We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place for accomodation in Siem Reap” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Temple Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Temple Villa
Ranked #50 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place for accomodation in Siem Reap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

Our staying in Golden Temple Villa was really excelent.. Rooms are so clean and with Mr Richard and his crew treated us like a family.. The best place to enjoy this city.. Perfect location and a good cheap restaurant.. I would recommend to anybody this hostel

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,466
    533
    80
    25
    13
See reviews for
173
756
370
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pornic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

If you look for a cool place to stay in Siem Reap, this is the one. Very well situated close to the old market. Cool and nice garden. Excellent restaurant with very competitive prices.
We stayed there for 7 nights. We had a nice twin room for only 12 dollars a night. Staff is quite nice and helpfull. Ask Richad for your travel around arrangement, he will offer you fare services and prices. We will surely remember: the massages, Saran - our nice tuk tuk driver, and Kia at the restaurant for his ever happy mood and his good words !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Totoche44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

Lovely stay. Staff were very friendly with a welcoming drink, and a free bottle of water for our bus journey! Good airconditioning. Free internet 24hrs a day. Central location, 5min walk to the old market and restaurants. Only criticism is the shower wasn't very powerful. Apart from that a great place to stay and would definately go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weelassie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

I was in Siem Reap to volunteer at a local NGO for an extended period of time so I booked two weeks at the Golden Temple having read fairly positive reviews.

DO NOT STAY HERE. The initial hospitality of the staff is tremendously misleading. The first two nights I stayed there were fine. The AC in my room wasn't great and the room was horrendously small, but I was paying $12 so I thought I was getting what I'd paid for.

My third night, I discovered a mouse in my room. Or, rather, it discovered me. All of the beds rest one foot off of the ground, and as I was falling asleep a mouse scuttled out from behind the bed. This wouldn't have been such a huge problem if the mouse hadn't been LIVING IN THE DRESSER. I could hear it rattling around all night long. I finally went down to the front desk as requested that someone help me move the dresser (very heavy big piece of furniture) to get the mouse out. I was told someone would be right up. They never came.

I should have switched guest houses immediately but I decided to give the Golden Temple one last shot. The next night, same story however. Mouse running around in my room, up into my suitcase etc. Once again, I requested that someone come to my room to look for the mouse. I was told that housekeeping had looked for it but hadn't seen it (mind that mice are nocturnal). That there was mouse feces all over my room should also be taken as evidence that housekeeping doesn't do a very good job here. I asked for a broom. They told me there wasn't one. A mouse trap? Didn't have one of those either. I asked to sleep in another room They said there wasn't one available. I moved out as soon as possible the next morning.

I would never, ever stay here again. The staff was extremely kind on two occasions: when I checked in and when I checked out because I refused to live with a rodent.

DON'T think that you have to stay in a place with rodents just because you are traveling in Cambodia. There are many, many well-priced and clean guest houses run by gracious families that do not have rodents. There are a multitude of wonderful options in Siem Reap. Save yourself the hassle and the terror of staying at the Golden Temple by booking somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Say2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

Overall, good experience at the Golden Temple. The service was fantastic at the front desk and the restaurant. Nice garden and delicious, inexpensive food at the cozy restaurant. A bit disappointed in the room however. A bit of charachter with the colorful linen, curtains and wall hangings, but the lighting in the room was dreary and the bathrooms dreadful. We had a twin room with a balcony for $22; decent I suppose - the service and areas outside the room made up for what is was lacking. Good location, laundry service across the street, night market and Pub street a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

They have incredible service, nice rooms (including DVD players) and an incredible restaurant all for very, very cheap. Normally hotel restaurants are a disaster but this place was legit the best food I ate in all of siem reap and it was way cheaper than any restaurant in town. The massages are mediocre though (but they were only $3/hour).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makati
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

Golden Villa temple is really a perfect place - not expensive yet clean and safe. The place is beautiful and the staff (all of them) is very friendly. There is a restaurant in the hotel that serves really yummy food. All (and I mean all) are delicious. They gave us free lemon tea (tasted really good). The hotel also provides free internet. Good thing because I was able to immediately post my photos for my family back in the Philippines to see. =) The place is near major business establishments - market, banks, other hotels, etc. The people who attended to our needs speak English. I never felt unsafe, discriminated, and maltreated by anybody from the hotel. I saw a review that says it is a home away from home. Quite true, quite true.

I will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Cambodia. =)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andreiJancee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#11 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#99 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bayon Boutique
Bayon Boutique
#88 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#3 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travellerhome Angkor
Travellerhome Angkor
#190 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#64 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Villa

Property: Golden Temple Villa
Address: Steng Thmei, Svaydongkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Temple Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Temple Villa has 30 fully furnished rooms with modern en-suite bathrooms and conveniences to ensure our guests stay with us is as comfortable possible. The villa is colourfully decorated with a splash of Khmer artistry and style thrown in and every effort is made to keep all areas of the hotel immaculately clean at all times. With 24 hour reception and security Golden Temple Villa is a calm, safe, and secure lodging for stay Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Temple Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Temple Villa Hotel Siem Reap
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing