
Rose Royal Boutique Hotel
#138 of 356 in Siem Reap
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Boutique & Resort
0.0 mi away
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
#80 of 356 in Siem Reap
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
King Rock Boutique Hotel
King Rock Boutique Hotel
#91 of 356 in Siem Reap
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Crown Hotel
Royal Crown Hotel
#119 of 356 in Siem Reap
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mekong Angkor Palace Hotel
Mekong Angkor Palace Hotel
#145 of 356 in Siem Reap
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel

Property: Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel
Address: Oum Chhay Street | City Center, Siem Reap 12206, Cambodia (Formerly Casa Angkor Hotel)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#118 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#151 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Siem Reap Old French Quarter, Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel is a 2-minute tuk-tuk ride from busy Pub Street & Night Market. It is only a 15-minute drive to the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat Temple and Siem Reap International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Angkor Siem Reap
Hotel Casa Angkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing