We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Good Location”
Review of Angkoriana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Angkoriana Hotel
Ranked #230 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had a great stay here, good pool with loungers, rooms fully equiped and bathroom even had a bath and hairdryer!!! Fridge, safe, complimentary water, cable tv. The hotel is also very clean. Breakfast was good with a large choice. We only had dinner once which was not so good. We thought the location was great as on the road to Angkor Wat which meant we could cycle there at a leisurely pace in 20 mins. Opposite the National museum, Lucky Supermarket an 8 minute walk, which has the best ice cream kiosk in Siem Reap, and straight walk down into town was only 10 minutes, ideal to walk off dinner in town but if you are feeling lazy tuk tuk's are only $2.

Definitely would stay here again and have already recommended it to other travellers, a nice touch of luxury for half the price of a motorway hotel in the UK!!

Room Tip: Top tip ask for a room overlooking the pool as Cambodians start their business early so the road can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jammie R, General Manager at Angkoriana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

dear guest thank you for your stay with us, we really enjoyed meeting you and hope we see you again, and also thank you for passing us onto your friends

Have a great trip and keep safe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 400 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

We booked a deluxe room with double bed and breakfast. When checking in it turned out they didn't have this room available and allocated us in a twin one instead. We didn't mind as it was just for one night and room was spacious, pretty clean with hand and bath towels, a bath mat, all good. We were looking forward to be moved to our DELUXE room.

Problems started next day when we came back from temples and asked for a key to the new room. Receptionist was confused and not sure what was going on, which room, where were our bags. Finally we went to the room on the last floor. It had a balcony which probably promotes it to "DELUXE"... Well, furniture was old, carpet was dirty (not hoovered), cushion on a chair was tattered and covered in horrible stains (they would have to pay me to make me sit on it!), balcony door broken - not possible to close it. I asked to clean the room but while waiting i noticed that a bed cover (under mattress) around bed edges was absolutely disgusting, yellow old stains on it, yuck. And my partner found a condom and a toilet roll by the bed (housekeepers haven't...). I just couldn't stay there and asked for another room. Receptionist came back to the room with me to help me with my luggage and when i showed him the state of the bed and a chair, he... started laughing. No comments.

We were moved back to the first floor giving up balcony (which wasn't very nice or clean anyway) but at the time we just wanted a clean room. The third and our last room was spacious however curtains were grey and covered in dust and safe was broken... We gave up realizing that we just can't have everything. We never got hand towels and after second day we stopped getting a bath mat (room cleaned daily but nobody worked it out?) in our DELUXE room.

Internet doesn't work in rooms (no need to bring your laptop). There are 3 computers downstairs with free internet however only one was working - it was slow and losing reception from time to time.

Breakfast is a pretty strong point (big choice) as there are veg noodles, veg rice, bacon, sausages, fruits, pancakes and eggs, sometimes tomatoes. It is nice and tasty but not always hot. Spending 6 nights there, It happened 2-3 times i was eating cold noodles and tomatoes.

Swimming pool is very good, lounges and towels available. Massage available and restaurant (tried once but not impressed, disappointed with spring rolls).

They were painting the corridor on our floor so for 2 days we were struggling with really bad smell of paint. Well, i suppose it is good they are doing something.

I found location great as it is just on the way to temples and not far from the city centre, $2 per trip and hotel tuk tuks are outside (a lovely guy driving number 15).

This place definitely lacks consistence (hand towels in one room but not in the other, no info about hotel in the room), rooms are not clean, 308 is filthy! I really don't know why they called it DELUXE?! I am just glad we didn't have to stay in it and it was easy to change the room.

It could be a great place if they paid more attention to cleanliness, made sure all rooms have same amenities and all was in working condition.

Room Tip: Do not stay in 308 on the third floor, first floor rooms are fresher and cleaner but no balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bogusza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jammie R, General Manager at Angkoriana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your stay, iam really sorry you didnt feel you got the most from your stay with us, we looked into the coments in this review and we will do everything possible to ensure all points are adressed, as you stated in your review we are painting the hotel, we have since done the whole hotel every room has new decor, and all new bedlinnin bath towels, we need the customer feed back to make sure we continue to impove

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

When I've had read some reviews her in Trip Advisor about this hotel was happy to found room there, but couldn't imagine how bad was. On my arrival in the airport nobody pick-up me also if I ask this service. Room smelled a lot of humidity, in my four days stay never sheets where changed, just set up; air con was working but to noisily! The breakfast, normal standard foods but, on the table a lot of ants run over and, in the dining room full of flies and mosquitos.
Staff was friendly, wifi free but extremely slow, not bad the pool, ever I think, need renew whole structure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jammie R, General Manager at Angkoriana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your stay

we are sorry you didnt recive a pick up at the airport, however we do require the guest info / flight number and time date, so we can arrange this, the airport pick up is always a welcome sight to see a friendly face to welcome you to Cambodia.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

You can easly found better hotels at this price, he rooms stink, the breakfast is poor, the service isn't that friendly, and the location is not convenient, too far from the old maket, pub street...
We booked a suite, which in fact is the same room type as a normal room, we complaint about that and payed a he end for a normal room.
The hotel looks and smells old, the only positive part is the swimming pool.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank caplee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jammie R, General Manager at Angkoriana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your stay with us, iam iam very sorry you felt you didnt get value for money, as this is an area we take great pride in, that we are amazing value and our service is fantastic

however you feel we let you down, you booked the room you stayed in, and your friend booked a supirer room, and asked to upgrade to the same room as you! we didnt have any avalible and this is why you felt let down.

almost every guest in Angkoriana loves the breakfast, freshly made by our chef to order eggs and pancakes, freash bread everyday from Bluepumpkin french bakery, and a lot of choice in our buffet, free tea & coffee, cireals, who could want more!

every room has been refitted a month ago, painted, with all new bedlinin and new bathtowels

iam sorry we didnt have any free rooms to upgrade your friend, and iam sorry you left us less than 100% happy

should you wish to visit us again please actualy book the suit and we will be more than happy to make it avalible for you

please enjoy the rest of your trip and safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

My wife and me stayed in the Angkoriana for 6 nights in the beginning of march.
We really enjoyed our stay and felt like part of the family while there. Everything
was well organized ( Airport pick up , Room ready even we arrived early morning ).
The staff was always friendly and nice to all the guests. Room were clean and they
really do a lot to make it more beautiful. Jamie is the GM and original from the U.K..
He is really nice guy and know how to handle the cambodian staff.
There are always Tuk Tuks in front of the Hotel and if you want to drive to Pubstreet
the charge is fix with 2 USD . You can also hire a driver with aircondition car to
make the trip to the temples ( 25 USD for the big Tour ) Driver was nice , drove safe
and spoke engl. . So ask Jamie and he will assist you with all you need to know.
They also provide a SPA at the pool so you can take a massage during day time.
In the evening i would more recommend to use a Spa in the pubstreet area.
They are clean and nice and know their job. Thanks again Jamie !! Michael + Sabine (from Germany )

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fassi503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jammie R, General Manager at Angkoriana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Dear Michael and Sabine
Thank you for your stay with us, we really enjoyed meeting you, and are glad you enjoyed Siem Reap. Hope you have a safe trip home and see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed here in late February 2012 and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a lovely retreat. It is easy to find. The hotel tuk tuk drivers are convenient, friendly and helpful. We had a little mix up with our airport pick up but the manager quickly made it up to us. We found the hotel food so good that we didn't feel the need to go out and eat. Tried several different dishes off the menu and they were all superb. The breakfast buffet was re-stocked often. The fresh made pancakes were to die for. The pool area was such a lovely retreat. Felt like you were a million miles away from everything. Beautiful lounging area that was welcoming so you didn't feel the need to spend much time in your room. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Only a $2 tuk tuk ride down to the old market or night market.
If we are ever back in Siem Reap I will be booking this hotel again. Very good value for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that face the pool. Lovely view then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jammie R, General Manager at Angkoriana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Dear Michele
Thanks for staying with us, and we are happy you loved the pancakes as our chef is always trying new ideas to make our guests happy. He's going to try to make waffles this week, hope they are as good as his pancakes!
We hope to see you again soon, safe trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

we stayed 4 nights in this hotel and we recommend it to anyone who wants a clean, affordable and comfy stay in Siem Reap.
We were free picked up by the guide/driver n#1 "LEAK" who organized us 2 days of visiting ANGKOR temples by TUK TUK. He also has a big car if you need it it... He always give good advises and always has a good story to tell...so if you need a driver/guide to visit ANGKOR and the region you should ask for him! We had a awesome time and he made our stay special and unforgettable!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steffenandemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.3 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#33 of 365 in Siem Reap
2,452 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#22 of 365 in Siem Reap
3,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#35 of 365 in Siem Reap
5,354 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#47 of 365 in Siem Reap
904 reviews
1.4 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#39 of 365 in Siem Reap
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkoriana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkoriana Hotel

Address: No. 297, Blvd. Charles de Gaulle | Opposite Angkor National Museum, Siem Reap 998888, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $44 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angkoriana Hotel, Siem Reap, Kingdom of Cambodia. Is one of the most unique hotels in Siem Reap. With the Khmer style building and the wooden stairs, with our lovely swimming pool & much more ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Angkoriana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing