We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a short visit”

Cambodia Landmine Museum
Ranked #16 of 180 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A collection of disarmed mines.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Worth a short visit”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Worth a short visit to get a sense of what this is all about but not very-well laid out and no apparent attempt to preserve the artifacts.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlvinNarod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,085
    716
    185
    31
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
710 reviews
526 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Please pay this a visit”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is not a wow factor visit- this is to educate you all on what happened in Cambodia and the fact that no great power seemed to help them in any of the devastatuion that they endured- and indeed still do as the only way now that most of the remaining (many) landmines are found is when a farmer gets blown up...is is so sad to see and read...some of the foties are quite disturbing- but this really happened and these people are denied the justice that they truly deserve. Anotyher place is further in Seam Reap one of the modern temples which shows a casket of skulls as found in the countryside when the Khmer Rouge rounded up folk and murdered them by hitting them in the back of their heads with a bamboo pole- saving money on bullets...many of the skulls show the signs of being broken at their base...Cambodia is a beautiful country with many of its people such gentle and generous welcoming souls- but there are still many of the former Khmer rouge in power nowadays and they should be brought to justice for the horrors that were perpetrated.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Thought provoking museum”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a must visit museum. Just take the time to read and reflect. It is astounding how destructively creative man can be. I travelled here with my 14 year old son and there is nothing gruesome or celebratory about it. The displays of mines were not that exciting but the stories and impacts are very powerful. Well worth the beautiful tuk tuk ride!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank WeDoStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small in size, big in impact”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The history of Cambodia is powerful and tragic. The Landmine Museum helps to tall some of this story in a very human way. The story of the museum's founder - from former Khmer Rouge child solider to humanitarian is amazing. My 6 year old daughter was especially moved by the museum and wanted my wife and I to read all of the information to her. This is a short stop and should be a part of any trip to Siem Reap.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zach M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A bit tired”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I don't know. It's a great resource, just not carried out very well. Lots of munitions in cabinets and landmines in an inaccessible pond but nothing particularly interactive.

Why not have some hidden landmines that set off a light, or others in various stages of dismantling.

What the guy has done in clearing landmines across Cambodia is extraordinary, as is providing proper support for victims, but the museum could be an awful lot better without a lot of effort.

Still, I recommend a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank rb1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Guest Relations Manager at Cambodia Landmine Museum, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are required by law to keep these items behind glass and away so that they cannot be handled. At our old museum one could pick them up and photograph themselves holding a real landmine. This is frowned on by the international community as these are not anything that should be picked up. At one time we had an instructional landmine lane in which a person could probe for defused mines. Unfortunately there are some who believed they were then trained as deminers, so we were required to close down the interactive lane.

We are working on some interactive digital programs. However they are expensive, and our funding is primarily used to care for the children in our care. Additionally, we have no electricity at the museum. All our power comes from solar panels and backup generators.

We are currently working to build an endowment that will insure the children at the museum can be cared for when the next GFC happens. When that is completed we will begin working on upgrading the exhibits at the museum. Incorporating interactive computer programs is not only expensive but requires constant maintenance. One of the children who graduated from the high school and lived at the museum is attending university now studying IT. We hop he can become our 'geek'.

Thank you for the rating though. I hjope you learned something about the problems the world still faces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambodia Landmine Museum also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Cambodia Landmine Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing