We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little oasis in Siem Reep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Temple Villa
Ranked #58 of 345 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little oasis in Siem Reep”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A very small but absolute friendly hotel near the center of Siem Reep. The Staff was very friendly an helpfully. A free half hour massage was great. The room was very small but clean with good air condition and a safety box. A good breakfast for a absolute decent price and low prices for drinks. This location is absolute recommendable for people with low budget but high expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,468
    533
    80
    25
    13
See reviews for
173
756
370
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Free banana and tea and coffee all day and Free smiles and kindness. We enjoyed our stay for three nights that much we booked a night extra. You van book the tours to Angkor wat also at the guesthouse. The restaurants food is good, price is competitive, staff at the bar could be more flexible, but overall Cambodians aren t that flexible with new situations. We would recommand this wonderful place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and we loved it! The staff are very warm and friendly! When we arrived we were given this really refreshing welcome drink and cold towel while they prepared our room. The atmosphere of the hotel is relaxing and the price was only USD15 a night for an AC room for two cause its currently low season. There are just so many reasons why we loved this place:

> the hotel is located in the center of town, very near tourist areas like the Artisans d Angkor (same street), the old market (for shopping), Pub Street (for meals, drinks)

> for USD15 you get a lot of freebies - free wifi, free coffee/tea, free bananas, free use of their computer (they even give you cold tea and banana chips while you surf), free 30min massage

> you can request them to reserve a good table for you in their sister company Temple Bar so that you can watch their free Apsara show (730-930pm daily) but of course you have to have dinner there - but again the prices are inexpensive from USD3-4 per person

> great tasting food in their restaurant - we tried several restos in Pub Street and inside the Angkor Thom area, the best Khemer food we've tasted was right here in the hotel

> they arrange very capable tuk tuk drivers for you and all you have to pay is the price they quote, no haggling necessary. We loved our tuk tuk driver Mr. Phen!!! He knew a lot about Angkor Wat/Thom that is wont be necessary for you to get a tour guide. Just ask him and he would know the answer.

I surely would recommend this place to anyone who want to visit Siem Reap. I would definitely book here again the next time I'm in town. And if you want to visit the temples (which you should!) request for Mr. Phen. Lovely place, great tuk tuk driver!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiancee had the pleasure of staying here for 3 nights whilst in Siem Reap for the temples. I chose this guesthouse after reading reviews on trip advisor and I am so glad I did. From our arrival we were treated like royalty by all the staff (ice cold towels and refreshing iced lemon tea and watermelon given to us whilst checking in) who go out of their way to make your stay here feel special. They really do care about their guests - the Cambodian people in general are lovely. We stayed in a superior room on the third floor, the rooms are large and bathroom immaculate with large walking power shower. The only negatives is no in room safe and the hotel can only be accessed down a dusty little side road which after heavy rain gets muddy. Pub street is a 5 minute walk at most. However we could get over these minor things as the staff more than make up for it. Also the food here is really good. Try the prawns starter with fresh bread when sick of thai/cambodian food! Thanks for a wonderful stay here, would thoroughly recommend this to anyone. Fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icdlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

There's not much to add to all the raving reviews – if you're going to Siem Reap, look no further and book early. Super friendly, great food, good location, clean rooms – and all together incredible value. Could not ask for anything more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarmojuristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great location and very surprised to find the hustle and heat of Siam Reap muted once we crossed the threshold. Golden Temple Villa is a definite for anyone wanting to stay in Siam Reap.

Nice touches were: (1) pick-up at airport (no need to jostle with taxi-touts); (2) welcome drink of lemonade, snack of fried peanuts and cold towel; (3) complimentary massage.

Location is fantastic - far enough to avoid the worst of the noise, but close to a few night markets, Pub Street, night clubs, restaurants and convenience stores. Restaurant food is very good (Khmer curries are amazing!) and happy hour (4pm-11pm) prices are great for food and drink. Be aware that the area is covered and has ceiling fans, but as it is open-air, you still need repellent if you are a natural mosquito magnet.

Room was clean and laid out 'honeymoon style' with banana flower petals and swan shaped towels! Included TV, AC, fan, fridge and safe. Two bottles of water daily and fresh towels/toiletries as standard.

The hotel assisted with any requests as well as on one occasion, booking a driver and guide for the Angkor complex - for the following day - at short notice. Re: Angkor, the hotel provides information on tours (various circuits / modes of transport / optional itineraries based on number of days), and we booked through them - one day with a guide and one day without. Quality was good and they accommodated us without any hard-sell.

In lounge/dining area there was free tea/coffee and lady finger bananas all day. NB. no fresh milk or creamer, only condensed milk.

Worth noting that there is an associated bar on Pub Street which features a free nightly Apsara dance show (NB. this is early evening entertainment, so get there early for good seats and be aware that the show is about 2 hours, so you will probably have dinner/drinks there). Also a few other establishments in Siam Reap town have the same owner (menu style and actual food and pricing are very similar or the same), so you may notice this if you wander about.

Improvements: internet in our room was very weak, so for non-essential browsing it was necessary to go to the internet room near reception (which was great as it had air-con and staff provided a snack, cup of cold tea and cold towel if you were there for any period of time). Also a tiny niggle - the restaurant menu had a choice of hot drink (i.e., tea/coffee) in each breakfast set (if you purchased your breakfast outside of the room package). That really shouldn't then include the 'free' tea/coffee that is already on offer and that you make it yourself; otherwise, why are you paying extra for it?

Room Tip: Book as early as possible to get a deal on your room. Had a double deluxe on the second floor (immed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ithacles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed four nights, after finding hotel on Trip Advisor, great little hotel, in the centre of Siem Reap, the staff couldn't be more accommodating, typical Cambodian. Will organise trips for you and help in anyway they can. Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#17 of 345 in Siem Reap
3,549 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bayon Boutique
Bayon Boutique
#98 of 345 in Siem Reap
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#6 of 345 in Siem Reap
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#71 of 345 in Siem Reap
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#112 of 345 in Siem Reap
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#10 of 345 in Siem Reap
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Villa

Property: Golden Temple Villa
Address: Steng Thmei, Svaydongkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Temple Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Temple Villa has 30 fully furnished rooms with modern en-suite bathrooms and conveniences to ensure our guests stay with us is as comfortable possible. The villa is colourfully decorated with a splash of Khmer artistry and style thrown in and every effort is made to keep all areas of the hotel immaculately clean at all times. With 24 hour reception and security Golden Temple Villa is a calm, safe, and secure lodging for stay Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Temple Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Temple Villa Hotel Siem Reap
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing