We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Temple Villa
Ranked #54 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Value for money.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in the double standard room and this was the perfect place to stay.
Right from the start, communications when booking was prompt and polite. As our arrival plans into Siem Reap were not firmed up yet, we only notified thm 2 days before of our arrival method & time. Nonetheless, our free tuk tuk pick up was waiting at the bus station when we arrived.

The welcome drinks were tasty and refreshing and the cold towel was a cool respite against the hot weather. Check-in was a breeze and the staff was polite and knowledgeable, helping us arrange for an official guide and a tuktuk for the Angkor 2 day tour. The grounds of the guesthouse had security and was peaceful and filled with greenery.

The room was a tad small but very clean with 2 bottles of water supplied daily.. More importantly, the air-conditioning was working and was able to cool down the room quite quickly. Bathroom was simple, decent and cleaned daily by housekeeping.

Location wise, the place is near the night market and walkable distance from Pub Street. There are convenience shops within 5 min walking distance as well. Despite being near all these places, the guesthouse was very quiet.

The restaurant served good food at very competitive prices. We soon realized that it was cheaper to eat in the guesthouse restaurant which is usually not the case! We ended up having breakfast twice, lunch once and dinner once while staying. On all meals we chose local food and was not disappointed! Service was polite but it was sometimes hard to get the attention of the staff.

On the last 2 days that we stayed, there was a wedding going in in the neighborhood and it got quite noisy. The noise started early in the morning and lasted till late at night, effectively spoiling our plans to sleep in on our last day. Understood from the staff that traditional weddings usually last a couple of days. Throughout the wedding period, the staff was constantly apologizing for the noise although they had no control over it. I guess as travelers, we should learn to enjoy the culture of the place we are visiting since we are living in the midst of locals.

In all, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nibelung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,467
    533
    80
    25
    13
See reviews for
173
756
370
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

One of the best places we have ever stayed!Everything was perfect - place, people, food, massage. Staff is extremly friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious and well-decorated. In price of the room you get free bicycle, tea, coffee and bananas. Their restaurant offers really good and cheap food. If you book a room with breakfast, you get it cheaper and if you plan to go to Angkor for the sunrise they will prepare for you in the middle of the night scrambled eggs or pancakes for take away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataliampl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Firstly, the staff. 12 of us stayed from 23-27 March 2013, all deals were through emails and there was not any shortcoming-thanks to 2 sweet ladies:Ms Thea, reservation manager and Ms Tuorn, the GM. The front desk Miss Sopeak, a very pretty young girl was very helpful with her sheepish smile. We fell in love with Ms Tuorn: as we arrived in the morning, she managed to find a spare room for us to store our luggage, then she prepared herself the famous iced lemon tea (after sampling at 8 different eateries, hers still the best and the cheapest, surprisingly), moreover, she arranged the tours inclusive of the van, driver (Mr Kerng, man of few words) and the tour guide (Mr Nat. very knowledgeable about all temples, all locations for good shots and of course the wall carving-the only apsara dancer with teeth), is addition, she got us a good bargain for the tour. One more thing about Ms Tuorn, after 6 years in Malacca, she speaks fluent Bahasa. She accompanied us to Tsar Leu and Old market on her off day.This lady even went to the extend of suggesting different menus for lunch and dinner, and after comparing taste and pricing, their restaurant came out top especially their happy hours menu-steamy hot spring rolls, juicy pork rib, 4 varieties of amok, (though need to remind the waiters, Charm Ruon and Elna to put less sugar), and Angkor beer is only 75 cents.
Next, the location. the hotel is 2 minutes to Artesan, 3 minutes to fruit stall and convenience stall and 5 minutes to Old Market and night market. We would love to revisit, Nov or Dec which will be cooler.
Finally, one good thing about Cambodian- though they are quite poor, they never beg, very dignified

Room Tip: first floor, you don't have to climb more stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lianhuamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Level Contributor
875 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

It is very nice and cheap guesthouse located safely walkable distance from Pub Street. There are a lot of good guesthouses cost USD 10 or 15, but even a bit expensive I like this guesthouse much more. The cheapest rooms are really small, very clean and well facilitated, so probably you feel very good if you do not mind the space.
All staffs are very helpful and kind. Restaurant is very cozy and provides good local and Western food. Since sometime there are a lot of guests, so you may have to wait a bit.

The guesthouse seems to be run by Chinese, but guests come from all over the world.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michi123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaitupu, Tuvalu
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel/guesthouse is well located near the night market yet in a quiet street. Honestly the only thing that impressed me was the service, all staff very helpful and always friendly.

Hotel is very clean and air com + free wifi worked nonstop for my 3 nights stay.

This place has potential to improve as I was not very happy with..

Bathroom is really old! There is no shower curtain or cubicle, so no only you but the whole bathroom take a shower.
Room furniture, very dated and needs an upgrade
Not worth pre paying USD 3 for breakfast, you have more choice on the menu

Something that is quite disgusting, stained bed linen, stained towels and stained napkins in the restaurant. I prefered not to analyse the stains...

Overall with a few improvements this place can be better than it is now.

Room Tip: Room 30 is quiet at night as it does not face the street but there is no view also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 20traveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2013

It's the most comfortable guesthouse I've ever stayed in. Free airport pickup, free ice lemon tea, free bicycle to ride, free 30min traditional massage, free water everyday. We arrived there 3 hours before the check-in time and our rooms were not available at that time. The guesthouse found another empty room for us to rest.It was very sweet of you guys. We were very grateful for this. The room is very clean. It's about 5mins walk to the old market, very near. Because of the tight schedule we didn't even have the time to send postcards. Thank you guys for posting them for us. I love my room, your guesthouse has made the most precious memory for me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XunNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerteh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I booked bed & breakfast for 6 nights at the Golden Temple based on the reviews on Tripadvisor.

2 days before we arrived, I received an email telling us that the restaurant would be closed for 7 days from our day of arrival, and so they could not provide breakfast. This was a bit of a nuisance as we had booked the 3 day temple tour, which starts very early and so this meant we had to get up, and go find breakfast somewhere, and then get back to the hotel. I emailed them back saying it was a bit of a disappointment, and could they possibly transfer us to their sister hotel, Golden Temple Hotel. I didn't receive a reply until the morning of our flight, and they just said I would have to make these arrangements myself as it was "different staff" at their other hotel, so we decide just to let the booking stand.

We arrived about 9pm (an hour late) and our hotel tuk tuk driver was still waiting, which was great.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were not offered any welcome drink or cold towels as advertised. We asked if we could have a cup of tea, as the hotel advertises free tea/ coffee/ bananas 24 hours, but because the restaurant was closed, they had no fresh milk.

Our room was on the top floor. We had booked a Double Deluxe room, but when we got there it was just a tiny room, with a very small double bed pushed up against the wall. There was no desk space and hardly any room to move around the bed. This is when we realised the Golden Temple is a hostel, not a guest house.

The bathroom was very basic and as is typical in Cambodia, is just a toilet and a shower coming out the wall. This was okay, but when we woke up the next morning we had no water, and when I say no water, I mean not a drop. When we went to reception to complain, there were other guests doing the same and staff were saying that the government only allowed them so much water, but they were trying to get another tank working.

We then went across the road about 2 mins for breakfast to a hotel called the Golden Butterfly which is also a sister hotel of the Golden Temple. After having a really nice breakfast, we asked if they had any double rooms available. They did, at $20 which is the same as we were paying at Golden Temple. We asked if they could show us a room, and what a difference. This was a really big room, with a King Size bed, plenty of desk space and a separate shower in the bathroom. We immediately booked for the next 5 nights.

They say you get what you pay for, but for $20 you get a really good deal in Golden Butterfly, so don't waste your money on the Golden Temple Villa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LindyIrving121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEE K, General Manager at Golden Temple Villa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear LindyIrving121,

We sincerely apologize if the renovation and safety works in the restaurant (now completed) caused you discomfort - as they clearly did.

Thank you for acknowledging that we did pre-advise you of the works before your arrival.

Also we are very sorry about our late response to your request to transfer to Golden Temple Hotel. Our sister hotel only has 30 rooms and is very popular, (and is typically fully booked months in advance), we tried our best to await any opening or cancellation at Golden Temple Hotel before contacting you but were not able to secure a room for you.

Again I apologize for the lack of our traditional welcome drink - again this was temporarily unavailable because of the works. These works are now complete and the restaurant is operating normally..

I am very happy that our nearby sister Hotel The Golden Butterfly pleased you and also that you enjoyed your breakfast and the stay there.

Warmly Regards,
Moun Tuorn
General Manager
Golden Temple Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#16 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bayon Boutique
Bayon Boutique
#94 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#6 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#108 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#68 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#10 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Villa

Property: Golden Temple Villa
Address: Steng Thmei, Svaydongkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#28 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Temple Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Temple Villa has 30 fully furnished rooms with modern en-suite bathrooms and conveniences to ensure our guests stay with us is as comfortable possible. The villa is colourfully decorated with a splash of Khmer artistry and style thrown in and every effort is made to keep all areas of the hotel immaculately clean at all times. With 24 hour reception and security Golden Temple Villa is a calm, safe, and secure lodging for stay Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Temple Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Temple Villa Hotel Siem Reap
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing