We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel
Ranked #253 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed June 22, 2012

A warm, friendly welcome. A lovely French feel to the decor and it was clean, calm and relaxing. A great location for the town centre, but far enough away to enjoy the peace. A small pool (but we didn't need it), a comfortable room, friendly staff. Will stay again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alig70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 351 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It wasn't impressive from the outside, but when we stepped inside to check in,I suddenly felt like I was suddenly transported back in time to when the French were still around. The small, open air lobby with its wooden furnishing somehow helped create that atmosphere. We were welcomed with a glass of refreshing pandan tea and a cold towel,which felt great during that humid afternoon. My wife and I stayed in Rm. 239 which had a comfortable double bed. It had all the amenities one would expect from a typical hotel. Our only problem was with the airconditioning which didn't cool the room properly. They fixed the problem by having us leave the key in the power dock all day,so when we came back the room was cooled to our liking. Their breakfast buffet was not spectacular but had just enough choices of food. I liked their Khmer coffee,so I always had a second cup.I didn't see any problem about having Wifi in the room because I preferred to read my emails at the cafe or at the lobby where I felt more relaxed. Plus points for the hotel's location---the shopping center and market are within walking distance. For the price we paid,Casa Angkor hotel was a great find.

Room Tip: Check the airconditioning of your room,or insist when you check-in that you get a room with aircondi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budjski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Casa Angkor is a nice, colonial type place in a quiet side road of Siem Reap Old Town. Old Market, restaurants, pubs, banks and shops are easy to reach. Poolside bar and pool are nice though not special at all, but the massages at the hotel's spa are absolutely a dream, done by very qualified persons. For tourism or business trips alike, a good value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I read quite a few positive TripAdvisor and Agoda reviews so perhaps my expectations were a little bit high but I'd be hard pressed to agree with the amazing reviews.

First, the free airport pickup did not happen. I didn't have a phone so I emailed both email addresses provided by the hotel twice and never heard back. I figured a $7 taxi fare wasn't a big deal but it had been a factor when I booked. When I asked about it at check in I was told neither of my emails reached either of the email addresses. The person checking me in said to speak to the manager the next day but when I explained the situation he just shrugged his shoulders.

I had also read that the hotel was helpful with booking tours for Angkor - again, I had to talk to three people before someone could help me.

Also, wifi is only available in the lobby and it took a bit to find someone who could share the password.

My room is clean and the hotel is off the main road so it is quiet at night. However, during the day there is loads of construction happening across the street so the while the pool is super refreshing, it's not in the most relaxing atmosphere. Also, the air conditioning is not super effective so probably could have found a less expensive room with a fan.

The perks: was greeted with a fresh towel and glass of juice and the bellman was very courteous. I had lunch by the pool and the server was very kind and welcomed me to Cambodia on behalf of the entire hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Secondsabbatical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Casa Angkor has a nice location very close to the center of Siem Riep. Our stay was good and peacefull do to low season, because of this on the first day of our stay breakfast was not buffet but non the less great. The rooms are furnished with great taste.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strawberrycupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stunning hotel with awesome pool to chill in after hot hectic temple sight seeing.
Lovely big rooms and water pressure in the showers! huge bathroom with toiletries provided. Aircon not that effective but was there at a very very hot time
Order lunch from the pool!!
$2 tuk ride to the pub st - night markets, restaurants, clubs
go to angkor what bar - its great. can also walk there
would definitely stay again
great breakfast buffet, eggs bacon, pastry, pancakes , fruit

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TessaClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

An impressive hotel, beautiful swimming pool. The breakfast had a huge array of options to choose from - I almost went extra early so I could sample as much as possible. The service at this hotel is a little blah, although they helped you everything seemed an effort and one staffed member even sighed at one of my questions. But thankfully I don't choose hotels because of their reception staff. The standard room I had was very spacious and lovely dark wood furnishings. The room service was good. Out of the five hotels I stayed in this was the only hotel to not provide free wifi in my room - you had to sit in the foyer area. With hot humid weather, staff serving around you, other people chatting etc it's not the most pleasant spot to catch up on your emails or have a skype chat.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Boutique & Resort
0.6 mi away
Sokha Roth Hotel
Sokha Roth Hotel
#101 of 361 in Siem Reap
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angkor Holiday Hotel
Angkor Holiday Hotel
#192 of 361 in Siem Reap
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#128 of 361 in Siem Reap
557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
#79 of 361 in Siem Reap
547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rose Royal Boutique Hotel
Rose Royal Boutique Hotel
#135 of 361 in Siem Reap
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel

Address: Oum Chhay Street | City Center, Siem Reap 12206, Cambodia (Formerly Casa Angkor Hotel)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#129 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#157 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $31 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Siem Reap Old French Quarter, Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel is a 2-minute tuk-tuk ride from busy Pub Street & Night Market. It is only a 15-minute drive to the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat Temple and Siem Reap International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Angkor Siem Reap
Hotel Casa Angkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing