We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff but not value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Temple Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Temple Villa
Ranked #50 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but not value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Booked 2 nights but end up staying 1 night only , room was dark, it might their old traditional style , staffs were very welcoming , however the room price is not valuable at all, we paid 33$ for the sup twin room without breakfast , and I found much nicer and new hotel just in front for 22$

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,466
    533
    80
    25
    13
See reviews for
173
756
370
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We had a double superior room without breakfast.
The reservation went very smoothly via e-mail and communication before we get there were very sufficient, i.e: pick-up service and such.
The room is not very big but with some stylish design that one would appreciate.
It locates in the center of town, close to night market, old market, pub street and easily bikable to Angkor Wat.
We had a 2-day tuk tuk tour with the hotel, second day with an English-speaking tour guide. Our tuk tuk drivers are both super nice and constantly asking if we need more water (since it gets very hot in the day). Our tour guide was a knowledgable young guy, though sometimes his English could be hard to understand.
One day we got back from the market and was hanging out on the restaurant couch for a little bit. The restaurant staff kindly brought us cold towels and ice tea... Guess we looked sweaty and tired.

I just got their e-mail with the pictures we took with the hotel staff before we left Siem Reap. Very sweet.

To save the verbosity, stay here if you are in Siem Reap!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mengyin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

When I arrived at the Golden Temple Villa I thought I had been taken to the wrong hotel. For the price I was paying ($28 a night) I couldn't believe the style and décor of the hotel. I had prearranged tuk tuk pick-up at the airport and the driver (Mr. Ven) was extremely courteous and helpful.
The staff was amazing at this hotel. Check-in was more of an event than just checking in at a hotel. I was greeted by the staff and taken to a lounge area where I was given a refreshing cold towel and a welcome drink. After the check-in formalities were over I was escorted to my room.
The room itself was spacious with nice furnishings and interesting lighting fixtures. The bed was scattered with fresh lotus petals. A/C worked great and there was a ceiling fan as well. Large windows had a great view of the city. Bathroom was large with plenty of hot water. Internet connection was fast and there was a wide range of cable channels available on the TV as well as a DVD player.
My room was located on the top floor and had a sitting area outside of the rooms but other floors had balconies with comfortable chairs.
The hotel staff was extremely helpful with booking bus/boat tickets and tours of Angkor Wat as well as providing basic information about the town along with a useful map.

Coffee/tea and bananas are available in the hotel restaurant 24/7 and breakfast can be included with the room. If you do not request breakfast to be included, the cost of a great breakfast a la carte is still a great deal. Another perk of the hotel was being given complimentary 30 minute Khmer massage in the immediate area. I was escorted by a staff member so as not to get lost.
The hotel is in a great location, close enough to the town center (Pub Street) but in a quiet part of the city. Easy to walk most anywhere of interest in the town.

Most impressive was the staff of the hotel. They were beautifully dressed, polite, engaging, energetic, enthusiastic and an absolute pleasure to work with. After a long day viewing Angkor Wat I was always greeted by a cold towel to cool off from hours in the blazing sun. Upon check-out I was presented with a complimentary kramar (Cambodian scarf) as a souvenir and asked to pose for a picture with some of the staff.

This hotel is a real gem. It was like staying in a 5-star hotel for only a fraction of the cost. I had a great stay and would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended to travelers to Siem Reap. Great job...keep up the good work!

Room Tip: There is no elevator but rooms on the top floor are quiet and have great views of the city. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

For the price, it's a great choice. Just don't expect more than very basic accommodations. My room was tired and small compared to some of the pictures posted here - had to walk sideways to get into bed. Mattress seemed to be thick foam on a wood platform, but slept fine. Bathroom was a wet room (no separate shower) but was ok. Had the leave the A/C on all night to sleep (temp in the 80s/90s during the day). Walking up the steep, small stairs to the room was tricky since my feet are not petite (they will help you get your suitcase up and down).

Now, for the positives....
The staff is SO incredibly helpful and sweet. They greet you by name and can't seem to do enough for you. Breakfast is good - several choices from a menu - and served pretty quickly. All common areas are really beautiful and serene. Close to everything - can walk everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Thank you Golden Temple Villa team for my wonderful 3 nights stay, your top service from the moment i alight from the free tuk tuk pick up from bus station. I still remember Kimsea welcoming me with a big smile and explaining details of my booking with free towel to refresh (after 4-5 hours bus trip from Battambang) and some local fruit juice welcome drink. I miss biking around Siem Reap with your free bike now :). Where else to find a villa for $17/night with great Khmer free massage. Do book with Golden Temple months in advance. Hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nomad f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

For $17 a night- we got priceless accomidation and service, comparable to that of a 5 star hotel in Sydney! It is close to everything, with delicious local restaurants on the street and more diversity within a 3 min walk! With a free massage, free bananas at the hotel restaurant (perfect for taking before you leave on an adventure) and free access to bikes :) I could not recommend this place highly enough!!! Enjoy x

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed at the Golden Temple Villa with my family for 5 nights before Christmas.

The hotel is in a great location, a short walk from the restaurants and nightlife around Pub Street and the Old Market and far enough away that it was pretty quiet.

The rooms are fairly basic and the bathroom a little tired but it was comfortable and good value for money.

The staff were really helpful and friendly and it was a nice touch to bring chilled tea and peanuts or some fruit when I was reading downstairs or using one of the guest PCs.

I would recommend using the hotel driver Mr Pheap (Pip). A very safe and considerate driver, who whilst not a guide gave us some interesting details regarding the Angkor temples. We thoroughly enjoyed our chats with Pheap and whilst he was shy to begin with his English is good and he obviously relishes the opportunity to learn more.

Maybe a good idea to take ear plugs as some of the guests were pretty noisy when leaving for sunrise. Also be prepared for some steep steps to get to the rooms on the upper floors.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FDippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#13 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#98 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bayon Boutique
Bayon Boutique
#91 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#8 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#61 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#3 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Villa

Property: Golden Temple Villa
Address: Steng Thmei, Svaydongkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Temple Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Temple Villa has 30 fully furnished rooms with modern en-suite bathrooms and conveniences to ensure our guests stay with us is as comfortable possible. The villa is colourfully decorated with a splash of Khmer artistry and style thrown in and every effort is made to keep all areas of the hotel immaculately clean at all times. With 24 hour reception and security Golden Temple Villa is a calm, safe, and secure lodging for stay Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Temple Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Temple Villa Hotel Siem Reap
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing